We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to interesting sites from a lovely old building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Mexican War Streets to your Saves list
Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   604 W North Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walk to interesting sites from a lovely old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed two nights in this lovely large mansion in an interesting historic setting in Pittsburgh across from a park. The first floor was lovingly restored some years ago and has a rather dark Victorian feel. The sweeping stair case in the front hall is notable. The room we were in was fine - a little dowdy and the bathroom a little hard to work around in terms of places to put things. Wish the shower was a little hotter and the walls a little thicker - but hey, this is an old mansion. All that was balanced by the wonderful setting for the breakfast - in a "bar" that feels like you're on a train. Nice selection of fruit, muffins and one can make waffles. Another plus is being able to go out the door walk to the Andy Warhol museum, the Mattress factory (modern art) and the baseball and football stadiums aren't far. While it was too cold, in the summer, I imagine it would be nice to sit in the comfortable chairs on the large front porch. And the inn owners are knowledgeable about the city and can direct you places. Pittsburgh seems to be an interesting, creative city that is worth several visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
53
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Be whisked away to a magical B&B in the heart of Pittsburgh. Karl and Jeff are amazing owners. Hospitality is number #1 here. The home is a masterpiece. The Boggs Mansion is classy and immaculately maintained. It is quaint and very laid back. However, you will feel like a king or queen in this architectual splendid castle. My husband and I came into town for a few days. We quite didn't know what to expect and the mansion knocked our socks off. It is convenient to Heinz Field, The National Aviary, Warhol Museum, Mattress Factory and Rivers Casino. In fact, for the Steelers game, we were able to walk a few blocks over and not pay the $40 parking fee.

The continental breakfast was top-notch with eggs, coffee, belgian waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal, bagels, you name it. They also offer treats throughout the day like their homemade chocolate chip cookies.

This place is in the city so as to other reviewers saying it is "ghetto" is far from the truth. This place is safe and pure luxury. With gorgeous well-kept homes and amazing landscaping all around the North side of Pittsburgh. It is in the city folks. However, the neighborhood is safe and extremely clean. The folks are friendly. There is a gorgeous park across the street. The park contains old mature trees, beautiful landscaped areas, and lovely bridges that go over duck ponds.

You must put Klavon's ice cream on your list of things to see while you are visiting Pittsburgh. It was one of my favorite stops while staying at the B&B.

Jeff and Karl have put a ton of elbow grease into this mansion and it purely shows. I often travel. However, I do not post reviews. If something doesn't knock me out of the ballpark, I usually won't right anything. However, from the grounds to the room (we stayed in Emma's room) Not one detail was left unturned.

I fell in love with the Mexican War Street Inn and I fell in love with the city of Pittsburgh. You won't find a greater deal out there with such LUXURY.

The pricing is a steal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The inn was excellent, Karl and Jeff were excellent hosts, very friendly and forthcoming with things to do and see, the inn itself is a wonderful old charm place with comfortable bed (owners suite) we pretty much had the floor to ourselves for the whole week.

The bus routes into town were just across the street and they are real regular, yes the street infront could seem a little "dodgy" but my wife and I never had any issues with anyone, use common sense and you'll be fine, most nights we went to the Monterrey inn for our meal, great little Irish pub with real nice food and beer. Alot of the surrounding streets are colonial style and the leaves were on the trees and was lovely to walk around

Our room had a kitchen so we went to a few of the local grocery stores and filled up on stocks, but you get a light continental breakfast from the inn and you get to make your own waffles, which we loved, I'd thoroughly recommend the inn, just know you have to travel a little bit to get to downtown, but it really isn't an issue

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When we first got to the Inn, Karl was out front doing some lawn work. He saw my girlfriend and I walk through the front gates, came right up to us and introduced himself and let us in while he was quickly finishing up his gardening. There is no way to explain it other than to just say there is so much history in this mansion. Absolutely Beautiful! We checked in, Karl gave us a mini-tour, and he led us to our room. We stayed on a Friday night and they were at full capacity and our room (Mrs. Boggs Room) stayed very quiet. Not a single disturbance and the king size bed was just as comfortable as it looks in the picture on their main website! I slept great! The night we stayed was very humid and the A/C kept very cool, too. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained, especially for a building this old. We were just in town for 1 night and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Overall: Well worth the price. Just blew us away! Definitely planning a return someday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Inn has been lovely restored, but please be aware that it is located in a less than desirable part of town. A large majority of the street is boarded up storefront and homeless walk or sleep on the street. The shabby YMCA next door to the Inn is apparently 'home' to many of these homeless. We did not feel safe walking to the local restaurant that was recommended by the owner. There is limited parking in the back, so you will probably have to leave your car on the busy, main street. Don't leave any valuables in your car. The room was ok. Tiny bath. Noisy AC window unit. No shade on window so light from next door YMCA kept us up all night. The breakfast was a cold, do it yourself, number vs a hot breakfast served by the owner in the dining room which is what we have come to enjoy about B&B's. We were disappointed, especially given the price, will not return and would not recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. Had to haul everything up three flights. Ask for a first or second floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our three generations family group of nine spent two weeks at The Inn and could not have asked for a more perfect stay, or for better hospitality then what we received from Karl and Jeff. They are the perfect hosts.
For our purposes we rented all of the rooms at the inn, and it was a fantastic stay. I am so happy that I found it while researching for a place in Pittsburgh that we could all be together and not locked into a hotel type atmosphere.
We were in Pittsburgh for our granddaughter’s wedding and graduation from medical school. We had several “events” at the inn including the rehearsal dinner, Mother’s Day brunch (prepared by Jeff), a special breakfast hosted by the bride, and an after graduation lunch. Jeff and Karl were very gracious about all of our requests, and I can’t thank them enough.
Our stay at the inn was the same as if we were in our own home with Karl and Jeff allowing us to have all of the family functions that we had during the two week stay. Thanks Karl and Jeff for your great hospitality!

Jeannie and Jim

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

A fantastic hotel a far cry from the standardised and impersonal chain hotels of the same price.

A beautiful building, charming rooms with comfy bed, lovely bathroom, both clean and very elegant. Breakfast very nice too, good quality food in a relaxed and informal style that gives a real hone from home feel.

The whole place has clearly been lovingly created and curated and it's owner Jeff could not have been a better host. Helpful and friendly without being intrusive in any way. This is a real hidden gem of Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
1.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#3 of 60 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#9 of 60 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#1 of 60 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Mexican War Streets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Address: 604 W North Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Mexican War Streets 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Mexican War Streets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Mexican War Streets (r. h. Boggs House) Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Mexican War Streets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.