We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Carolina Steelers"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Carolina Steelers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I drive up from Mooresville,NC at least once every year for a Steelers game and have stayed in this hotel each time. The folks (staff) are very friendly, especially "Tracie" which drives the shuttle and is very helpful to us regarding the area.The rooms are clean and nice. I haven't missed a year visiting this area in 12 years. I have also brought my family up during certain occasions. I guess you can say that I'm probably your best customer. During those 12 years, I've never had a complaint regarding the rooms or comfort. Because of your nice friendly staff and room cleanliness, that is what keeps me coming back to this hotel. My last stay was December 30, 2012.. If nothing happens and the creek don't rise, I hope to see you guys in 2013. (Russ Clark)

Room Tip: Rooms are quite. I've stayed here several times in different rooms. Not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm so happy you have been choosing us for years based on our hospitality and clean comfortable rooms. We love to hear comments such as this so we know we are providing the best service possible to our guests. I'm so proud to say that you have made us your home away from home over all the other choices out there. We will see you soon! Thank you once again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    114
    51
    13
    9
See reviews for
141
42
31
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our third visit at the Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University Center. We experienced such genuine warmth, friendliness & professionalism on our first visit (12/2010) that we decided to make it an annual holiday tradition to stay here. Each year they have made us feel like "family". This year (12/2012) Rachel accommodated our early arrival.Tracy and Eric feel like old friends as our complimentary shuttle drivers. We've made new friends w/ Glen and Scott as shuttle drivers,too. Jonathan, Hanna and Steve were always courteous when we contacted the front desk and Barbara was a lovely hostess at the delicious breakfasts. We certainly are looking forward to our fourth visit 12/2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Greetings,
WOW! Thank you for making us part of your annual holiday tradition and choosing our hotel to be your home away from home. We are so happy to be part of your family for the holidays for now 3 years in a row and look forward to seeing you again next year. I'm thrilled to hear you received the kind of hospitality and service one would expect. Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. See you next year!
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was not too expensive, considering the location. The street is on way, but once you get used to it, it was easy to navigate. The place was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They put out a snack in the evening in the lobby and have a great breakfast that rivals some restaurants. There was also a free shuttle into the city, which ran on the hour. Good value, good location, great staff; I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy you feel we were a great value and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We see you took advantage of our amenities with our free hot breakfast buffet & free shuttle. I'm very happy you found us a good location and we look forward to seeing you again! Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding in August. I drove by the entrance at least three times while staying here because it's just so obscured. There's a tiny street (Hamlet St.) that, if I remember correctly, is one-way. Then, when you get on the right street, the driveway is easy to confuse with the next building's. Ah well, I got there eventually. And when I did, it was quite nice! Hampton Inns are always reliable, but this one is particularly good. My favorite part was that they always had fresh coffee in the lobby. Plus, when I went down looking for cookies and it turned out they weren't serving them right then, the woman at the desk went and found some Oreos for me and my hungry friends. It was very nice of her. They also provided a free shuttle over to the wedding reception as soon as we asked. That's a little problem, though--it's not all that close to any of the places we were visiting (Hoffbrau House, Pittsburgh Center for the Arts, and a big cathedral downtown), and not even within walking distance to many restaurants. I'm sure if I knew the area better, I could have found something, but we ended up driving for every meal. Overall, it was quite a nice stay, and the service made it exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad you found our hotel nice and we are sorry you had a hard time finding us. We are actually within walking distance of many restaurants & bars and also have the free shuttle for convenience so our guests do not have to drive. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at several Hamptons and thus have a baseline idea of what to expect when I go to one. Well, this hotel lived up to its Hilton name and the best way to describe it is in the following simple phrase: Exceptional Service, Great People, Good Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Greetings!
WOW! Thank you for your fabulous review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and received the type of service and accommodations one would expect while staying with us. Thanks for the 2 Thumbs Up! We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As there are few hotels in Pittsburg, all the hotels are expensive (average $150/night).
Taking this in account this is a good hotel.
Big room, very clean, friendly staff and very good breakfast (even with a waffle machine!).
The thing that distinguish this hotel is that, although it is a bit far from the center, they provide a free shuttle to downtown and other locations.
The shuttle driver was very helpful giving us some hints where to eat and where to have a drink.
This is a high quality hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you decided to try us and found us a good value. We appreciate you also placing the pictures of your room on Tripadvisor for others to see. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our best amenities in the free shuttle and the free breakfast. We are so pleased you found your room clean, a nice size, & comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staying at this Hampton Inn really depends on your reason. As others have written, if you are visiting colleges, this is the place to stay. If you are in town on business, and need to travel to the outer industrial parks the commute is not an easy one. Also, for those of you who like to walk to dinner, there is not a lot in the immediate area, you will need to take your car. And, depending on which side of the hotel your room is located you either have a nice view or a scary view (run down buildings). Will be in town on business, but will try the Hampton Inn on the other side of town, closer to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our location. We are a perfect location for the hospitals and the universities. You mentioned it is a rough commute to other areas. We offer a free shuttle service that travels downtown, Station Square, Shadyside, Southside, Oakland, Squirrel Hill and anywhere within 3 miles. Downtown is only 2 miles from us. Our guests typically use our free shuttle so they do not have to drive. I sincerely apologize if you were not aware of our shuttle service. One side of our hotel faces Oakland and the other side faces downtown & the river and the downtown/river side is more appealing than the Oakland side. Thank you for pointing out your concerns and we hope you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.