We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible service across the board. Convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Incredible service across the board. Convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff at this hotel is on the ball. Kind, caring, considerate, responsive are a few words that come to mind. The property may not be the newest in town but once inside it is clean, well decorated and maintained and very convenient. You will be hard pressed to find a hotel staff that cares more. We normally will get one person at a hotel who gives a damn if we are lucky. At this place the staff and management really does try harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to our hotel and the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team. We truly do care about our guests and always look for ways to improve and be the best. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the near future. Once again thank you very much for sharing feedback regarding your experience.

Yours truly in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    151
    77
    32
    15
See reviews for
174
54
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for a conference at Pitt. The location is great - a few blocks away, and surrounded by easy places to eat.

We had a king room at the end of a hallway. The first impression was: this room is really small! If you look at the floor layout, the few rooms at the end of the hall might be smaller than the others (the way the outer wall goes in). I don't know, but the room was small.

The biggest issue was the Garden Inn bed with the adjuster dial. The dial did nothing (but it usually doesn't) and the bed was on a creaky frame and seemed worn out - you rolled to the middle. We found it really uncomfortable.

Internet was fast and easy (and free). Parking was valet only with a charge, but everyone around there was as well. No free breakfast - a $12.95 breakfast if you want to purchase it, again, like other Garden Inns.

Water pressure was good, but it took forever for the hot water to reach our room. And, perhaps most annoying, the bathroom door would automatically close. Showering created one heck of a sauna with no ventilation.

The workout room was great - newer machines, free weights.

The hotel has a shuttle (good) but it only leaves on the hour and requires reservations (not so good). Since we headed out at 7:30 am, it didn't do us any good. I'm not sure why the limitation - so many other hotels run the shuttle as-called.

Would we stay here again? I doubt it. My experience with the Garden Inn dial-adjustment beds isn't good, and valet-only, shuttle only on the hour, very small rooms and no free breakfast, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. I assure you that we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Hilton Garden is our top choice whenever we visit our daughter at the University of Pittsburgh. It is always clean, beds are comfy, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect! Hotel has recently been renovated so all furnishings are new and beds are great! Lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, where we met and/or exceeded your expectations makes our work worthwhile. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a great experience from the moment we checked in. Everyone was exceptionally helpful. The room was comfortable, clean, and perfect for a visit to see University of Pittsburgh. Upon checking in we asked about local parking for the next day. We were told not to worry, we could check our bags at the desk and leave our car in the valet parking until 6pm! What a wonderful surprise and relief that was! We were less then a mile from Alumni Hall. Being able to walk and never move the car (or pay for additional parking) was a wonderful perk! I would highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn for anyone coming in to tour any of the colleges in the area (UPitt, CMU).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. Our entire team believes in going above and beyond in order to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable experience once they enter the hotel. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the University of Pittsburgh; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your child well in their decision to becoming a PITT panther.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

One of the worst reservation experiences to date. Multiple calls to this hotel...routed to a gambling telephone number...disconnected twice...disconnected *again* before the woman on the phone with an accent that was hard to understand provided the reservation number...and after speaking with one of the managers who gave a robotic apology for the inconvenience that lacked any real understanding of the extent of this inconvenience, suffice to say that this reservation was cancelled.

Having stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in two other locations previously with positive experiences, this one certainly resulted in rethinking ever staying at this property again. Additionally, if Hilton is going to outsource reservations as a cost-containment issue, there should still be at least one, on-site reservation person available. It doesn't matter how much "marketing material" these off-shore people have -- nothing replaces having someone on-site who can answer guest questions and provide the level of service expected.

And if a manager speaks with a guest voicing the complaints voiced *and* asking about parking, complementary should have been the response if this manager was interested in the least in turning the experience around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for all of the issues you encountered while attempting to book your reservation. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action. If there is anything at all I can do to make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at any time at sean.groth@hitlon.com

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overall quality of the hotel was excellent with helpful staff and good facilities. Good value for money. Easy walk to University of Pittsburgh and we walked to Carnegie Mellon twice as well, but the hotel provides a shuttle for those who might think it too far. It is in a city and city noise (sirens, outside workers talking, dumpsters being emptied) kept me awake. I would most likely stay there again, but just a warning to those who are light sleepers - leave the AC on or use a white noise machine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is the location and the ability to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. I would like to personally apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay; however, I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit for your soon to be Pitt Alumni.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Within walking distance to the campus and plenty of restaurants. Friendly staff at the front desk. Rooms were clean. Liked having an in-room safe. I prefer to park my own car and they only offer valet parking. The valet was pretty quick and helpful. We were on a visit to Univ of Pitt and if our daughter ends up attending I'm sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. Unfortunately, due to our urban location we are limited to only offering valet parking. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the University of Pittsburgh; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your child well in their decision to becoming a PITT panther.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.