We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, authentic French restaurant in unlikely location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paris 66

Paris 66
6018 Penn Cir South, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
412.404.8166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paris 66 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Highland Ave.
Transit: Most major bus lines
Description: Paris 66 uses the freshest ingredients from local farms.Famous for its everyday French cuisine and its French Macarons and desserts, Paris 66 became the #1 French restaurant in Pittsburgh since it opens its doors in 2009.It also became "Best of the Burgh" in 2012.Don't miss the Steak frites, salmon tartare, beef or salmon carpacio, beautiful tuna salad, nicoise, croque monsieur, italian sandwich, escargos savory and dessert crepes, and more.You can reserve the patio for private events.A bientot.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Charming, authentic French restaurant in unlikely location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Four of us recently met here for brunch on a Sunday morning. The atmosphere feels Parisian, the staff are French and the food and coffee were excellent. I have an their house omelette which was done to perfection. The part of town where it is leaves a lot to be desired but when you're in the restaurant you can forget about that. The service was very good and we al enjoyed the whole experience (aside from risking being towed from the CVS parking lot because there wasn't any street or garage parking!).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Vaiment très bien/Really excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a wonderful evening there on a week night and yet the restaurant was almost filled up. It's always conforting when a place is busy, the waiters speak French and are French, young and happy. Dinner was really excellent: three of us chose the "filet mignon" and they declared it the best they have had in a long time, very tasty. It came accompanied by potatoes duchesse, french green beans with "persillade" and sautéed mushrooms. I chose the "boeuf bourguignon". All entrées were in the 28$ range. The gravy in the boeuf was incredibly tasty and rich in flavors, the potatoes were a little too stiff for me, as I like to mash them in the gravy. The desserts were fine, but the "tarte tatin" was disappointing: cold and a little soggy on the bottom and I don't like the caramel sauce. I just want the tart to be caramelized in its own juices. Before our meals were brought, we were offered a "mise en bouche" of pea and mustard velouté which was purely extraordinary light and tasty.
On the whole, it was a very good dinner and experience, even better than last time, a few years ago.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“True French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were at an event at Carnegie Mellon and were looking for a place for lunch and found them on open table. We went there and as we drove by were not sure of the area. It is in transition. They are on the boader of East Liberty and Shadyside. As long as you park in Shadyside no problem. The food was ture French no adapted for Americans. Our waiter was from a town in France the few Americans know and we had visited there the week before. He was so happy to see someone who had been there. If you like true French country food go out of your way to find the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I would go back just for the lemon tart. Too bad it was a special and not a regular menu item. My partner and I had a very pleasant dinner here on a weeknight. It wasn't very crowded but enough diners to make it feel comfortable. Service was excellent. Food is good but not fabulous. Onion soup is pretty good but very filling. After eating the soup I should have just had some dessert. My partner had the mussels. These were perfectly cooked and excellent. I had the buskwheat crepe filled with ham and cheese. It had a small salad with it and a sort of strange tasting mushroom side. The egg on top was perfectly cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top rating well deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Classic French restaurant with a variety of vegetarian choices, excellent service, and elegant ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris 66 also viewed

 

Been to Paris 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.