We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been so much better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extra AAA Discount!
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Abington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Although the staff was always friendly and accommodating, the many little things that were wrong added up to a disappointing experience. To mention a few that the staff were able to remedy: the electrical outlet on the desk light didn’t work, the coffeemaker couldn’t be plugged in because the cord was too short, there were only two creamers, the tissue box was nearly empty, recycling under desk un-emptied (had name of previous guest on discarded key folder). And then there were: the Wi-Fi service so weak it constantly dropped out; the “first, come first served” van shuttle service which left everyone wondering whether and when they could get a ride; and - since the rooms are not sound proofed - a contentious couple who kept us awake part of all three nights talking very loudly and treating us to a knock-down, profanity-laced fight from 2:00 to 4:00 AM one night – yes we did complain, no it didn’t help. (The next morning, we were told very, very nicely that we should have called the desk again.) The central location is good, but boxed in by major roadways so it is not conducive to walking anywhere. On the positive side, the bed was among the most comfortable we have ever encountered in a hotel, the restaurant food was delicious, and the van did get us to the train on time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our service and comfy beds and are working on correcting the concerns you mentioned above. I appreciate you responding to my direct email and providing me with specific information related to your stay.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    318
    151
    63
    21
See reviews for
233
194
51
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Even though we got mixed up coming into town, The hotel is right in downtown Pittsburgh,but right on the edge, close to on and off ramps for the highway, walkable to the new hockey arena (Penguins fans note!) and downtown but best of all, they have a shuttle bus that takes you and picks you up from various downtown locations by request! That's how we got to the Warhol Museum across the river the next morning. Staff were very helpful, friendly, gave us our warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival (yes!). the room was great, clean with two queen beds, and, best of all for us, only $103 for the night, taxes in, via Hotwire. We only stayed one night but I would definitely stay there again. Minor quibble was $20 for the valet parking, but shuttle more than made up for it. Pittsburgh is a great town and I would have like to explore it more. As it was, we got to the Carnegie Art Museum (open late on Thursdays and a $10 cab ride away in Oakland near all the universities) and the Warhol - both must sees. Also, the restaurant (the Grill?) at the hotel was very good. Not especially cheap but quite good! Oh yes, and free WiFi!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
We are thrilled to hear of your experience at the Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh – City Center. Our foundation is built on providing excellent service and we appreciate your recognition. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Stephanie Mascullo
Front Office Team
smascullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here and were very impressed with the hotel. It was a great location and an easy walk to PNC park. The room was huge and very clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it came with a mini fridge, pull out couch bed, large bedroom and bath and two TVs. The staff was friendly and the parking was nice. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Thank you for sharing your great review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

In town for a wedding and love staying here. Beautiful lobby, spacious suite & free shuttle for a 3 mile radius. Nice restaurant and 7-11 downstairs for snacks.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed our newly renovated ballroom for the wedding - don't forget to "tag us" on facebook when you post your photos.

Regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The exterior of the Doubletree and its location at a major intersection probably turn off the drive-by traveler who is not a Hilton rewards member. However, I purchased my stay through Hotwire.

The hotel is lovely in on the inside. My room was very pleasant. My only complaint is the lack of a mini-fridge in the room. The hotel provides a free shuttle to locations around the city and is located right next to a subway stop. Who knew Pittsburgh had a subway?!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
We are always honored to read reviews posted by seasoned travelers. We truly appreciate your comments and want to let you know that we do have refrigerators available upon request for our standard rooms. All our suites do have both a refrigerator and microwave.

Should any future guests have any questions or concerns in advance of arrival, please don't hesitate to contact me by email for assistance.

Regards,

Michael O'Donoghue
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Frequently traveling alone, or with small children, this hotel offers a very convenient pull-in valet parking option. No wandering through a dark lot in the rain ... the friendly staff will greet you and park your vehicle and it is just steps to the elevator and front desk. Warm cookies offered on arrival and on return visits, you will be greeted by name. A complimentary van is offered for local destinations. Rooms are clean and quiet, beds very comfortable. On our last visit, we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite ... pretty luxurious for two of us, but it was great to have two bathrooms! Highly recommend the Hilton Honors program, which this hotel is a part of. Upgrades and excellent service are the norm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and the Hilton Brand and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

It's difficult to beat the location of this hotel, which is within reason of everything in downtown Pittsburgh, and walking distance of the new arena. The view on upper floors is excellent. Housekeeping does an adequate job. The valet service is prompt (once you figure out how to get into the hotel, which requires the use of the garage, a poor design). Front desk service is prompt, efficient, and polite The 7-11 is a unique touch and is well stocked ( it is not open 24 hours, though, which is a bit of a short coming in my book). Breakfast is acceptable. Check out time is noon (which I view as a plus) and the business center's services are complimentary, also a plus.

But the rooms. The living room furniture in our room was old and well worn. The bathroom is not appropriate for a person of size, is not well ventilated and does not appear to have had it's ceiling repainted since the 1980s (cigarette stains and fading are evident). This is an aged building and it shows, with bubbled wallpaper, carpets with little padding, a cramped bathroom and an aging air conditioning unit, whose functioning barely qualifies as adequate.. The room itself does not have separate air conditioning units for the living and sleeping areas, which is unusual for a Doubletree. The rooms are not well soundproofed. Wi Fi is free and excellent, even on upper floors. The bedroom has a relatively comfortable, but stiff bed. If hard beds give your back trouble, this Doubletree is no different than others in that respect.

The recommendation question is 'yes or no', to which I would give a qualified yes for staying here. You could do much worse, but the cost/benefit curve beyond, say $149 a night or so (considering you're downtown) is dubious.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerPit, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at the Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh – City Center.

As mentioned, we are ideally located within walking distance of major department stores, restaurants, the cultural district, and sports venues. We strive to achieve 100% satisfaction and appreciate your acknowledgement of our impeccable service.

We are currently in the planning stages of a Guest Room refresh and we look forward to rolling out our new design shortly. In the interim, we have started to upgrade both our guest room TV’s and Bedding Package to enhance our overall guest experience.

Warmest Regards,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Desk Manager
smascullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.