We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very easy to get to sightseeing attractions. Close to the universities and easy to get downtown. The desk was very helpful in giving suggestions and directions for attractions and also neighborhoods to walk around in. The Frick Museum was very informative and lunch in the carriage house was delightful. Shopping in Shadyside was a nice change from the usual Mall shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear cincyboater:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    150
    76
    32
    15
See reviews for
173
54
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel, since my room seemed clean, and everything seemed in order for my business trip. Unfortunately my bed, which was an adjustable air bed, was too stiff, and I had to take apart the bedding to try to adjust it, only to find that the controls didn't work. Then I was awakened at 4 a.m. by a garage door that was apparently right below my room and which was opening for the garbage truck.
I did voice my concerns on the survey, but was met with blankness. Come on, let's have a little common sense--does it make sense to put anyone over a situation like this? Shouldn't that be a last resort room? And, if you're going to offer special beds, please make sure they work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear travelgirl898:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our beds and also with your room location. If there is any way I can make this up to you please do not hesiate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Hospitably yours,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was it was so clean! The lobby was clean, the elevator was clean, the room was clean. We didn't check in until almost 1 am but it was quick and easy. We were only here for a few hours, as we had to continue our drive, but I would have loved to stay longer! The little store they have in the lobby is really convenient!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear swishasweeten;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is the cleanliness of a property, and our team takes great pride in keeping both our guestrooms and public areas spotless for our valued guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit for your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

stayed here for a number of nights on and off in November 2013. The proximity to the hospital and the services provided by the hotel exceeded my expectations on a daily basis. The entire staff from the front desk, custodial and the restaurant were fantastic. This is certainly a gem in the center of Oakland and with access to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and the hospitals make it a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear CGBfromDC:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. However, I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the valet and houskeeping departments. I assure you that your feedback will be shared with our team members in order to implement corrective action where necessary.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you in the furture.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities IL, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Bed was terrible. Heating and cooling system was hotel controlled and it seemed the thermostat was just there for show. No matter what setting you placed it on, the heat went on and off at will. Sometimes getting so terribly hot you could not sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Anthony Z:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you experienced issues during your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team and as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I assure you that corrective actions will be implemented where necessary,

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Walking distance to universities but on a cold day full of sleet, we needed to use the car. Having to wait for the valet both for going out and coming in was very frustrating. Nice breakfast buffet with individually prepared hot options. Nice seating in multiple-level lobby but it was cold. Calling the hotel operator to reach others' rooms was very slow -- after we got our friends' room numbers, the system was fast and easy. Room was comfortable. Housekeeper really banged on our door to see if the room had been serviced -- it had, so we were annoyed at the loud interruption.

Room Tip: Elevators are very slow, so a lower floor would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear CGBfromDC:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place during your recent trip to the area. We appreciate your feedback, and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. We appreciate the insight so we can address and resolve the issues you mentioned. We strive to ensure all of our guests have positive experiences during their stay and we failed to deliver in your case. Thank you again for your feedback and once again my apologies.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Not up the the standard of Hilton Garden Inns I have stayed in elsewhere. The halls and the room was tired, the bed had sharp wooden corners, The desk clerks were not very helpful. It took 15-20 minutes to return a car for parking (valet only at $18/day) on a Saturday afternoon because of the setup of the entryway. But the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action. I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our valet department.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry that we were not able to deliver a memorable experience. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Hospitably yours,

Sean G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#22 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.