We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel with a bad attitude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extra AAA Discount!
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“City Hotel with a bad attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

There is not one night person that works there that was happy. I am a diamond member and I got a room with a view of lower roof. Asked while checking out over the phone if they could bring my car around. They said sure and forwarded the call to the valet which then forwarded to their answer machine. Called back and they said no because of the construction.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Our sincere apologies for the less than hospitable service you encountered with our overnight team during your stay.We have addressed internally with additional customer service training and guidance. As a Diamond guest, we truly appreciate your business and loyalty to the Hilton Family of Hotels. Please contact me directly at ------- or ---- so that we can get additional information from you.

Sincerely,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    318
    151
    63
    21
See reviews for
233
194
51
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My friends and I decided to do a girls weekend in Pittsburgh and stayed at the Doubletree Hotel downtown Pittsburgh. We agreed at the end of our stay it was well worth the cost. The rooms are beautiful, the restaurant food was great, staff was kind at all times and very helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location. We walked everywhere. And let me not forget the awesome shuttle driver (wish I had his name) who was more than helpful and agreed upon our return in December to take us through the city. The complimentary hot chocolate chip cookies hit the spot along with complimentary bottles of water. We say thanks to the Doubletree hotel and staff for making our girls weekend outing awesome! See you in December 2011...!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful girls weekend in Pittsburgh. We look forward to seeing you again in December.

Safe travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
----------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel was nice but nothing special. When they told us that parking cost $20, we decided to use the underground garage across the street. The sign posted said $6 nights and weekends.

We parked the car at 7:30 pm and departed at 8:30 Monday morning. There are no human beings to collect parking payments. It is a self pay with cash or credit card.

My credit card was dinged $22 for 13 hours. US Steel gotta be making more money from parking than they do selling steel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing your parking experience. There are a number of self parking options available around the hotel. This can be ideal and a less expensive option if you do not require the use of your vehicle. We encourage our guests to use our complimentary hotel shuttle for short trips around the city. If you prefer not to use our garage valet parking, you can simply pull up to the front of the hotel, unload luggage, check into your room and park your vehicle in one of the nearby self parking garages. Our team members are happy to provide direction to alternative parking garages.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is nice, in a good location and the staff was friendly, but we had some noise issues

We used our Hilton Honor points for the stay so I was assuming we would be given a nicer than normal room location. We went to the Pirates game (a 15 minute walk and a beautiful stadium) and got back to the room around 10:30 only to encounter annoying jackhammer noise on the construction site below us.
Friday morning starting at 830, we were awakened to more very loud construction noises (power sander, loud voices, dropping of tools) on the floor above us.

While the hotel itself was nice and enjoyable, I feel that we should have at least been made aware of the potential of the noise problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Family of Hotels and apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered. PennDot are currently working on a number of bridges surrounding the hotel and are working through out the night. They have agreed to cease using the heavier equipment at midnight so as not to disturb our guests. We expect the bridge demolition to be completed by the end of August and do not anticipate any further overnight disruptions.

Best Regards..

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was at a different hotel the week before and wanted to change hotels. Both Chad Giger and Judy Costello helped me get a room and when I requested a refrigerator for medications, they upgraded me to a 1 bedroom suite.
The room was quite comfortable and the bed had much more support than the hotel that I stayed at the prior week! Excellent room service and attentive staff make this hotel delightful.
Two cons - the bathroom IS quite small. I did balance my toothbrush and brush on the little shelf over the toilet, but it worked out. The other issue was the ongoing construction right next door (on the roads and overpasses). There IS a limit to what the hotel can do for that problem! However, I loved the freshbaked cookie and the 7-11 right next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We love to hear from seasoned travellers and appreciate your kind comments. As you mentioned, our bathrooms are smaller than your typical hotel and our new room design addresses the need for additional bathroom storage space. In regards to the overnight PennDOT construction, we understand that the demo/noisy phase is almost complete and do not anticipate any additional noise there after. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The DoubleTree was absolutely wonderful! They fitness area was probably one of the the best I have ever seen in a hotel! Absolutely wonderful and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our fitness center and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I checked in very late so I only can review the room. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, I was happy. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreePitt, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your stay. We always appreciate receiving reviews from seasoned travellers and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Michael O'Donoghue
Hotel Manager
modonoghue@doubletreepgh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Doubletree Pittsburgh
Doubletree Hotel Pittsburgh City Center
Pittsburgh Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.