We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, excellent suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Pittsburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Fairmont Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Market Street, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Far unlit unknown
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, excellent suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at the Fairmont for two nights when I was visiting with friends and attending a concert in September. I arrived late in the evening, and the kind young woman at registration told me I'd been upgraded to a suite. The suite was amazing: huge and nicely decorated with an attractive view of the river and two full bathrooms. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable; everything was clean, tidy and well-kept. The staff was uniformly friendly and professional, and provided me with maps, recommendations for sightseeing, and even offered me an umbrella since it was pouring rain. The only frustration was trying to get room service for breakfast: I sat on hold for 15 minutes. Otherwise, the hotel and my stay were quite perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    92
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
101
154
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Fairmont is a nice change of pace to what you would normally find in Pittsburgh. Very progressive design and hip atmosphere. The beds are unbelievably comfortable, great work station in room, and the location is ideal for attending cultural events in town. Our dinner at Habitat restaurant was outstanding. The venue also had a good menu selection for children. Chicken fingers and fries here were not the normal fare. Everything was prepared fresh ... real chicken breaded by the kitchen and fries hand sliced and fried. They were deemed the "best fries ever!" The only negative in my opinion was the environmental consciousness of the hotel was taken a bit to the extreme. Each room has a reuseable glass water bottle to fill up instead of bottles of water. Ours had a moldy cap and foul smell to it. The other room's bottle had fingerprints all over it. No extra bathroom tissue in room, a ration of towels, and limited tissue, coffee creamer, etc. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the room accommodations and your meal in Habitat. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our Natura water bottles and housekeeping services and have passed your comments on to our Houseeping and Refreshment Center Departments to correct these issues. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh.

Best regards,
Jon Mathews, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This was the 3rd stay for my wife and myself at the Pittsburgh Fairmont in the last 7 months,each trip was for a sporting event and leisure. This hotel is 1st class from top to bottom, the hotel location and the beautiful rooms are not the best ingredients in our opinion but rather the helpful and courteous staff at the front desk, to Celine and the other friendly folks at the concierge desk to Tyler and the great food at the Habitat restaurant to our good friend at the front entry Ron Costello who greets us like family every time we see him . Pittsburgh is a city of champions and the Pittsburgh Fairmont is certainly a winner. Thanks again for a wonderful vacation from the Currys' in Lakeland, Fl.
GO STEELERS.........BRING BACK #7 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Curry,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We take great pride in our colleagues and are pleased to learn that they have provided you with a wonderful experience during each of your stays. We will certainly recognize our front desk colleagues, Celine, Ron and Tyler for their outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh!

Best regards,
Jon Mathew, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was our second stay in Pittsburgh and this hotel. The first was in early September - just 7 weeks earlier. Both visits were remarkable. The hotel is excellent in its style and service. From the moment you pull-up and the bellhops and valets whisk away your luggage and car, the service is awesome.

Check-in is smooth. The rooms are exceptional - but this stay had the better view of PNC park and Heinz field. The bar is small, but service is good. Prices are as you would expect in this level hotel and in a downtown city area.

Its a short walk to PNC park - further to Heinz field - and very enjoyable. We only used the hotel restaurant for breakfast during both stays. Excellent meal and service (this was early and on a weekend so we were nearly the only diners).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your wonderful comments. We especially appreciate you recognizing our colleagues for their outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh once again!

Kind regards,
Jon Mathews, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have stayed in downtown Pittsburgh many times over the years while visiting family there, and we were eagerly awaiting the opening of this Fairmont Hotel. We were not disappointed! This is a lovely hotel with gorgeous rooms and incredible views of this beautiful, truly American city. Great care was taken in the design of every aspect of this hotel, and the attention to detail shows throughout the public and private spaces. The restaurant was terrific; the gym was fantastic; and we loved being able to swim in the new Y directly across the street. The staff members at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The one area that needs improvement is the housekeeping service. Over our four night stay, I had to call several times for more towels, more shampoos and soaps, and the replacement/cleaning of glasses and cups. My requests were always handled promptly, however, and this was a minor inconvenience during an otherwise extremely nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Ms. Dekker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, Habitat and our Health Club. We also appreciate your comments regarding our housekeeping services and have followed up with our Director of Housekeeping to address these issues. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh!

Best regards,
Jon Mathews, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Room was amazing with high ceilings and great views you can even get good views of PNC Park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

As a birthday getaway, I packed the two of us up for dinner and hotel overnight to indulge and splurge. This place did not disappoint. Every detail is impeccable. I had mentioned we were celebrating my partner's birthday and a cake greeted us in the room. Delicious! We were able to spend time in the gym with both a sauna and a steam, having the places (respectively woman and men's locker areas) to ourselves. Completely indulgent. The highlight was dinner, specifically the delights coming from the pastry chef which we were encouraged not to miss and we were over the top with the results. Both of us concluded that dessert was the best we had ever had. The almond creme brule with wine soaked pear is a must have. We literally started thinking of occasions to return while we were there. Everyone was professional, helpful and was in on our celebration.

The breakfast in the room was also extraordinary - and the prices were very reasonable for room service. We were impressed with the organic fruit for the smoothie we ordered and again - very impressed with the homemade granola - which had to have come from the same pastry chef. Extraordinary place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and chose Fairmont Pittsburgh for your birthday celebration. We especially appreciate your feedback regarding your meal in Habitat and will be sure to recognize our pastry kitchen for their outstanding work. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market Street, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.