We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated wine, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar

Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar
5102 Baum Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-2302 (Bloomfield)
412-224-2579
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #336 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Bloomfield
Cross street: Morewood
millerton, ny
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sophisticated wine, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The appetizers small plates were inventive and delicious - warm figs with prosciutto, buttermilk paper soup. All wines are available by the half tasting glass, glass and bottle at reasonable prices. A place to go ago.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's good, even for non drinkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Creative menu that is not affraid to challenge taste buds. 3 of us went, all had different things and enjoyed sampling everything on the table. If the heirloom tomato salad is on menu, order it and enjoy.

The tables are a bit tight and it can be noisy downstairs.

Worth the trip

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very fancy, great wine selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This isn't a place you necessarily take the kids, but good for an evening out with friends. Food was fine, but the real attraction is their amazing wine list. Wait staff is very knowledgeable about all the wine offerings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food, excellent wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Eat here a couple of times/year. Food is very good, though they are heavy on the salt. The wine list is very thoughtful and the selection is well-priced. I enjoy this restaurant and will return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“AVOID--DECEPTIVE AND SNOTTY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I wish I could say we actually ATE here since I made reservations more than a month in advance on Open Table, which I use frequently. A Toast employe called to confirm several hrs before our 6:30 Sat night reservation (during reunion wkend at CMU) and asked if stairs were a problem. I said they were and she said no problem, she'd take care of it. (One person in our party has a bad knee.) When we arrived, we were told the only table available was up a flight of--I kid you not--30+ dark and rickety stairs and that we were out of luck; they had nothing else. They insisted that the Open Table booking did not mention stairs--duh! Who would think to mention that climbing a huge flight was a nonstarter in a 2 story restaurant? Worst of all, I suspect that the woman who called was the one who stood there and said nothing while the mgr essentially told us to get lost (at least I suspect it was her by the stricken look on her face.) My suggestion: forget Toast and go to Soba, where we had a lovely dinner the previous night, or try Avenue B(istro) down the street. The very nice owner there said he had nothing either til 10:30 Sat, but called another restaurant for us and couldn't have been nicer. It's all about attitude and service, people. We won't ever go to Toast and will be sure our friends and professional acquaintances know about their shoddy approach--and the many better options nearby.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Kitchen & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.