We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi Bar
1160 Park manor, Robinson Town Center, Pittsburgh, PA
412-787-1999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #982 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place has promise but the waitstaff is horrible. Maybe is would be different if you sat on the hibachi tables but do not eat in the main restaurant. Took the server over 45 minutes to just bring our drinks, and they were wrong! I mean ordereing a Kirin in a Japanese restaurant shouls not be that difficult. When our food came out over an hour later our plates were cold. Such a waste of money, and I will never go back!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, Busy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

As far as Japanese Hibachi goes, Ichiban is good. It's not "THE BEST" Hibachi I've ever been to, it is jam packed with people, really noisy, and some of the decor is definitely not Japanese. However, for being in the middle of Pittsburgh in a strip mall, I was surprised by how good the sushi rolls were, and the high quality of the steak. The price was reasonable.

It would be a good place to go for a family dinner or birthday, as they really go "all out" with the celebration.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh pa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We go here to get sushi all the time...We love the selection and everything is always great. However the service isn't that great...Still love the food though

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WE LOVE ICHIBAN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My co workers and I always get sushi for lunch since we're in the same plaza. There are tons of items to choose from and reasonable prices for lunch. Their sushi is fabulous!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food but service just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We had a large group with us at Ichiban last weekend. The atmosphere and decor was typical for a Japanese style hibachi restaurant. We had a reservation and were seated right away even though there were people waiting. The "chef" did a good job with the normal presentation and good interactions with us. We had a complete meal and we all enjoyed the food though with all the butter and oil used not a light dinner. The only issue we had was with the waitress as she forgot to put in the order for an appetizer for one of our guests so it did not arrive until very late. Also she did not offer us chop sticks which I thought was odd so we finally had to ask and they were provided. We were there on a Saturday night so there were no specials so it was not an inexpensive night out. There are many coupons available to use Sunday through Thursday.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Hibachi & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.