We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to access, but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free $20 Slot Play!
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to access, but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding in August. I drove by the entrance at least three times while staying here because it's just so obscured. There's a tiny street (Hamlet St.) that, if I remember correctly, is one-way. Then, when you get on the right street, the driveway is easy to confuse with the next building's. Ah well, I got there eventually. And when I did, it was quite nice! Hampton Inns are always reliable, but this one is particularly good. My favorite part was that they always had fresh coffee in the lobby. Plus, when I went down looking for cookies and it turned out they weren't serving them right then, the woman at the desk went and found some Oreos for me and my hungry friends. It was very nice of her. They also provided a free shuttle over to the wedding reception as soon as we asked. That's a little problem, though--it's not all that close to any of the places we were visiting (Hoffbrau House, Pittsburgh Center for the Arts, and a big cathedral downtown), and not even within walking distance to many restaurants. I'm sure if I knew the area better, I could have found something, but we ended up driving for every meal. Overall, it was quite a nice stay, and the service made it exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad you found our hotel nice and we are sorry you had a hard time finding us. We are actually within walking distance of many restaurants & bars and also have the free shuttle for convenience so our guests do not have to drive. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    128
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
166
47
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at several Hamptons and thus have a baseline idea of what to expect when I go to one. Well, this hotel lived up to its Hilton name and the best way to describe it is in the following simple phrase: Exceptional Service, Great People, Good Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Greetings!
WOW! Thank you for your fabulous review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and received the type of service and accommodations one would expect while staying with us. Thanks for the 2 Thumbs Up! We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As there are few hotels in Pittsburg, all the hotels are expensive (average $150/night).
Taking this in account this is a good hotel.
Big room, very clean, friendly staff and very good breakfast (even with a waffle machine!).
The thing that distinguish this hotel is that, although it is a bit far from the center, they provide a free shuttle to downtown and other locations.
The shuttle driver was very helpful giving us some hints where to eat and where to have a drink.
This is a high quality hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you decided to try us and found us a good value. We appreciate you also placing the pictures of your room on Tripadvisor for others to see. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our best amenities in the free shuttle and the free breakfast. We are so pleased you found your room clean, a nice size, & comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staying at this Hampton Inn really depends on your reason. As others have written, if you are visiting colleges, this is the place to stay. If you are in town on business, and need to travel to the outer industrial parks the commute is not an easy one. Also, for those of you who like to walk to dinner, there is not a lot in the immediate area, you will need to take your car. And, depending on which side of the hotel your room is located you either have a nice view or a scary view (run down buildings). Will be in town on business, but will try the Hampton Inn on the other side of town, closer to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our location. We are a perfect location for the hospitals and the universities. You mentioned it is a rough commute to other areas. We offer a free shuttle service that travels downtown, Station Square, Shadyside, Southside, Oakland, Squirrel Hill and anywhere within 3 miles. Downtown is only 2 miles from us. Our guests typically use our free shuttle so they do not have to drive. I sincerely apologize if you were not aware of our shuttle service. One side of our hotel faces Oakland and the other side faces downtown & the river and the downtown/river side is more appealing than the Oakland side. Thank you for pointing out your concerns and we hope you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Normal good quality of a Hampton Inn with a few extra nice benefits. Direct TV with over 200 channels in each room. Also a nice common area near reception featuring a large bar height table and chairs for gathering. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn. The staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are so happy you found our hotel a very nice Hampton Inn. There are many choices out there but we are happy you chose us. I'm thrilled you were pleased with our staff. Thank you once again for taking the time to place a review of us on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here before as it is close to relative and wonderful sights of Pittsburgh. The staff were helpful and friendly. I am sure we will be here again! Among our favorite sights -- my old alma mater -- the University of Pittsburgh. If you are coming here in winter, be prepared for big, steep hills! I grew up here, but you forget how steep a hill can be until you visit Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy you chose to stay with us while visiting the University of Pittsburgh area. You are correct about steep hills! Did you get a chance to use our free shuttle service so you didn't have to climb the hills? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to reminisce while visiting our area. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor!
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Yorker
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went down to Pittsburgh to help my son move into a new apartment in the Squirrel Hill/ Oakland area. I have often stayed at the other Hampton Inn in Pittsburgh but never at the University Center. This one is very much like the others which are always clean, modern and convenient.

If you have a child attending U Pitt, Carnegie Mellon University, or Duquesne you should consider this location. For me this was a "work 18 hours moving" and fall asleep trip. There doesn't appear to be a pool at this location but there is a fitness center. There is very easy access from Boulevard of the Allies and Forbes Ave...lots of places to eat. Breakfast is included as is the case at all of Hampton Inns I have stayed at (Notice I said included and not free..somebody paid for it and I am sure it was me somehow or somewhere) but if you have to go out and buy a breakfast this is very convenient and already included. Parking is cheaper than other downtown hotels but Cranberry and McKnight Rd do not charge for parking..so is it better to drive 15-20 miles each way or pay for parking.

The staff was very nice and always helpful..front desk and the folks taking care of the breakfast buffet. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have the chance to plan ahead do so.....I had checked the week before incase he wanted to mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzottola, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Greetings,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you decided to try our hotel and glad you enjoyed your stay, even though you were busy the whole time moving your child into the area. Yes, we are very convenient for anyone going to the local universities as we are the closest Hampton Inn for Pitt, CMU, Duquesne, & Carlow. I'm delighted to hear the staff treated you well and provided good service as well as you finding our hotel clean. We hope to see you again when visiting the area. Thank you once again for taking the time to place your review of us on Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Zottola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center

Address: 3315 Hamlet St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn University Center
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.