We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Limited Time 15% Off AAA!
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Erie, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were in Pittsburgh for a surgical procedure at McGee Womens Hospital. The Hampton Inn was right next door and offered shuttles, etc. The staff was excellent, the breakfast was outstanding, and the experience was an overall A+! The Hampton Inn was only good thing to happen for us in Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff both friendly and helpful, and that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle service. Thank you for your kind words about our hot complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    132
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
169
48
33
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Hampton Inn University Center. I was in town for a reunion at the University of Pittsburgh. I am a graduate so I'm familiar with the area. Hampton Inn is in walking distance to Pitts Oakland Campus. Staff was excellent and efficient. We were checked in very easily, had no issues with parking (other than the standard 14.00 a day charge but don't get me started on that. LOL) and enjoyed the breakfast every morning.

My room was great and about the only issue I had was the air conditioner unit seemed loud to me. Hotel has free wi-fi and a business center. Room was up to date, nice shower with good water pressure. Bathroom sink had great space and it was 3 women in the room with all their makeup.

Whenever I'm back at Pitt this will be my go to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay - from the staff service to breakfast to the actual room. We do sincerely apologize about the HVAC unit in your room being loud, and I appreciate you letting us know, so that we may continue to improve! Thank you again for your review, and we will see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I liked the Hampton Inn at university of Pittsburgh more than I thought I would. The photo of its exterior makes it look run down but the rooms are up to date, clean, and comfortable as was the lobby.
It was in walking distance to the hospital but I took the free hotel shuttle because of the bad weather. There was a conference at the convention center so the shuttle was full with people attending that. The manager actually took me and one other guest to the hospital/university area since the first shuttle was full.
There is a Paneras and Arby's pretty close walking distance to the hotel and more eateries maybe half a mile away - walkable. The hotel is easy to get to/from the highway that you take to/from the airport.
Parking is $14 - I'm not sure why there's a parking charge at this Hampton but not the one in downtown. That being said, I would definitely stay here again when visiting the hospital or university.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words about our shuttle - we definitely feel as if it is our best amenity! There are a variety of restaurants and attractions within walking distance of the hotel as well, and we are glad that our shuttle could accommodate you. Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was a good price for the location, especially when compared to prices of other hotels in the area. The room was very small but met our needs for the night we were there. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was very nice. The parking lot is fairly small, but we didn't have a problem getting a spot during out stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating, and that you enjoyed our deluxe hot breakfast! Thank you again, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great place to stay if you are visiting Pitt! We stay at this hotel when we come to visit our daughter at Pitt.The Location is ideal. The only problem is the prices nearly triple for football weekends and parents weekends.The beakfest was pretty good, although items could have been re-filled. The bedding was very fresh and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your kind words about our location and proximity to the University! We also appreciate your comments about our clean and fresh linens, and we will share your comments with our breakfast team, as we are always looking for ways to improve! Thank you again, and we will see you the next time you are in Pittsburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is good. If you are here for the university, its only 2 minutes away. Extremely friendly staff made check-in a breeze. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. Our compliments to the chef! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and our hot deluxe breakfast! We indeed are located within the heart of Oakland around the universities. Thank you again, and we will see you the next time you are in Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our room was neat and clean and the staff was very helpful in giving us directions etc.--it was our first time visiting Pittsburgh. Breakfast was good and the dinning room very relaxing. We were only there for one night, but stay at Hamptons often and I would recommend this hotel to others. The rates were lower than for the Hampton Inn Downtown but we still were not very far away from major destinations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are elated to hear that you were pleased with both the cleanliness and the service provided at our hotel. We are located only two miles from downtown, and we offer a complimentary shuttle service that goes anywhere within three miles of the hotel. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area.

Sincerely,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.