We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visits to Duquesne University and staff are very friendly and helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for visits to Duquesne University and staff are very friendly and helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great location for visits to Duquesne University. Easy access in/out. Staff well trained, friendly and helpful. Workout facility nice roomy size with decent equipment. Pool area is pretty. Convenient restaurant on site. Warm cookies upon arrival are a nice plus. Lobby is pleasant. Rooms nothing special but certainly clean and comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located in walking distance to Duquesne University, and many other Pittsburgh area businesses and attractions. We take pride in providing each of our guests with clean and comfortable accommodations and hope to welcome you back to the Doubletree by Hilton soon with our famous warm cookies!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
Front Office Manager
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    293
    139
    52
    20
See reviews for
212
179
48
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Due to my Hilton status I was upgraded both weeks which was very nice but both rooms were less than ideal. The first room the furniture was old and broken down. The dresser drawer came right off the tracks and landed on my foot and when I sat on the couch the cushions sunk down into the frame. The bathroom was very small with no counter space. The second room had a funny smell but was very large and had large bathroom with the sink outside the bathroom area.
They mentioned remodeled rooms so I am hoping these rooms are marked for a makeover. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good but higher priced than the allotted per diem for Pittsburgh. I will give it another try and see if a remodeled room is better.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here recently for one evening mainly because it was close to a customer that I was visiting. DoubleTree hotels are generally pretty nice, and so I selected this one over some of the others in the area based on past experience with the brand.

I was favorably impressed with the hotel. My room had been recently remodeled and it was very clean. It had a decent-sized flat panel TV with HD programming, a coffee maker, and a very nice bathroom with a granite counter top. The hotel was quiet and I had a really pretty view of the river.

Hotel staff were all really helpful and friendly, and breakfast in the restaurant was very good as well.

I would definitely stay here again, and I'd highly recommend it to others.

Oh, and the famous chocolate chip cookie at checkin was really, really awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown for your recent stay in Pittsburgh. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back with our famous, warm cookies in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Masullo
smasullo@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This property is located right downtown within walking access to the convention center. Everyone was fairly helpful at the front desk. My first room was located on a corner and smelled of strong cleaning solution (Not good). Also 3 of the blinds in the room were broken and stuck in the down position. There are not many windows in these rooms to begin with, so it was fairly dark in mid afternoon. At my request, I moved one floor down, same style room. Blinds worked fine. Front desk mentioned these were brand new rooms. Seemed to me more like refurbished old rooms. Sink was clogged upon arrival, but made it work. The highlight of this place and most valuable asset is has going for it is Joe the shuttle driver. Because many downtown restaraunt areas are a cab ride away, you may utilize the free shuttle to get around. Our driver, Joe, was courteous and efficient. He knows a great deal about the city, felt like we were on a tour on the way to dinner.Tip him well, he deserves it. Also the gym area is clean with nice equipment. Pool area has many windows and a dome- would be great for kids. Overall- I probobly would stay here again, but from my experience I have to rate the property at just average overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a room at the Doubletree Downtown Pgh for one night, 1/12-1/13 using Hotwire. Having stayed at the 4 star rated Westin, I was not expecting the Doubletree to match up with its 3 1/2 star rating. However, I found it to be far better than the Westin. A few of the things that i loved include the super friendly check in with the front desk (Krystal), warm yummy complimentary chocolate chip cookies, the beautiful recently renovated spacious room, the super comfy and crisp clean beds, the mini Wolfgang Puck coffee bar in room, the breathtaking views of the downtown city skyline, the convenient location to many downtown attractions, the complimentary shuttle to wherever you would like to go locally, the 7-11 in the lobby, and I could go on and on and on. Also, I brought along a bottle of wine and forgot my corkscrew. After a call to the front desk, a member from housekeeping promptly knocked on our door and delivered one. Had a great experience and plan to return to this gem!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is located in Downtown, close to Consol Energy Center. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. A nice view of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for business travellers.

this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Double Tree was clean and quiet. Check-in went smoothly. The room was clean & tidy. The bed was comfortable. A nice view of the city. Close to Consol Energy Center. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Check-out was quick. The cookies were warm & VERY good!!! The only down-side...parking fee was a little steep (over $20).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;