We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be advised about the train before booking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should be advised about the train before booking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here before in a lovely room on the other side of the hotel; never realized this place has a serious issue with noise from trains. I am very very noise sensitive and always try to note that I want top floor quiet room etc. Unfortunately, I booked quickly at Marriott.com and neglected to add that note apparently. I am in Room 302 which might as well be on top of the d..n train track, ony 304 is five feet closer. I asked to switch rooms at 6:15 p.m.; told they were full but it's now nearly 10 p.m. and there's only 39 cars (about 40% full) in the lot so I have my doubts. Marriott owes this info on its website about this hotel. So much for a productive work day tomorrow if I can't sleep tonight!

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the train tracks. Note, there is no room service or restaurant. And no wine in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    73
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
59
29
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

If you want to sleep, forget it. The train runs past at least twice an hour and it's incredibly loud. There is no soundproofing. It's you, the train, and your neighbors, who might as well be in the same room as you. If you came to party maybe you can pass out and get through it, but I rather doubt it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ok. First and foremost if you are a light sleeper you might want to try some place else. I was still able to get a good nights rest but trains were coming as late as 10pm and as early as like 4 or 5 in the morning! WTF? And they would blow the horns. Why Marriott will build a hotel over train tracks (literally) is beyond me. The staff was ok. Friendly yes, informative not so much. If you do stay at the hotel be sure to ask them for the resteraunt coupons upon arrival..because apparently it's you are suppose to be psychic and its YOUR responsibility to know that the hotel has coupons for local resteraunts. The hotel was clean and convenient to where I needed to go..plus they have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in a 3 miles radius which was nice although I didn't use that service. Overall this was just an OK experience..and I would say not one of my better Marriott experiences. There were only little annoyances..nothing to make this place somewhere you can NOT stay. Just Ok like I said.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night as planned. No one slept a wink. We knew about the train that ran frequently through the night. Having lived in a NYC apartment by an elevated subway, thought we could manage. Not only does the train run regularly at all hours, but many also honked their horn repeatedly which was what prevented sleep. Then, the suite next to ours had many people staying in it.....and you could hear every word, a glass in the sink, even every time they used the facilities....you could here it ALL. The fact that they were engaged in loud conversations late into the night only compounded the noise issue.....it took 30 minutes for staff to talk to them after I called at midnight to complain about the noise. I have never called the front desk with a complaint before. I have never written a negative review before. The fact is, travelers frequently use hotels to sleep before continuing a trip. If you can't sleep, the hotel has failed a main mission. Without sound protection, clean, comfortable beds and nice staff means nothing. I would never step foot in a spring hill hotel again for the design flaw alone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just stayed one night but we have been here previously. This is about one of the cleanest hotels we've been to. The pool area is the cleanest of any of the Marriott properties we've been to. We were on the sixth floor. I was surprised that we were able to hear the train. Even though the train ran off and on all night, I slept right through it. The room was spacious. We had planned on driving into town for our concert, but because of all the activities going on in town, we decided to use their shuttle. Worked out perfectly. Are definitely planning on coming back next year. Have noticed that their prices tend to run higher than other local Marriott properties even when there is no Steeler game.

Room Tip: Because of the train that runs beside/under the hotel, I would probably choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms are clean, modern, and very comfortable. The service is also great and friendly. The hotel is located across from a great running path, and is within walking distance of several bars, shops, and restaurants. Downtown and other attractions are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are very well appointed from a functional standpoint, and everything is new and up to date. The furniture placement creates several distinct spaces (e.g., work space, mini-kitchen, living room, bedroom) that make the room feel more like a small apartment than just a sleeping room with a desk. The large screen TV pivots to be viewable from either the living area or the sleeping area, which is separated from the former by a workspace wall. The wall has a frosted pane that can be opened to allow a direct view from the living room into the bedroom and light from the window into the living room, or closed to maintain a fair degree of privacy in the bedroom. The tub and toilet are in a separate room than the sink, plus there is another small sink in the mini-kitchen area, which also includes a small fridge and a microwave. The tones and patterns are modern and muted, and the bed was very comfortable. Location is not the best if you are looking to be in downtown Pittsburgh, but if the Southside is your destination, this is where to be. The Southside has a good number of lively restaurants and stores, but, according to the taxi driver, is full of drunk college kids on the weekends. Also note that straying just a beyond the rejuvenated district can get you into an uncomfortable area. The one real downside was that there is construction going on just behind the hotel (the side my room faced), so there was a lot of noise and a crummy view. I did not have the breakfast, or use the gym, so can't comment on those. All in all, I was very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.