We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel. Staff could have been more helpful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel. Staff could have been more helpful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and two friends from out of town recently stayed here the Saturday night of St Patty's day weekend. Found this last minute. Apon arriving the first front desk person we met was helpful. He even called around to make sure other hotels closer to our location didn't have available rooms. The main parking lot was full but the one they directed us to across the street was easily accessible and felt safe. Once we checked in the room was very clean. Fresh linens. Clean bathroom. We then called the front desk and asked them to get us a taxi down to "the south side" front desk staff said that they were able to do same. We went to the lobby about 10 min later and waited 20 mins. No taxi ever arrived. We then asked the front desk how long the taxi said it would be at wich time we were informed that the hotel staff was unable to contact the taxi service and kept getting a busy signal. I thought this was somewhat rude that they seen us waiting the whole time and even talked to us but never mentioned that they HAD NOT gotten us a taxi. They also seemed somewhat less knowledgeable about the area then I would expect from hotel staff. For example they were no help in answering any questions we had about the area or telling us approx. how far we were away from attractions. We then went out for the night and apon returning to the hotel decided to order pizza. When we asked about pizza places that delivered late night (2am) the front desk guy stated "I don't know. This is Pittsburg not Vegas we aren't a 24 hour town." I then asked if they could get us a taxi to a place that advertised as a 24 hour diner and after waiting 45 mins to here a reply back told the front desk to forget it. The free breakfast in the morning was average. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt ect. Provided small glasses with no lids for the drinks so bring your own. Also we noted that we were in a non smoking room but in the hallway there was a notable smoke smell wich didn't bother us since we are smokers and only took the non-smoking room because others were sold out. Overall I was satisfied with the room just thought the staff could have been more helpful or at least said when they weren't able to help.

Room Tip: Clean hotel to stay at just don't ask staff to assist with taxi/directions/ordering pizza it won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We always strive to create a great experience for our guests, and it is our sincere hope that you would give us another chance to wow you, so that we may be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    147
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
193
69
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this location for almost a year , whenver I was in Pittsburgh. The Staff are very freindly and nice. The place is located centrally close to Universities, Casino and downtown. The Rooms are very comfortable and neat

Room Tip: Choose Rooms on Seventh or eight floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest feel valued and appreciated through the service that we offer. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon, your family at the Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! John checked us in and was very friendly and accomodating. Shout out to John!!! Only item of improvement is cleanliness of the room. The room was a bit dusty and the ironing board had a really bad stain on it. However breakfast in the morning made up for everything. Breakfast was great. Better then the normal advertised hot breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We value your opinion and we will make the necessary adjustments that you mentioned above. Our breakfast has always helped us stand apart from our competition and is made fresh every morning with love. Again thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast U.S.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really great hotel; clean, great staff, comfortable. All you expect from a quality Hampton Inn. Tracy, the shuttle driver, was friendly, courteous and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Parking for $14 was not ideal, but this is a low rate compared to other hotels in the area. The shuttle trip to Carnegie Mellon was easy and efficient. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for highlighting one of our many stars, Tracy truly is an asset to our team and we are so happy your enjoyed the service she provide you. We strive to make every guest feel valued and appreciated through the service that we offer that's our "hamptonality". Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon, your family at the Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a pleasure to stay here at the Hampton Inn. The personnel are extremely helpful and friendly. Every request and need is attended to with out even a hint of inconvenience. The professionalism and polite manner are outstanding. The small nuances go a very long way to support my decision to stay here many times over. What a pleasure! Thank you, especially to Jonathon the manner on duty while I was here.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a refrigerator and microwave which make a multiple day stay here easier for meals an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest feel valued and appreciated through the service that we offer. Thanks for your kind words, and it is our goal to always be the hotel you love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visit Pittsburgh once yearly for an important health check. We have stayed at several convenient hotels that are more "upscale". The medical visit fees for all area hotels are similar and reasonable.

Our stay at the Hampton Inn surpassed our other stays. The duvet covers on the bedspreads are washed and changed daily. The room was immaculate. The front desk staff was helpful and kind beyond any expectation. Other staff that we encountered was equally kind and expressed personal concern for our comforts. We did not use the complimentary shuttle bus which rotates through the surrounding area on an hourly basis. We may use the service on next year's visit.

It may be one of the oldest hotels in this area, but it gets our best recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for placing your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you had a pleasant stay and found our rooms “immaculate”, and our staff helpful and kind beyond your expectations. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and hope you will join us again soon your friends from the Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There for the Frozen Four, it was a great experience staying in this hotel. The shuttle service was great, they dropped you off where ever you wanted within a certain mile distance. The breakfast area was clean and the staff was very helpful. Beds were a little hard, but that is common in most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Here at the Hampton we are truly committed to service, and we are glad that translated to the service you received. Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope that you will visit our city and us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.