We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh to your Saves list
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Westin was a very nice clean hotel. I don't think I would have spent the money on it of we didn't get it from Hotwire. One downfall was the pool. It was a lap pool instead of a leisure pool. If your looking for a hotel with a nice workout facility this is definitely your hotel to stay. The staff was very knowledge on local restaurants as to what was good and close.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Corina; thank you for your 5-star review of your visit to Westin Pittsburgh! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We get many compliments on our Westin Workout and are excited you got to experience it. Hope to see you on your next visit; until then, Feel Well, be well, be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    42
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
56
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel based on the central location to our planned events for the evening. The hotel itself was nice, in need of a little updating, but a pleasant stay. The front office staff member was very friendly and accommodating, giving us a room with a view of the river and stadiums as requested. Unfortunately the help desk clerk's attitude was a little less than desired when asked a simple question later that day. We were in walking distance to our restaurant and Consol Center where we attended a Penguins game later that evening. Parking is $20 additional, but if you get a deal on the hotel and want to save the hassle of driving around the city, then it is worth paying a little more to stay downtown. Overall it was a nice visit to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings! Thank you for your review of your visit to our property! We appreciate your kind words about the staff members, but will be sure to follow up on anywhere where the ball was dropped with service interactions. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit, however, and we are excited to have you back for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay at Westin Convention Center at Pittsburgh. Bret at the front desk was very welcoming and gave us a fantastic room with a great view. We came for a Steelers game and it is within walking distance to the field. The room was clean, great view and the bed was awesome. We would defintiely stay here again, as well as recommend to anyone going to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jessica; hello! Thank you for the glowing review about the property and our welcoming front desk associate, Bret! Truly we are happy to have him as part of the staff and so glad that he made a lasting impression on you. Thank you for the positive feedback about the guestrooms and the view. We are ready to WOW you again on your next visit! Until then, be well, be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very Friendly Staff Everyone very helpful , Very Comfortable Room, Free Wifi , and a Very Good Breakfast. We did not use the Parking facility, It is about 20 to 25 minutes to the Airport , Plenty of fast food in the area

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello, JMB! Thanks for the five-star review about your visit to the Westin Convention Center. We are glad to have exceeded your expectations with location, on-site dining, guest amenities and staff! We are happy to be your choice hotel for all Pittsburgh visits. See you on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was perfect about my stay here. The moment you step out of your vehicle you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The room was super clean and nicely decorated. Spectacular river view over looking the Pittsburgh skyline, Heinz Field and PNC Park. Best part...the room was very quiet, ultra deluxe beds that where heavenly and the complimentary hot chocolate and marshmallows that was waiting in our room after a chilly evening stroll where all nice touches. Can't beat the location, we where within walking distance of many great restaurants, bars, shopping and public transportation. Amazing hotel! Super sweet staff. Will definitely stay here again the next time in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jimmy; it makes us so happy to hear that you and your family had such a delightful stay - especially with the extra treat in your guestroom! We are happy that you found us to be at such an easy and convenient location to all of the Pittsburgh local hot spots. We love that about our property! Hope to see you and the family on the next visit. Be well, be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Westin this past weekend and had the greatest time. Everyone we came in contact with was very welcoming and polite. Rachel (very nice and knowledgable about the hotel) checked us in and let us know we received a complimentary upgrade - our room was beautiful! It was spacious, comfortable, and spotless (I am very picky, especially about the bathrooms). We went to the Pens game and Tim drove us in the complimentary shuttle. We loved him! He took us right to the door and picked us up right there too which was awesome being that it was extremely cold, windy, and rainy. Bret checked us out and he made sure everything was perfect during our stay and that we did not have any concerns or complaints (we definitely did not). Definitely would recommend this hotel… great staff, clean, and close to everything in Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bethany; thank you for such a kind review about your recent visit at the Westin Pittsburgh! We are delighted to hear that it was such a great experience for you. Truly, Rachel, Bret and Tim are assets to the hotel and we will be share to celebrate their win. If you and your kind husband decide to visit us again in the near future, we will be sure to top this stay as well. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the prices charged I felt the value was not as expected. Even with the preferential prices as part of a big conference value for the money was not there. The room decor fairly tired, no fridge nor coffee maker and I think Internet access was extra.
The location was great and the restaurants around the hotel pretty decent. The staff was friendly but you could tell the hotel was at full capacity. I would not go back.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that we did not succeed in meeting or exceeding your expectations during your stay with us here in Pittsburgh. All rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, so we hope that there is not one potentially missing from your room. Refrigerators are also complimentary upon request. Although high-speed internet is a charge, our Wi-Fi is complimentary your entire stay. We will follow up on your reservation to see where the miscommunication was. Thank you again for your feedback; hopefully you return in the near future and give us a second chance to show you how great a property and experience we can be! Be well, be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the business and cultural district, guests at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh have easy access to a variety of local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.