We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a Sunday afternoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Famous Corned Beef

Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
217 9th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-3506 (Downtown)
412-765-2244
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“On a Sunday afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Ok. Good, but not special. Help not the friendliest. Tomato on sandwich still had the core in it. Sandwiches about $1.50 too much. Must rely on alcohol sales or lunch business to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Corned Beef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a working man's bar that one comes to expect while in Pittsburgh. I made my decision to eat here for lunch after watching three cops walk outside with smiles on their faces. Make your way past the bar right in the middle of the place to the deli style counter. In the back, you order your sandwich. I had the "special." The marble rye on corned beef with all the trimmings came right off the slicer, hot. Add a bag of UTZ chips and pepsi and that was lunch. Don't expect warm smiles and touchy feely staff, this is a bar first. There were power drinkers settling down for a long day of boozing. The sandwich was warm and tasty on a cold rainy December afternoon. Not much more to it, Eat and get out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The reviews seemed to say this was such a great place so I tried it for lunch. I got the corned beef on rye with kraut. It wasn't a particularly generous sandwich and I've had a lot better corned beef in other places. Its OK, might eat here if I was in the neighborhood and needed corned beef, but I won't travel out of my way to get here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sammys!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'll spare you the detail - get the corned beef on marble rye with slaw, sauce and a cold beer. This combo is the best even if you have to pass on the beer for a business lunch. The beef is amazing, warm and delicious, piled high and just really really fresh and good. A million calories, worth every one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Sammy's has the best sandwiches in Pittsburgh. They are prepared right in front of you - whatever you want on them - you get.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Famous Corned Beef also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Famous Corned Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Famous Corned Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.