We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest Filled Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Priory Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Woodridge, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rest Filled Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Priory Hotel is a welcomed change from all those cookie cutter mega chains. A former monestary,Priory offers its guests character from the past. Rooms are clean and comfortable with all the modern touches. Take the opportunity to enjoy a drink or sandwich on the back patio area, and meet fellow guests. Don't miss morning breakfast, their continental breakfast offered a wide assortment of pastries, cereals, and fruits. Parking in the area can be a challenge, Priory offers off street parking across the street from the hotel, if filled; they have a second parking area around the corner... so you should find parking easily. Priory is an enjoyable stay with great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    111
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
55
230
37
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were in town for a couple of evenings and the Hotel was located perfectly for all of our needs. The shuttle was a huge benefit. Rooms were super clean. We will definitely stay again and recommend. Old architecture kept alive. The outdoor sitting area is very nice. Didn't get to see the fountain run (cleaning time).

Room Tip: The original part of the hotel have smaller rooms. New addition are a little larger for longer stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the north shore, so you do need transport if going into and out of town regularly- however the hotel shuttle is fantastic in dropping you off and picking you up when needed. We walked a couple times from downtown however it is a bit too far to do every day. The hotel is really close to the Andy Warhol museum. The breakfast is pretty good with cereal, fruit and toast. The gym is pretty basic but enough for a quick run or some weights. The room is pretty big large and period style complete with random creaky floorboards and thinner walls. Everything was very clean, well kept and front desk very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Priory is a lovely hotel which was converted from a priory within a few blocks of downtown Pittsburgh. It is not for everyone; if you prefer modern hotels, it would probably not be for you. There are beautiful details within the hotel that you would never see in a new building and the negatives I would have to say are primarily small things.

A major positive to this hotel is the wonderful staff. Every encounter with them was totally positive and incredibly caring about my comfort. One of the front desk associates went out of her way to make me a cup of coffee in the middle of the afternoon with their Kuerig machine in the lounge area.

The shuttle service was fantastic and took me various places in the downtown area. The neighborhood near the hotel is a bit transitional, but I never felt in danger, and with the shuttle, never had to walk to and from my car at night.

The small items which could be easily fixed with more attention to maintenance. For example: the water fountain in the workout room was empty, so I mentioned that to the front desk and it was full by the next morning, but the spigot was not functioning. In addition, the carpet in my room was stained and the bed was okay, but not "excellent," however, I had chosen one of the smaller, cheaper rooms, so I'm sure the other rooms might have been more recently renovated. They were some annoyances with noise (cleaning and repairs) during the day, which normally wouldn't have bothered me, since I'm not usually in a hotel room during the day, but my schedule was different during that trip.

The breakfast was simple but good and the only negative was the pastries looked store bought. I loved the fact that there was an old looking radio playing NPR and not a dozen TV monitors in the breakfast area.

I could see that you could easily fall in love with this hotel and never want to stay anywhere else when in Pittsburgh!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Interesting architecture, nicely redone as a hotel. Clean and comfortable. Location just so so, area is a little run down. Not very pleasant for walking around. Breakfast was not very good. Staff was ok but a little rushed and impersonal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Priory on two recent trips of 10 days each to Pittsburgh for family business. The reasonable rates is what attracted me to my first stay, and the more than pleasant experience made me look forward to return for the second time. The location is convenient to the highway, the rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable and a good night's sleep is almost guaranteed. The Hotel staff is excellent, going above and beyond their routines to insure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the bartenders, cooks and maintenance personnel, any concern I brought to their attention was handled in a professional, friendly and timely manner. In addition to their outstanding work performance, they are very knowledgeable and eager to help with questions about the local area, dining, attractions and directions to these places. I will definitely be coming back to The Priory on my next trip to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: King rooms are the most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, PA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent two separate nights at the Priory on a recent holiday weekend. The first night, I shared the large suite with my sister and the second was spent in a king room. Both experiences were excellent. The suite was huge and great value for the money. Although the king room was small, it was more than adequate. Both locations were very quiet and comfortable and clean. The building is just wonderful and they've done a great job of updating the property while keeping its historic character. Staff are friendly and helpful - the shuttle is very convenient. This was the only hotel in Pittsburgh I could find with free parking. The breakfast features pastries from the Priory's own bakery (around the corner - don't miss it) and we received a comp copy of the Pittsburgh Post Gazette, which was a nice touch. I will definitely recommend the Priory to friends visiting Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: I was nervous to get a room on the main floor, off the lobby, but it was just as quiet as the one I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.