We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Langhorne, United States
1 review
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times. Rooms are clean, bed is very comfortable, staff is friendly, and food is excellent. Easy cheek in and out. Great location at Pitt. Front desk staff will do anything for you. I will stay there again when I return to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and also with the service you receive during your visits. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hospitably Yours,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    138
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
151
49
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is well located if you want to stay in the Oakland area. The rooms are small, and nothing special. The distance from the bottom of the bed to the dresser is about 18-inches ... just narrow enough to keep banging your shins on the wood corners of the bed! Even with Hilton Gold status, there is NO breakfast included ... except for a coffee urn in the rather small lobby. The hotel staff didn't seem to be happy that we, or any other customers, were staying there ... they could use some Hilton hospitality training. They even brought the wrong car to us when we were checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

As a loyal Hilton HHonors member you should have received extended benefits such as complimentary breakfast coupons. I do apologize for this not being the case and also for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. If there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Hospitably yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to visit our son who attends University of Pittsburgh. The rooms are clean, the hotel is well maintained and conveniently located in Oakland in relation to the university. Be prepared to pay an extra $18 per night for valet parking but parking is expensive all over this part of the city. They also serve a tray of yummy cookies in the lobby in the afternoon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Eric19067:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary cookies we over daily for our guests to enjoy after a day of travel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have stayed several times in the past year and have always been extremely satisfied except higher pricing at times. However this time since we were on the second floor right above bus stop room 220 cannot stress enough that one ask for a higher floor or a discount for that room. It is extremely noisy till the bus stops running as it seemed the people were talking in our room the window is just not sound proofed enough. Previously we have never been near the bus stop so did not notice the noise. Normally everyone at the front desk is very friendly but the night we arrived had to say change of personnel at check in made it not so. In the morning the people before called for their car and it sat right in the middle of the lane to exit for about 20 min. I would still recommend this hotel if you have to visit the nearby colleges or hospital but make sure you are well above the second floor.

Room Tip: ask for a higher level floor and not on the corner of Forbes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 4vrongo:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share information regarding your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Although I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with past experiences. I must apologize for the other issues you encountered throughout your previous stay. I assure you that the proper conversations will be had with each department head in order to implement corrective action where need be. Unfortunately, due to our urban location and high occupancy here at the hotel, outside disturbances such as the ones you mentioned can become an issue at times. Although this is no excuse for what you experienced we are able to offer you a room with a different view of the city and also one located in a quieter area of the hotel.

Once again, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered and also to thank you for bringing these items to my attention in order to ensure we can make the necessary changes. If there is anything at all that I can assist with for any future visits please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ALEXANDRIA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in town for just a short stay, but loved the convenience, atmosphere, & helpful staff @ Hilton Garden Inn! We will return to this hotel whenever we are in town. We stayed in one of the suites, and what a fun weekend it turned out to be!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and hopefully it is not due to an unexpected medical emergency. Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 800 on oct 8, 2013 and the entire evening, night, and morning we were there there was a banging noise. Maybe the pipes or something. Also the beds have a platform that sticks out past the mattresses and my wife and I were constantly banging our legs against them. We will end up with bruises. The distance between the desk and bed that you have to walk around is less than 2 feet. I'm not sure if this meets fire code in Pittsburgh PA or not. I have a need to come to this part of Pittsburgh a few times a year now and I will not be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing this feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will have maintenance look into the issues you had with your room. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you are in town, so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Chuck Heinlein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn University Place while on a recruiting trip to Carnegie Mellon University during the "Spring" (it was snowing).

Valet parking seems to be the norm in the neighborhood. When I left my iPhone in the car, the valet brought it up to my room. They were quick about fetching my car when I needed it.

Room was clean with a comfortable bed.

Lots of restaurants and bars within blocks along Forbes Street. There is a nice bar area for meeting people in the hotel. I recommend visiting the Carnegie Museum if you have time and a yen for dinosaurs, minerals and/or Art. I drove to the Carnegie Museum, and by the time I found parking, I wished I had walked.

Easy walk to Penn. You'll want to drive to CMU if it is snowing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.