We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical French Bistrot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paris 66

Paris 66
6018 Penn Cir South, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412.404.8166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paris 66 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #150 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Highland Ave.
Transit: Most major bus lines
Description: Paris 66 uses the freshest ingredients from local farms.Famous for its everyday French cuisine and its French Macarons and desserts, Paris 66 became the #1 French restaurant in Pittsburgh since it opens its doors in 2009.It also became "Best of the Burgh" in 2012.Don't miss the Steak frites, salmon tartare, beef or salmon carpacio, beautiful tuna salad, nicoise, croque monsieur, italian sandwich, escargos savory and dessert crepes, and more.You can reserve the patio for private events.A bientot.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Typical French Bistrot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very good representation of a classic French bistrot with very credible selection of food...mussels, steak/frites, bouillabaisse, sausages, creme brulee, and be sure to have some of the macaroons. The pastry chef came from Laduree in Paris and has recreated the macroons. Comfortable atmosphere, and good , caring service from the waitstaff.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, but be careful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We decided on this restaurant because it advertised itself as gluten-free friendly, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food -- not to mention hearing some wait staff speaking authentically accented French (in Pittsburgh!). One of us had moules frites, basic but but tasty. A veal dish and seafood pasta also got rave reviews. Being a celiac, I ordered a buckwheat galette, the classic version with ham and a fried egg. This was also good, but the crepe wasn't as delicate as expected (this isn't Bretagne, after all) After a few bites I noted that the mushrooms were in a béchamel sauce that contained flour. This is a pretty serious error, especially for a restaurant with a gluten-free menu. The plate was replaced promptly, but no apologies (or adjustment to the bill) were offered. As expected, an evening of discomfort followed.

So very nice cooking here, but all those who need to be gluten-free must remain vigilant. And the kitchen and wait staff should smarten up a bit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Charming place with very professional and attentive staff. There appeared to be a lot of regular, local customers. We enjoyed the food, but I did find the prices rather high. And the onion soup, while very good, was quite salty. We didn't have time to try desert, which looked excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful decor, bland tasteless entree and sides, but great drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Use salt, garlic and I would give you 4 stars.

The blueberry tart was awful. Tastes like dried , frost bitten berries...

Nice quiet dining experience though,


Cute inside, great service. Soups, entree and sides were unsalted , yuk

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived with such expectations and hopes. The four of us started with appetizers. The French onion soup was sooooo good. My buckwheat crepes were a little too thick and flavorless; husband liked his salad; the escargot looked like a heaping tablespoon of dried parsey was dumped on them, and the foie gras was a pate and not a nice slice of goose liver. Oh well, on to the main course. I got the lamb shank and fries. It was cooked properly, but again, surprisingly tasteless. They had a special of veal liver. It was way overdone. Hubby said the beef bourguignon was also lacking in taste. On a good note, the service was exceptional, and the wine selection was excellent at a reasonable value. Would we go back? We voted no; we would go to Spoon which is close by. We wondered why the restaurant was not full on a Saturday.
We will continue to look for a replacement for our favorite French restaurant that closed several years ago - Chez Gerard, we still miss you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris 66 also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Paris 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.