We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Save Saved
You added The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I don't stay at Westin hotels often, but this hotel stands out for its friendly service. The hotel is in a great location and is within reasonable walking or shuttle distance away from many great areas of town and attractions. The shuttle service was indispensable. The service from the shuttle drivers, doormen, front desk, and fitness center left a lasting impression as warm and welcoming.
The fitness center staff were very helpful and suggested a promotion that they have with New Balance to use their gear during your stay for a $5 charge. I took them up on it and let me tell you, the $5 is money well spent to have clean gym clothes whenever you need and to not go home with a suitcase full of sweaty clothes.
It was a fantastic stay for my first trip to Pittsburgh. I would confidently choose this Westin for a stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about your stay, and for choosing The Westin for your visit to Pittsburgh! We are glad that you found time to explore some of the great things that Pittsburgh has to offer. The Westin is excited about teaming up with New Balance for the Gear Lending program, and we are thrilled that you found this to be convenient during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    235
    136
    76
    34
See reviews for
109
113
49
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sings7
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, it is right in downtown Pittsburgh, close to everything. Our room was very quiet, and we were able to walk around town seeing the sites (Market Square, Theatre District). It's also a good proximity to the Strip District, where there is the Heinz History Center and yummy foods of all kinds!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable visit and that you found time to explore the Strip District! Please come back to visit us again soon and explore the other areas that Pittsburgh has to offer.

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and was really happy because we used Priceline and bid for a hotel and got this one for 1/2 the regular price. We got to the hotel around 10:30pm on Christmas day. The front desk associate was extremely rude upon checking in. She acted like it was hassle to check us into our room and we were the only ones there. The room was average. The coffee bar was not fully stocked. The shower was nice, had a rain water head. The heating/ac was quiet. We always look forward to eating at the restaurant so we ate lunch there the following day. We sat at a table and ordered sushi. We had 3 alcoholic drinks, 2 salmon rolls, 1 order of salmon sashimi, 1 order of salmon sushi and a bowl of soup and our bill was $100! The rolls were tiny, the pieces of sashimi were cut in 1/2 in which they considered to be full size pieces. Our server was not great either. She asked for our parking ticket so she could validate it, but when we told her we were staying there she couldn't validate it for us. The workout center was top of the line. We didn't get a chance to use the stream room or sauna which we would of liked. We are really going to reconsider staying here again because of the rude staff and overpriced food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall, we were very pleased with our one-night stay at the Westin. We got an early check-in with no hassles. Our room was nicely outfitted, beds were comfy, the bathroom was spotless and the shower was great. Front desk staff was very gracious; in contrast, the wait staff at a private buffet brunch in the ballroom was borderline surly. Only other complaint involved the long waits for elevators. For some reason, only two of the five elevators were running and the place was full! This made for a lot of stress for people trying to stay on schedule.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. Your comments have been passed along to our management team, and we very much appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you had a nice stay, and we hope that you come back to see us again soon.

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel just before Christmas along with family members. The hotel is positioned in the heart of Pittsburgh surrounded by large corporation buildings, the new Steelers stadium and very close to the Strip District's street market full with restaurants and little shops.
The staff was professional and welcoming and the rooms were very clean in a typical Westin Hotel setting. Hotel parking and restaurant were pricier than expected. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view - the lower ones have no view at all - stay above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin for your stay around the holidays. We appreciate your review, and are thrilled that you had a good experience. Please come back to stay with us soon and visit more of the Pittsburgh attractions that are located within walking distance.

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

in town with the family for the last Steelers game, quiet weekend so I pricelined and got two rooms at the Westin. Experience from check in to check out was great. Valet parking; not crazy expensive, in and out privledges, and great service. Front desk,; no line on what ended up being a busy night and friendly service. Room; standard Westin, clean, great bed, nice toiletries (likely the worst rooms in the hotel, lowest floor with views of the roof and HVAC, but hey, I did pay the priceline price). Restaurant; had the breakfast buffet, lots of folks for the game, really nice server, decent food.
All in all, considering the crowds (the Cleveland Browns were staying there as well) a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay for a Steeler's game. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way to and from Louisville for the holidays. We were looking for a good hotel that would allow a small dog and this was really the only option we could find that seemed a tad more upscale than other hotels/motels that welcome animals. I have always appreciated Starwood hotels for this option and I truly think it shows forward thinking for more and more people who want to stay in decent accommodations with their pets. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff and appreciated the fact that we were not charged an automatic pet fee; instead we signed a waiver that stated we'd pay for cleaning costs IF our pet damaged the room in any way. Many hotels charge you a hefty fee right off the bat if you have a pet, so I definitely upgraded my rating due to this "benefit of the doubt" policy.

The hotel is enormous with a couple of restaurants to choose from and my husband enjoyed the fitness center for a run one morning. If you forget your gym clothes/shoes they'll gladly rent them to you so there is no excuse! We ordered room service on a couple of occasions and it was good, but overpriced. Then again, when is room service NOT overpriced? While the room is in need of some refreshing (and I believe they are in the process of doing so), it was indeed comfortable. The shower was fantastic--complete with a rain shower head and handheld nozzle. The towels need an upgrade, though, as they seemed to have seen better days. We liked the bath products and were even tempted to buy the soap in the shop downstairs. Without a doubt, our favorite part was the bed which was exquisitely comfortable. Not too hard, not too soft...just, well, perfect. As I've said before, all that really matters to me is a good shower and a great bed and, well, this place had both.

The only other suggestions I would make would be for a larger TV (the one they had seemed quite small compared to other hotels I've stayed in). I'd also request that they check into the plumbing, as the water would run often (and noisily) when other nearby rooms utilized their showers and toilets. It even woke us up once or twice during our stay.

All in all, though, it was a great place to stay with our dog in tow. Kudos to Starwood hotels for realizing that pets are part of the family and deserve nice accommodations as much as their human counterparts!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca T, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review about your stay with your dog! We are indeed pet friendly, and we even have Heavenly Dog Beds available for our four-legged visitors. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay, and we very much appreciate your feedback. Please come back to stay with us soon, and bring your dog too!

Be well,
Becca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh

Address: 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the business and cultural district, guests at The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh have easy access to a variety of local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Hotel Pittsburgh
Westin Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Convention Center Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.