We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rebranded property.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4859 McKnight Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice rebranded property.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Check in was a breeze. Management was training a new employee and both desk clerks were fast and friendly after a very long day. This property gets an A+ for trying to improve a very old building. The room was large and very clean, as was the lobby, the hallways, and the breakfast area. The only thing I can really complain about is the one elevator is scary. At the fourth floor going up, it constantly misjudged the floor - often moving up and down a few times before the doors opened.

I have previously lived in the area for years and would highly recommend this hotel over the other properties on the McKnight Road corridor. It is MUCH easier to get in and out of - especially during rush hour. It is high atop a hill in a VERY quiet area away from the main highway. Turn left at BP or at Staples and go through the shopping center - it's not as hard to find as some say it is. You have very easy access to Ross Park Mall, nice restaurants that has something for everyone, and are in a "good" area of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are glad to hear about your "excellent" stay with us! Glad to hear our staff went out of their way and made sure your stay with us was the best. Also, we are very glad to hear our changes to the hotel are being noticed, from hallways, to the lobby, to the guests rooms, and our new 'hot' continental breakfast.

You mentioned the elevator was constantly misjudging the 4th floor and going up and down a few times before the doors opened. We will immediately have our elevator service company take a look and make sure this is not duplicating again and make sure this is not occurring. This can be scary and unsafe for guests and we do apologize you had to experience this.

Again, thank you for your great review and mentioning about all the different shopping areas, and restaurants for our future guests' to read. We would love to see you again and stay with us soon! Have a great wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    60
    53
    51
See reviews for
99
47
36
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Room key batteries did not operate, need to get another room. No luggage carts available. Water control in shower turned 360 degrees. Telephone was dead and had to be replaced. Would not return to this location, it has not improved since becoming a La Quinta. Staff not well trained in handling customer problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that you or the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

We deeply apologize about the issues you encountered during your stay from the room key batteries not operating to having the phone not working in your room. We will address these issues throughout the hotel and make sure everything is in working order before checking in a guest into a room. This can be frustrating and we completely understand.

Again, we deeply apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us directly and we promise to improve your next stay with us.

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was the nicest La Quinta I've stayed in. Everything was spotless. The beds and pillows were extremely plush and comfortable. The staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast area was beautiful and had a good variety of breakfast items. On top of that, I was able to bring my dog for free and there was a nice walking area on the side of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review. I am sure our staff will be grateful to hear about your review. I am very happy to hear that all areas of the hotel was "spotless" during your stay with us. I will ensure our staff is aware of your review and their hard work. Also, all our beds have been replaced with new pillow top mattresses and new pillows, which ensures us out guests get the best nights' sleep possible to enjoy their next day. Our staff loves to see pets stay at our hotel, but hate to see them go. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you and your pet stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Spent 4 nights there. Room was not clean. Returned 2 nights after 8 PM and had to request the room be cleaned. Never left towels. Had to request each night. We had been told we would have a refrigerator and microwave when we made the reservation. Each morning we were promised they would be there when we returned. They never brought them. Breakfast was the most tasteless I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your inconvenience during your stay with us. Anytime a guest is disappointed it makes our entire staff reflect on what went wrong and try and improve so that you or the next guest doesn't have the same experience.

I would like to take the time to apologize about your room not being refreshed for two nights in a row by our housekeeping staff. I understand this is frustrating and there is no excuse for your room not being fully refreshed, two times in a row. Especially returning back to your room in the evening from an enjoyable day. This will be addressed to our housekeeping staff and determine why your room was missed twice in a row. Also, we want to apologize about the microwave and fridge not being in your room. Especially, upon your request, you were never brought one from our staff. This should have been taken care of from our staff immediately. I will address this to our entire staff and make sure our guests requests are full filled immediately upon their request.

Again, we apologize with your experience with us and we fully understand your frustration during your stay with us. I will address these issues with our management and staff and make sure these issues are fully corrected and not repeated. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your next stay with us and make sure you recieve a microwave and fridge, and also recieve your housekeeping service as promised.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A short list of the issues my fellow workers and I had to deal with while staying here:

* Stained (red!) pillows and towels.
* Dirty bathrooms and tubs.
* Breakfast was inedible, even the bacon and sausage. Nothing had flavor including the OJ.
* No refrigerators and/or microwaves in rooms as stated.
* They ran out of coffee for the rooms, they instead offered us chips (?). This was for multiple days.
* No water, not just hot water, no water pressure at all in the morning.
* Requested items where promised and never delivered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor for your most recent stay with us at La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. I understand there were a list of issues during your stay, which is very disappointing to the staff and management.

I want to take this time to deeply apologize about your stay with us and the list of issues you encountered during your stay. This is very upsetting to hear and you should have not experienced this kind of stay at any location, especially our location at the La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. After further review, we will address all issues you encountered with our entire staff. Stained pillows is absolutely unacceptable and having a dirty bathroom is also unacceptable. I understand your frustration and no guest should receive a hotel room that was not properly cleaned. This will be addressed to our housekeeping staff and will be monitored very closely day by day to ensure this does not occur again. We also want to apologize about not having coffee for the rooms available at the time of your request. For some reason, there must have been an error on our inventory which resulted in no coffee available for the guest rooms. We will research this issue as to what happened and determine how to avoid this situation again in the future. Also, we want to apologize about the water issue in the morning. We were notified about the situation and the situation was repaired that same morning.

Again, we deeply apologize about your experience with us and we fully understand your frustration you had during your stay. We will address these issues with our management and staff and make sure these issues are fully corrected and not repeated. If you have an occasion to visit this area again, please reach out to us and we promise to improve your next stay with us.

Regards,

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Room was not cleaned up after having been gone for 7 hours . Places fell they should clean vacated rooms and not rooms where guests stay multiple nights. My money is guaranteed-who knows if other people will arrive .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your most recent review for La Quinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North. After reading your review, it is very upsetting your room was not refreshed by our housekeeping staff at a proper time. I want to apologize about your room not being refreshed at a timely matter. I understand how frustrating it is when you are out enjoying the day, and you come back to the same room unrefreshed as you left it in the morning, with nothing replaced from towels to toiletries to even the sheets on the bed.

All stay over rooms should be cleaned first before cleaning vacant rooms. This is a procedure all housekeepers are aware of. This ensures every guest staying more than two nights is guaranteed a full refresh of their room the next morning. However, in this situation your room was missed for some reason. This will be researched as to why it was missed and not refreshed at a timely matter before your arrival back to the hotel.

Again, we deeply apologize about your stay with us. We wish to have you stay with us again in the near future and we promise to change your opinion about us and make sure your next stay with us is more outstanding than the first.

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- General Manager
Scott Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After a long day on the road than and football game, this room was fabulous. Very comfortable bed and a very clean room and bathroom. Will stay again! Great deal too! Was also happy with the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your most resent stay with us. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. Our guests are our number priority and to make sure your stay is as pleasant as it gets. We are happy to hear your stay with us was as pleasant as can be. We would love to have you stay with us again! See you very soon and have a great day!

- Vik Patel
Guest Relations Manager
- Scott Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North

Address: 4859 McKnight Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15237 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaQuinta Inn and Suites Pittsburgh North is a home away from home for all travelers. Located in Ross Township, it is very close to all sporting venues and Ross Park Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - North Hills Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn North Hills
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Pittsburgh North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.