We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Help for Business Traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extra AAA Discount!
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
California
1 review
“Fantastic Help for Business Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were in town for the P&G Gymnastics Championships and needed a place to record the podcast. With almost no warning the friendly staff found a PERFECT meeting room our recording, complete with water and warm cookies! They checked in on us wihtout interrupting the recording. We were blown away by their hospitality, swift problem solving and kindness. We will absolutely stay here again and look for DoubleTree hotels for future trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear GymCastic,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    318
    151
    63
    21
See reviews for
233
194
51
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business. I loved the warm cookies that you get when you check in and they let me check in early as i needed to attend a meeting in the hotel within the hour. Best part about staying at this hotel, you were within walking distance to Market Square so you had plenty of food choices and shopping. The casino is within 5 miles and the shuttle will take you there within certain hours. Best part is that you don't have to buy from the hotel store and pay crazy prices, there is a 7-Eleven attached to the hotel with NORMAL prices (convience store price). I had a nice view of downtown and it was a pretty comfortable stay (comfortable bed). I had one of their upgraded rooms, which had a really trendy chair that i was able to sit and gaze out at the view. Flat screen tv with the usual channels (mostly sports). Hotel was far fron the airport and traffic getting in and out of downtown was terrible. I do have a few cons:

1. Parking was so expensive, it was about $20 a day (valet only). However you could go and come as much as you wanted for no additional fees
2. Bathroom was really, really small. However the shower was definitely great.
3. Elevators were always busy, had to wait quite a bit for an elevator at certain times of the day
4. Organic restaurant in the hotel was just okay. I ordered a bacon burger and they burned the meat.

I will say that their Carrot Cake in the hotel restaurant was to die for. It was so moist and fluffy.

All in all, this was a pretty good stay and since my meetings were in the same hotel I really didn't need to leave for anything. Hotel staff was very pleasant and welcoming, they definitely made the visit worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room, not all of their rooms have the upgraded amenities. I stayed on the Hilto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear HappyDiva,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel needs significant infrastructure in the rooms and is not up to Doubletree standards nor to your competition in downtown Pittsburgh. The curtains, carpet, doors, fixtures were old, worn and very unimpressive. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Paul S.,

Thank your review. Please accept my apology for the concerns with your stay. We are currently in the process of renovations and we will keep your comments in our thoughts as we move forward.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Friendliest staff I have experienced anywhere - I mean from the front desk, to the room service runners, to the cleaning staff. Ernesto (manager) leads by example and was very accommodating. Very clean. Great organic restaurant. They even serve Starbucks - great way to wake up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Rob H.,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The staff made this visit worth it. They were all attentive, super courteous, and supremely service oriented - just what I look for from my hotel staff. I was upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite, which is enormous! It could use a few more furnishings in the shared living area and a little updatng, but it was nice to stretch out in a downtown location. Breakfast accommodations were also nice; you can choose the buffet or have a more traditional sit down experience. Parking was a typical valet experience - a little rushed, but the staff were all very professional and made it as good as can be expected when unloading a family of 5. I would easily stay here again. Thanks for a great Pittsburgh stay, Doubletree!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Donovan M.,

Thank you for your review! We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

All staff will make an effort when ever requested Lobby Staff was very helpful when requested by a couple from your Hotel in locating an address downtown, showing them the shortest route walking from Hotel to their destination.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear David M.,

Thank you for your review! We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is well positioned downtown Pittsburgh. Check in was prompt and they had plenty of their signature cookies. The exercise room is one of the nicest I have ever seen at a hotel and they had an outstanding indoor pool. Everything was well maintained and clean.

On the downside, the beds were terrible (seriously terrible) and parking was a nightmare. There is a small street next to the hotel where you can pay .25 per 5 minutes...if you can find a spot (the street fits maybe 12 cars). When we came back to the hotel that evening, our intention was to park in the hotel garage (2nd floor). However, it was very tiny and completely full (I can't imagine how this doesn't get full by 2pm).

So, we were directed the underground parking garage across the street. To get from the garage to the hotel, you exit through the lobby of the building about 1000 feet away. However, there is no straight path from the lobby to the hotel...you need to walk around the building's courtyard and then back up the hill about 1000 feet. I had the joy of doing this after dark with my wife and two small children. I wouldn't walk downtown with my friends not to mention with my wife and two small children. In Ohio, we have concealed carry permits. At that moment, I wish I was back in Ohio.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prith S, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ahhnutz,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies in regards to the parking. We are currently looking at different options for parking. We look forward to being at your service again.

Regards,

Ernesto Breijo
Night Manager
412 281 5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.