We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to both Pittsburgh and Doubletree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Limited Time 20% Off!
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“First visit to both Pittsburgh and Doubletree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

From the minute I booked the Doubletree everything was perfect. I actually booked 2 nights but due to my flight being cancelled I only had one night. Communication before I arrived with Stephanie was exceptional, thank you. The location was perfect for a visiting tourist. The staff were lovely when I arrived, and when taken to the room I was very surprised. It was a nice size, great view and it contained everything you needed. I had a wonderful sleep in the fantastic king size bed. Breakfast was delicious with home made pancakes, cereals, hot food, fruit, bagels and pastries. The Starbucks coffee was unexpected but just what I liked. Again it was a lovely first time visit with excellent staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Scottishperson,
Thanks for sharing your experience. We are always honored and privileged to receive reviews from a tripadvisor.com Top Contributor.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    350
    160
    68
    23
See reviews for
253
218
54
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Worked with Linda and her team starting in early January to host our Baseball team from Toronto for a tournament in Beaver Falls, PA. It could not have been more perfect. The Hotel is amazing, the staff in every department are incredible and unlike most hotels the restaurant is amazing. The service was perfect and the food is awesome at great prices. They took care of every detail, the rooms are great, the pool is fantastic and everyone cared to ensure our stay for two nights was memorable.

It was a very busy weekend in Pittsburgh with the Pirates, Penguins and the Marathon all going on. The valet even took special care to ensure our team could find a route out of downtown to our Sunday morning game. Thanks Double Tree Downtown Pittsburgh..you guys rock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Matthew,
Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed hosting your group and hope that we will have the pleasure to work with you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, N.J. USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed everything, The welcoming cookie was delicious. My room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Wonderful choices at breakfast and our dinner on our last night was delicious. I was with Green Mountain Tours from May 8-11. All the staff were warm and welcoming. Altogether, a delightful visit. I had stayed at DoubleTrees in the past and always found them very good.
Sabina Sicklick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Sabina,
Many thanks for sharing your groups experience on Tripadvisor. Our team really enjoyed meeting and taking care of your group. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall I didn't like the quality of the hotel. It was BASIC. There was a small fridge & microwave in the room, but they didn't change the sheets everyday, I guess to be environmentally friendly. The hotel was centrally located and had a 7-11 attached for convenience. I guess there was some good and some bad but overall ok.

Room Tip: My room overlooked heating and air conditioning ducts, terrible view. The bed was not very comforta...
See more room tips
Green Features: The garbage cans were not lined with plastic, there was a seperation of garbage, and recycleables. I guess they tried to save on cleaning because my sheets weren't changed for the 3 nights I stayed there.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Tanya,
Thanks for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Director of Hotel Operations
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
412-586-1866
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

OK as a location for walking to Pittsburg sites, metro on corner right outside. Characterless hotel which lacks central spaces to meet friends. A Conference hotel. Service in bar slow. Better food available in neighbouring area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We checked in very late on Thursday night for Fleetwood Mac concert on Friday. The first room was small (have a broken leg with crutches) - asked to be changed to ADA room. It was perfect. Large enough to maneuver around with crutches - easy to access the shower - and close to the elevator. The pool was great - covered and easy ADA access if you needed it. The lobby is very nice. The shuttle service was very helpful. They dropped us off curbside at Consul Arena and offered to pick us up (even though it was past the shuttle service hours). We decided not to call, but walked back - and even on crutches it was pretty close. The room was pretty standard as far as decor, but the proximity to the arena was the reason we selected it. Good experience - front desk has hot chocolate chip cookies anytime you would like them. Parking was 24 per night added to the room.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little smaller than I'm used to. I would ask for a large room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice anything that made this hotel environmentally - friendly - other than the usual signage that says something about the towels.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I enjoyed the stay. We had our Conference at your hotel, we were well accommadated. I greatly recommend this hotel if you are in the area and have need for a place to conduct a Business Conference, this is definitely the hotel that you will want to consider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.