We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Vibe . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Vibe . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a night from the suburbs; we also are loyal Marriott customers so were glad the one hotel by the Southside Works was Marriott owned. The interior is like a breath of fresh air-----especially when you get to your room; I like traditional but it felt so good to be in modern, sleek, fresh surroundings. It wasn't the same old, same old. Everyone was friendly and sincerely wanted to make sure you were enjoying your stay. Our room looked over the river and city---perfect. I love trains so I wouldn't have minded that side either. It's on the waterfront trail so we got our exercise that way but their fitness room looked as good as most. It's in very close walking distance to several good restaurants so there is absolutely no need for a cab. We bounced between 4 places, crossed the street and were back in our room. The free breakfast in the morning is better than most----plenty of sitting space----and again, they wanted to make sure you had what you wanted. $14 parking is lower than most cities; although it is an outside parking lot------but again, you save on cab fares or more parking fees if you use your car. There's a Hyatt being built close by but for our money, we'll head back to SpringHill!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
58
26
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location ... there are few hotels right in southside, and this is within walking distance of all of the restaurants/shopping/bars. I stayed here with a couple friends for a weekend.
The hotel IS right near the train tracks but honestly I didn't notice them at all ... neither did the friends I stayed with. The room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. It had a bar area with a microwave and refridgerator, which was useful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was nicer than most but still average - eggs, bagels, waffles, etc. The hotel offered a free shuttle that took you anywhere within ~5 miles, which we used both nights. Parking was outrageous ($14/day).
The stay was nice and comfortable, but for the price, it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent a weekend here while visiting family. Got a great deal via Priceline and our only complaints were the $14/day parking fee and noise from the overnight train horns - which we already knew about from reading prior reviews. Despite having a room that did not directly overlook the tracks, we were awoken at least 4 times during the night from the blaring of the horn. Not fun.
Check-in staff was friendly and gave us our room key a full 3 hours before check-in time due to our early flight arrival. Room was spacious, well apportioned and clean. Two comfortable queen sized beds, an L-couch/desk area separate from the sleeping area, and a small fridge with microwave and sink. A nice small touch - the toiletries provided were top quality.
We availed ourselves of the shuttle a number of times and enjoyed chatting with our driver, who gave us some history of the area and ideas for off-the-beaten-path sightseeing. Breakfast had a decent variety of foods and plenty of sit-down space.
I would completely recommend Springhill Southside for travelers...if not for that darn train!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed there with my family just before Christmas. Very clean, modern, and friendly staff. Pool and hot tub were very good, although the pool is a little small. A nice retail district with several restaurants is within walking distance. Relatively easy to find from the Parkway (I376) using their directions. The train did wake us up once during the night.

Room Tip: According to the front desk clerk, all Queen suites are on the side away from the river (therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Checked in for 1 night over new years and the fromt desk staff was pleasant. One of the room keys did not work so had to wait in line again to get it fixed but no big deal. The hotel charges $14 for parking which I am used to paying but was surprised at this location by the train tracks. There is a shuttle but had no time table, were told a 20 minte wait to go up to the other end of southside Carson St, so decided to take the 15 minute walk instead. The room was modern and mostly clean. The sheets for the pullout had stains and a couple holes in them. The room seemed a bit dysfunctional, TV was very awkwardly located in the middle away from both beds. I will not return unless the Holiday Inn Express up the street was not available and needed to be in the southside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a fairly new hotel when we stayed there in 2011. I had wanted to try it ever since I saw it being built, when I traveled to Pittsburgh for business. Never got the chance until my wife and I stopped there during a trip. I was not disappointed; excellent location and quality room and service. Great location to access the attractions that Southside has to offer. I think this is one of the best plces to stay in the Pittsburgh area. Close to the center of town - right across the Hot Metal Bridge gets you there; however, not in he midst of downtown congestion as much. Tour the local area of Southside as well; very interesting local places!

Room Tip: Top floors have good views.There is a train track nearby so you might want front side if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on New Years eve. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make it an enjoyable experience. Although the hotel was full, their services were quick and efficient. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.