We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Restaurant near Universities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legume

Legume
214 N. Craig St., Pittsburgh, PA 15213
(412) 621-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legume is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bayard
Transit: The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.
COLUMBIA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant near Universities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Enjoyed a very nice meal at this interesting restaurant near both Pitt and CMU in Pittsburgh. It is in a storefront location and parking is difficult (pretty usual for Pittsburgh). I had a fish dish (Bass) and it was very good. Portion size was good and the sauce and vegetables added to the dish. I am not a big spread fan but the Bluefish spread was very good. Wife had a goat dish and she liked it very much. I had a bite and it resembled pot roast to me and was tasty. Other diners had pork loin and they liked it very much.

The menu changes daily and is not posted until 5pm but I think reservations are needed several days ahead so hope for the best. I think you will be able to find something good on the menu no matter what.

Male waiter was very helpful and well trained. The restaurant is split into several rooms so it is not an elegant venue but if you are looking for good food, this is the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    35
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal last night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Legume last night. We started with pepper jelly crostini - filled with a mixture of sweet, pepper, and cheese flavors. I had the striped bass with a mixture of seasonal vegetables. My wife had the roast chicken leg with potatoes. We finished with chocolate pastry. Every dish looked attractive and service was impeccable. Can't wait for my next feast at Legume!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant near universities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

They honored reservations perfectly. Enjoyed bluefish dip with toast . Escarole salad with goat cheese and bacon with bacon vinaigrette. Good warm sourdough bread. Vegetarian main course with eggplant , corn, beans and baked cornbread was excellent. Sea Bass main course with corn and beans was perfect . We topped it off with a mirangue split with strawberry jam and covered with fresh plums and whipped cream. This is a hot spot between Carnegie Mellon and Pitt with a hopping bar and $3 parking underground across the street. Small menu with large wine list nice executed by talented chef.



  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Upscale Food Without Pretention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had dinner at Legume last night. The menu changes pretty much daily and is very focused on seasonal foods as well as some unique foods you don't normally find in all but the very finest restaurants. Starters were heirloom tomato gazpacho w/ricotta, market salad (which is really just whatever seasonal veggies are w/a dressing) and an Escarole salad. All were delicious. I got a braised chicken breast with kale & new potatoes. My husband got roasted sea bass and our daughter got a goat trio; loin, shank & sausage. It's the first time I ever tried goat and it was very good. Desert was a toasted pound cake w/fresh peaches, caramel sauce and whipped cream. The portions were perfect and I left feeling full but not completely stuffed. The atmosphere is very nice - linen table cloths & napkins and nice heavy silverware. The decor is very tasteful without being boring. The service was excellent.
I'm pretty sure that the pound cake was made to order since that took longer than any of the other dishes.
In all, it was definitely worth the visit and were I to travel to Pittsburgh again, wouldn't hesitate to eat there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Solid bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Legume serves no fuss fare that is what it is: comfort food. Apparently, their menu changes every day, posted on their website each evening "by 5 p.m." Portions were just right for me. Service was polite with friendly staff. Wine list had many affordable gems, like a Chinon that worked nicely with my roast chicken main dish. All in all, a reliable spot to dine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legume also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Legume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.