We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all 5 star hotels are equal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Pittsburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Fairmont Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Market Street, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not all 5 star hotels are equal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Surprising my spouse with a show and an overnight at the Fairmont on Valentine’s evening was a delicate affair. Also this was the first stay at a Pittsburgh Downtown hotel even though we have lived here for 20 years.
The Fairmont has everything one would expect from a 5 star facility when it comes to amenities, but the Fairmont stands out because of its people. At check in the receptionist was so welcoming and discreet in playing along with my little Valentine’s Day charade. And throughout our brief stay everyone was most helpful without being intrusive. The next morning the male and female at the front desk were charming and so professional. The same can be said for the staff in Habitat.
A first time experience at home following extensive travels around the world and it shall not be our last.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Market Square were charming especially watching the people scurrying around in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent stay. I will share your feedback with our colleagues and recognize them for their outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    92
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
101
155
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Given it's star rating you'd expect this but they do go the proverbial extra mile. The rooms are not just stylish and comfortable, but sensibly appointed with power sockets where you actually need them and so forth. The staff will do their best to help you and present an air of actually wanting to be nice to you, rather than the "professional nice" air some hotel staff adopt, which leaves you with the impression you've got a voodoo doll of you in the back which will get some pins later.

Weak spot - the food and dining. Even by hotel standards it's not the best value, and it's the only place in the hotel the staff consistently drop the ball (food takes ages, no drink refills without asking, empty plates not bussed, etc). Not critical, and not why you'd stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your room accommodations and that our colleagues provided you with outstanding service.

I am sorry to learn about your experience in our dining outlets, however, and will share this feedback wtih our food and beverage team. Please know that your experience was certainly not in keeping with the level of service and luxury we strive to provide.

Kind regards,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the friendly staff to the beautiful rooms, you can't go wrong. My husband and I spent a nice weekend there and I am ready to go back. Stunning views, great accommodations, wonderful staff, I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reivew. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent visit and will share your feedback with our colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Fairmont Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

All Farimont properties have great service, comfort, and cleanliness. In Pitt the smiles and helpful attitude of the people here, I mean everyone, are top notch. I stay in a variety of places and appreciate high level service. Fairmont Pittsburgh service level shines. Location cant be beat with Market Square right outside the door.

But most importantly, the Room is spectacular. We come to Fairmont for the quality accommodations right? Spacious rooms here and the furnishing are fresh and clean. We had a suite with Windows floor to ceiling, for good views of the city and across the river with a telescope! The suite had two full bathrooms. The main bathroom was huge, as big as some regular hotel rooms. Fairmont bed, super comfy as usual.

Internet was fast, free if you are a club member. TVs had all the plugs and connections if you want to hook up to your computer, desks have USB charge connectors. Didnt use the fitness/spa area but it looked huge and clean. Go there, no regrets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the accommdations and service during your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The title just about covers it. If you are doing business downtown - or even out of town, I'd highly recommend this property. the location is fantastic but it is the ambiance and feel of the place that makes it special. With due respect to Pittsburg (one of my favorite cities), the Fairmont is not something you would expect to find here - modern, edgy and very boutique-like. Cool Warhol themed lounge on main floor and superb fitness facility overlooking the city.

Room Tip: if you are an architecture fan, go high and try to get something looking over the river - this will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Fairmont Pittsburgh. They have a fantastic location for business travellers, though it is a fair distance from the market and museums if you're doing the tourist thing. Still walking distance to most of the sports parks, I found it great to be right in the centre of it all! I enjoyed the restaurant a lot, especially for dinner when the lights were turned down and you could see the city lights through the floor to ceiling windows. The guest room are very spacious, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and river. The bathroom was HUGE and amazing, with a separate shower and deep soaker tub. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and your dinner at Habitat last fall. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon!

Sincerely,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent stay at Fairmont Pittsburgh, conveniently located in the center of the city's business, theater and retail hub. We were in town mainly for an important game between the contending division rivals Pirates and Cardinals. The Fairmont’s location couldn’t have been more convenient as PNC Park is just across the Roberto Clemente Bridge, a mere five minute walk away. Also located just across the river, a block or two from PNC Park, is the (recommended) Andy Warhol Museum. The hotel is also close to Market Square with an array of dining options, from fine to fast. The staff at Fairmont were superb; pleasant, professional and helpful. We requested a room on an upper floor overlooking PNC Park and Heinz Field and the hotel obliged. The views of the PNC, Heinz and downtown were spectacular! The room was spacious, well-appointed with stylish modern decor and a very comfy firm bed. It was a busy weekend in town and the hotel seemed quite full, yet there was peace and quiet in the corridors and room. The guest services and amenities were excellent; we especially appreciated the large and well-equipped gym. Andy’s bar off the rear lobby was jumping with a jazz band on Friday night. We enjoyed a very complete breakfast at Habitat, the hotel’s on-site restaurant. It had been many years since we last visited Pittsburgh; a stay at Fairmont was a proper re-introduction. We would certainly return to the Fairmont on a future visit to Pittsburgh. This hotel is a first-class luxury stay conveniently in the center of it all.

Room Tip: We really liked the high floor view of PNC Park. You might get lucky and see a post-game fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPittsburgh, Manager at Fairmont Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay this past fall and found the views to be as spectacular as we do! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pittsburgh soon.

Warm regards,
Bernd Pichler
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pittsburgh

Address: 510 Market Street, at Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Pittsburgh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh, Fairmont Pittsburgh is within walking distance to the city’s thriving Cultural District, Market Square, eclectic shopping and world-class sporting venues. The Four Diamond, 185-room property is LEED certified at the Gold level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.