We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore to your Saves list
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   574 West General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked four rooms for a weekend of baseball and football. The location is a great property with superb rooms with all the amenities. We walked to most of the pubs and resteraunts in the area. The ballpark is right across the street and Heinz Field is about five minutes away. What really impressed me was the helpfulness of the staff. From the moment we checked in, to the assistance starting the outdoor fire and grill, to the shuttle bus driver thanks for treating us all so well. This location is a lot of fun to stay at and they go the extra mile to make sure you are very well taken care of.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    79
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
131
82
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went out for monday night steelers game. Stayed two nights. Location is excellent located directly across from pirates baseball stadium. Within a half mile of heinz field. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean bright and airy. A kitchen with frig microwave dishes stove more then we needed for two days but great for somebody staying longer. No onsite restaurant but plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Bed was comfortable which is unusual for me to say. The suite also has a small livingroom area flatscreen tv. Bathroom is up to date and clean . No free parking but with the great location just park the car and forget about it. The price for the room was very reasonable for being right in the city. Im from the east coast tri state area and your not going to find a room in NY City for the money! We are going back to Pittsburgh the end of September and couldnt book the Residence Inn so we're staying at anothet Marriott owned hotel right next store...Springhill Suites

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I appreciate the detailed review! You touched on many of our best qualities and I hope future guests will read your review and take into account all we have to offer. I saw that we were sold out for your next stay. If you're returning multiple times during the season, please feel free to contact me personally for help booking your room. I will always do everything I can to line a room up for a repeat guest. We love the bonds we create with guests who continue to choose our hotel whenever they visit our city. Hope to see you with us again soon!

412-321-2099
ri.pitrn.fds@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always stay here when going to Steeler game. This visit was for a preseason game so the typical hustle bustle was not evident. Walking to the game a few blocks away is a plus and parking in the hotel lot despite the charge is well worth it. The breakfast fare is so so we prefer to make our own in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's nice to see the return Steelers' fans take advantage of our location. It was a sad pre-season though so hopefully things turn around!! I saw that you mentioned the breakfast as so-so and that you prefer to do your own thing in the room. While I'm happy to see guests take full advantage of our suites including the full kitchens, I'd like to hear any comments or concerns you have about breakfast. Please feel free to contact me. If there's something we don't carry that you really enjoy as a breakfast choice, let's talk and I might be able to make something happen for you. Either way, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again throughout the season. Hopefully for a WIN this time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the ideal location for my husband and I's overnight in Pittsburgh. We attended the Pirates Game which began with dinner in the Lexus Club. We walked out the front door of the Residence Inn, across the street, 10 steps and into the Lexus Club door. The hotels was very modern looking and the rooms were mini-apartments with most you would need in a kitchen, including a very nice size fridge. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and fresh. We enjoyed breakfast the next morning in the Lobby area - many choices and prepared well. We would stay here during an overnight in Pittsburgh again without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesPerryRINS, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the review!! Glad to see that your stay went well and you were able to enjoy your stay due to our location. I did note that you only rated us 3 stars for service. We are always trying to go above and beyond and I assure you that we can provide a better experience. If there's anything about your recent stay that you'd ike to discuss please feel free to contact me personally at the hotel or at ri.pitrn.fds@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The closest location possible if you're attending a Pirates game, and just down the street to the Steelers. Also, in the other direction, just a block from the Andy Warhol Museum! Pretty close to the National Aviary, Mattress Factory and Pittsburgh Symphony as well (if you don't want to walk to those places, this hotel's complimentary shuttle is wonderful and takes you anywhere within 3 miles, which would also include Market Square).

Hotel is friendly, cozy, clean, modern, and bright, with lots of windows and natural light. Nice fitness center and indoor pool on main floor, too.

We're on the third floor, with a terrific view of PNC Park; in fact, it's so close that it almost feels like the hotel is part of the stadium!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed August 17 - 19. Rooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly. It was everything you could ask for in a hotel. We ate at Soho restaurant, one block down the street. Very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Citizens Bank Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I brought my husband to Pittsburgh to go to a Steeler game for his 50th bday as a surprise. The manager that day had set up a bday surprise in our room with a bottle of wine and a bag for laundry. It was absolutely wonderful!!! He was so surprised. The staff was absolutely fantastic!! They were so helpful. The only name I can remember is Jessica. She was a hoot!!! We had a lot of fun just talking to staff. They were very helpful and generous!! I cannot say enough about the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good. I loved the waffle maker!! They have a pool table which we did not have time to play but it was quite cool. Also, they have a workout room, which we used and enjoyed. The pool was perfect for doing laps. I enjoyed the pool. The room had a small kitchen, livingroom area and a tv that swiveled to the livingroom and bed. The bed was comfortable and the shower was perfect. There is a safe in the room too. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: The room that faces PNC has a great view of the park. Also it is very quiet. I never heard any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 West General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.