We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Save Saved
You added The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Professional and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We passed through for an overnight while driving east and enjoyed the ease of this hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful and we did not feel like we were in a conference hotel with the exception of the elevators. The gym / pool was hyped by the staff, but in our opinion was nothing special and the pool needed cleaning. In fact the public membership actually caused a midday crush at lunchtime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    238
    141
    76
    34
See reviews for
111
114
49
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Pittsburgh for two nights in early March for an industry conference. Our group found the hotel easy to get to, and convenient to other areas of the city, including the convention center.

I found that my room needed a little extra attention:
-nightstand, clock and tv remote were very dusty.
-the tv channel listing was difficult to find
-the hairdryer in the bathroom was very weak, and the plug repeatedly fell out of the outlet.

Some notes in the "plus" column:
-I didn't have to wait long for the elevator
-the rooms were spacious, and the bed was wonderful!

I was also disappointed in the restrictions placed on wifi access in the guest rooms and meeting rooms. Frustrating!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a conference, and had a great experience. All staff were helpful and nice, anticipating our needs. I was impressed when the breakout rooms were standing room only and the staff brought more chairs immediately. The insanely expensive wi-fi on the conference floors was a hassle, though. Really liked the good gym facilities too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is descent for a business trip but it could use some updating. The carpet in the room was stained and the bathroom needed a facelift. Have stayed at other Westin locations and the hotels nicer. The staff was professional and nice. Aside from the need for updates, could hear lots of noise in the hallway which was a little distracting at night. Overall not a bad place for a conference business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked it out as a possible conference site and found the hotel to be comfortable and the staff very accommodating. Location next to convention center is great. Downtown Pittsburgh was a pleasant surprise. Only criticism was that the sound proofing between rooms is not as good as it should be. A family with small children moved in next door on the 2nd night and it was as if they were in the room with me. Fitness center is the best I have seen at a hotel, and there is no extra charge for it or wireless service in the rooms. That was a first for me, for a high end hotel, which usually charge a daily fee. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

not a bad place rooms needs updating. The front desk personnel were nice and as were all the employees there. If you drive be prepared to pay for parking, not free for guests. room especially bathroom needed updating counter was peeling bathroom door was all scuffed up and coming apart and the towels do smell like vinegar due to green cleaning, but not horrible heavy smell. room was a little dusty but modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience was below our standard, and we want you to know that our management team has been made aware of your comments and we are in the process of correcting the issues. We hope that you give us another chance to show you how a Westin truly should feel.

Thank you again, and be well.
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Prior to going to the Westin I read these reviews so I was a little nervous. But let me clear things up for those who may be confused like I was...The place was great! I saw nothing that seemed outdated it was clean and beautiful, the employees were very friendly from parking to front desk and even housekeeping. The towels smelled fresh and clean and the elevators seemed to run pretty fast to us so I really don't know what they were expecting. We were very please and will be back. So don't listen to all these bad reviews. Oh and by the way ROOM SERVICE IS EXPENSIVE EVERYWHERE and if you use common sense you should be fine. Thanks for everything and keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: The high up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review about your stay! We really do appreciate you taking the time to post, and we look forward to your return visit.

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the business and cultural district, guests at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh have easy access to a variety of local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.