We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Pittsburgh for the weekend. Wanted to stay on the South Side. Read the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical about the train noise but I barely even know it's there. The location is great for all the fantastic bars and shopping in the area. Would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
26
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend in Pittsburgh's South Side.
This Hotel was located in walking distance of a really fun area. It sits along the river so the view from the room was very nice. The rooms are clean, with modern decor, includes breadfast.
It was cold while we were walking along the miles of river path, but I am sure that any other time of the year would be even nicer. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, but right next to it is the exposed portion of the rail way. Unfortunately my foom was on the same side of the hotel as the railroad. It is a very busy railway. Perhaps they will cover it like they did over in the works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a night from the suburbs; we also are loyal Marriott customers so were glad the one hotel by the Southside Works was Marriott owned. The interior is like a breath of fresh air-----especially when you get to your room; I like traditional but it felt so good to be in modern, sleek, fresh surroundings. It wasn't the same old, same old. Everyone was friendly and sincerely wanted to make sure you were enjoying your stay. Our room looked over the river and city---perfect. I love trains so I wouldn't have minded that side either. It's on the waterfront trail so we got our exercise that way but their fitness room looked as good as most. It's in very close walking distance to several good restaurants so there is absolutely no need for a cab. We bounced between 4 places, crossed the street and were back in our room. The free breakfast in the morning is better than most----plenty of sitting space----and again, they wanted to make sure you had what you wanted. $14 parking is lower than most cities; although it is an outside parking lot------but again, you save on cab fares or more parking fees if you use your car. There's a Hyatt being built close by but for our money, we'll head back to SpringHill!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location ... there are few hotels right in southside, and this is within walking distance of all of the restaurants/shopping/bars. I stayed here with a couple friends for a weekend.
The hotel IS right near the train tracks but honestly I didn't notice them at all ... neither did the friends I stayed with. The room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. It had a bar area with a microwave and refridgerator, which was useful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was nicer than most but still average - eggs, bagels, waffles, etc. The hotel offered a free shuttle that took you anywhere within ~5 miles, which we used both nights. Parking was outrageous ($14/day).
The stay was nice and comfortable, but for the price, it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent a weekend here while visiting family. Got a great deal via Priceline and our only complaints were the $14/day parking fee and noise from the overnight train horns - which we already knew about from reading prior reviews. Despite having a room that did not directly overlook the tracks, we were awoken at least 4 times during the night from the blaring of the horn. Not fun.
Check-in staff was friendly and gave us our room key a full 3 hours before check-in time due to our early flight arrival. Room was spacious, well apportioned and clean. Two comfortable queen sized beds, an L-couch/desk area separate from the sleeping area, and a small fridge with microwave and sink. A nice small touch - the toiletries provided were top quality.
We availed ourselves of the shuttle a number of times and enjoyed chatting with our driver, who gave us some history of the area and ideas for off-the-beaten-path sightseeing. Breakfast had a decent variety of foods and plenty of sit-down space.
I would completely recommend Springhill Southside for travelers...if not for that darn train!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed there with my family just before Christmas. Very clean, modern, and friendly staff. Pool and hot tub were very good, although the pool is a little small. A nice retail district with several restaurants is within walking distance. Relatively easy to find from the Parkway (I376) using their directions. The train did wake us up once during the night.

Room Tip: According to the front desk clerk, all Queen suites are on the side away from the river (therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;