We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (if you aren't just here for sports)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Save Saved
You added The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Massillon, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location (if you aren't just here for sports)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time at the property, or any Westin for that matter. Room was very comfortable and had some SPG perks already inside. The pool and the steam room on the 4th floor were also extremely nice to relax in in the afternoon.

The best part of the property is it's location right in the middle of everything you'd want to do in Pittsburgh. We normally are in town for sports and stay on the North Shore, but it was nice to be able to walk down to the strip district and also be able to walk to PNC park. Hotel shuttle will take you there as well as Station Square which is a little longer hike.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
36
38
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Exhausted, after a 7 hour drive and a late check-in, I found myself on the same floor as a group of drunken party-goers who were roaming the halls of my floor. Over the course of an hour and a half, I called the front desk night staff 3 times to complain. They did nothing until my fourth phone call, when a security guard finally appeared. The obnoxious noise finally stopped after 3:15 am. Later that morning when I left my room, I encountered other angry guests as they came out of their rooms bleary-eyed.

After complaining in person to the front desk later that morning, the front desk supervisor sent me a note of apology, a half bottle of wine with snacks, and comped my room for my sleepless night. What great customer service! Well done. Now the night staff needs to be trained.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience from the Westin Pittsburgh with us. While we are so very sorry that your stay was first disrupted, we are so glad that the Front Desk Supervisor on duty was able to really turn everything around for you so that you could enjoy the rest of your visit! Rest assured that we will use this experience as a training tool moving forward and also really celebrate the great feedback on our service recovery as well. Hope to see you again soon for another great (and more quiet!) stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a girls reunion. Was skeptical at first, as usually the hotels near convention centers are usually situated away from the downtowns, in sketchy neighborhoods, etc. The convention center and all the stadiums are in walking distance, and the hotel has a shuttle which will take you to most anyplace you want to go. Cabs in Pittsburgh are not all that pricey so that's a good bet to get to the inclines, Mt Washington or anywhere the van won't take you.
My favorite amenity of all though was the pool. The attendent at the health club was friendly, and you can borrow just about anything. It was amazing doing back stroke and seeing the highrise buildings thru the skylights! Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh. We are thrilled to hear you had a nice girls weekend and were able to take advantage of the local attractions and the Westin Workout and pool! We hope that you choose us for your next girls getaway! Thanks again.

Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel staff has the great skill of personalizing service for large groups. It's an Ideal location for scenic views, great food, and easy access to sporting events. The Garden Writers Association and the Westin were the perfect team for the 2014 Symposium.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views. Ask for the river/stadium side of the building.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the green option available to decline maid service/linen replacement every day. The key slot system to activate the air conditioning and lights while in the room was another good idea.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Westin Pittsburgh for your convention! We were pleased to host the Garden Writers and look forward to your return. The hotel and staff are so happy that you were so pleased with the location and food choices and we will be sure to share and celebrate with our teams. The Westin Pittsburgh is so glad to have been able to personalize your stay with us. Again, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We've stayed at this hotel many times and the experiences have been quite good - what you would expect from the Westin brand. Things are predictable - that's good news in terms of the bed, linens, and general configuration of the bathroom. Also, the food choices in their 2nd floor restaurant are much better than average. The hotel is in an excellent location - it's easy to walk to many downtown sightseeing spots. In our most recent stay, the hotel definitely was crowded with convention/baseball traffic - and all was running smoothly. Our room was serviced promptly and the valet parking worked fine. My main complaint would be the air-conditioning in the warm months - lobby way too cold and the rooms are set at a freezing temperature before you get there. Hard to understand how any hotel is "going green" while wasting so much energy. Minor complaint - don't know why they moved to a rain shower head instead of the old two shower head system (not everyone wants to get their hair wet every day).

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: As indicated, the air-conditioning does not seem environmentally friendly. Otherwise, there is a recycling can and the default of not changing bed linens unless you request it.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 5 days ago
First, thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and the Westin Convention Center. We truly value feedback, both positive and constructive, as we try to continually improve along the way. It is a goal of ours for all of our guests to leave our hotel with a positive and lasting impression and we hope we did just that! We will certainly make sure our management team is aware of your concerns so that they can be properly addressed. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a restful and refreshing stay.

Be Well, Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas CIty
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Pittsburgh is a great hotel. I come to Pittsburgh 2-3 times a month on business and have stayed at a number of hotels across the city. Since discovering the Westin it has become my home away from home in large part to the staff. The Westin staff are phenomenal especially Rachel D. and Amy H. These two women and team members have given me the finest customer service time after time. I would highly recommend the Westin for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dina G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to the Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh! We are so happy that our staff went above and beyond to suit your needs! Rachel and Amy truly do go the extra mile to suit our guests needs and we are so happy to hear the praise for them. We cannot wait until your return visit with us. Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights. Every employee I cam in contact with was very helpful and pleasant. We were upgraded to a corner suite upon check-in which was greatly appreciated. The room was very clean and kept well stocked every day. Nothing has to be said about the great westin beds. They are very comfortable. I did not eat in the restaurant but I could see it was very popular. I hope a can return to this westin soon.

Room Tip: The higher up the better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel offers a 500 a night bonus foe going green
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. As we strive to achieve excellence in our hotel, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests. We are energized to hear how much you enjoyed our heavenly beds and were pleasantly surprised with your upgraded room! Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you soon for a refreshing stay.

Be Well, Be Westin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the business and cultural district, guests at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh have easy access to a variety of local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.