We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Historical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Charming and Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Nineteen of us attended a retreat at the historic Priory Hotel last week-end. After checking into my lovely room I joined our growing crowd in the Monk's Bar over a glass of wine while we waited for everyone to arrive. Then we went on to a delicious buffet in the Refectory. After dinner we had our opening session downstairs in the Conference Room and then enjoyed the rest of the evening back in the lounge with the fireplace glowing. From my window looking out over Pittsburgh I enjoyed a spectacular sunrise and some peaceful moments on Saturday morning before heading to the concluding sessions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    127
    46
    21
    11
See reviews for
60
264
41
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at The Priory Hotel on a recent visit back to Pittsburgh for a wedding. Having lived in Pittsburgh for nearly 40 years, we were glad to have "an excuse" to stay in this inn, which has a great reputation. It is located on the north shore of town, convenient to downtown, the stadiums, the Warhol Museum, the Carnegie Science Center, the Avery and the Casiono. Our king room in the new section of the inn was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The wedding was on site, in the Grand Hall - beautifully appointed for the wedding service and reception. The food was good. Breakfast is included, but we did not have a chance to try the "regular" one, as the bride's parents hosted a separate brunch in another room of the Inn. We did not try the little bar area located in our section of the inn, but it looked like a nice place to have a drink or small bite. There is a fitness room on site. Our room rate, including taxes, was $205, which was discounted for the wedding, so it is a bit of a splurge, but would be a good choice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our king room in the newer section of the hotel but did not see any of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I spent a Friday night at the Priory. It was a short getaway for us. Our first experience with this hotel. Friends had stayed there and recommended it to us.

Nice room, friendly staff and excellent breakfast buffet. Assortment of fruits, cheeses, cold cut meats, as well as hot sausage and bacon, pastry's and the usual breakfast juices and coffee.

The building itself was very well kept and interesting to look at considering the historical significance of the facility.

Friday and Saturday's are prime wedding days in the next door building so be prepared for a lot of activity and people.

In the evening we had drinks and sandwich's in the Monks bar. Very good food and reasonably priced Bloody Mary's. Deana our bartender was genuinely friendly and made sure we were taken care of quite well.

Overall an enjoyable stay and would/will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be quite noisy on the weekends due to weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here during the Ravens/Steelers weekend 2011 with a buddy from Baltimore (I'm originally from Aliquippa, but live in Baltimore). I never stayed here before, but after reading the reviews from previous guests regarding the hotel being in a sketchy neighborhood, I was pleasantly surprised that there is nothing to fear. Granted, it's not "center-city", but the area is harmless (my buddy even walked to the near-by Giant Eagle supermarket at 10:30PM and lived to tell about it). The check-in staff was very helpful and made us feel very welcome.
We both reserved a room with a twin bed for two nites. The rooms were comfortable and roomy enough for our needs. In-room safes are available, but I didn't need to use it.
The website mentions a continental breakfast, but we were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast meats available along with a wide offering of traditional breakfast fare. All were fresh and well presented. The serving staff was very friendly and made sure there was plenty of everything available at all times.
The hotel itself was within an easy walking distance to both the baseball and football stadia and numerous bars. The Roberto Clemente Bridge is likewise nearby and leads to "dahntan" Pittsburgh and all it has to offer.
Granted, my stay is probably atypical due to the twin bed room, but accomidations aside, I have no problem with recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

One of Pittsburgh's great wonders in lodging. The room was new, clean, spacious and the hotel has beautiful character. We were very impressed with the staff and condition of this boutique hotel.
The Priory has become our place of choice to stay when visiting Pittsburgh. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our room was nice -- it was newer and clean. I especially liked having a mini fridge in our room for drinks and left-overs. The staff was friendly.

At one point during our stay, my husband and I were waiting for the elevator and as soon as the doors opened, my husband wanted to jump on. We almost ran over the gentleman who was trying to get OFF of the elevator. I immediately apologized saying that we thought we were the only ones in the hotel, and he responded that the hotel does give you that kind of feeling. We all had a chuckle - but it's true. It does kind of feel homey -- like you are the only guest there.

The reason that I am disappointed is because we purchased the casino package which included $50 in food credit at the casino and $10 each in free play. Because there was a Steeler home game, parking at the casino was $45 or $50 so we opted to take an inexpensive cab ride to the casino rather than pay for parking. Once there, we purchased 2 brunch buffetts (20ea) but they would not give us money back from the $50. I understood this, and just wanted "credit" back to use for a drink or at another casino restaurant. They would not issue any credit back -- you had to use the entire amout or forfit the rest. This was never explained to us. Also, the $10 in free play wasn't valid for us because we were not NEW to the casino. So, I paid extra for the casino package and then "lost out" on about $50 ($10 each in free play, $10 each way for the cab and $10 for the buffet)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
We are pleased that these guests enjoyed the hotel part of their stay. We do appreciate the positive feedback. That said, I am sorry that there were some difficulties with the Casino part of their package, and sincerely apologize that the overall stay was not as it should have been. Unbeknownst to us, the Casino changed its policies on the slots vouchers and the food and beverage certificates, which caused these guests some difficulties. We have taken steps to ameliorate this situation with the Casino so that future guests will not encounter the same problems. We did not hear from these guests directly, but would be happy to make an accommodation for them for a future stay if they contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel should be so much better. It has been lovingly restored and has a friendly, helpful staff. The free breakfasts were excellent. However, a number of things detracted from my visit. Though my room recently had been renovated, there still was a big crack running almost up to the ceiling on the wall behind my bed. On two nights, the hotel was inexcusably noisy. One night a boisterous crowd in the garden made a huge racket until 11:30. The hotel was aware that they were making a racket but obviously did nothing to stop them. The second night a reception in an adjacent hall owned by the hotel also made a disturbing amount of noise. If the hotel catered to conventioneers, these would not be pertinent issues but The Priory bills itself as an urban refuge. By the way, I wrote many of these same remarks to the hotel and they never bothered to reply.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEGraf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
I am very sorry that this guest's stay was not a quiet as we strive for, and we do apologize that this stay was not what it should have been. We take pride at our property in being an oasis from the noise and bustle of the city, and clearly that was not the case with this guest's visit. We unfortunately had a group staying with us who were rowdy and would not respond to our Front Desk staff's directives to return to their rooms and be quiet. We were eventually able to get the situation under control, but during the period of time that these guests were unresponsive, they were indeed causing a commotion. This type of problem comes up from time to time at all hotels. At the Priory Hotel, when it does we do take all available steps to put an end to it as quickly as possible. We did respond to this guest directly and offered an accommodation for his inconvenience, and offered our assurances that we will in the future be as vigilant as possible to make sure that this type of disturbance is quelled as quickly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.