We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for CMU/Pitt graduation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for CMU/Pitt graduation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I put my parents in this hotel during my graduation last week. Overall it was fantastic except for a few little things, hence the 4 stars. You really can't beat the location and the attitude of the staff.

Pros: The staff give you the Marriott/Westin type of treatment when you check-in. The lobby is nice to sit in. Plenty of fresh cookies and fruit water is available. Our room had 2 queen beds in a somewhat cozy room but the bathroom was relatively large. Also, the physical condition of the room was pleasant; seems like the place was renovated. It's on Pitt's campus but about 1/2 mi from Soldier's & Sailor's memorial and CMU stadium.

Cons: Parking is $18/night for valet with no other options, so be prepared. (I moved their car to a friend's street for free and chauffeured them around myself.) My mom said that the bathroom was kind of dark. Lastly, I was irritated that the hotel shuttle kept taking the loading zone outside their lobby so that I had to wait for my folks in an illegal zone on the street - also got a nasty, rambling lecture from the valet guy about how he "did me a favor" telling me to get the hell away from the curb to avoid a ticket. That's what cost this hotel the 5th star for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    138
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
151
48
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and the walk ability to the University was great. Could easily come back to the room during lunch. Lobby is bright and cheerful and had a nice simple dinner in the bar area with TVs and internet access. A great way to relay after a long day a air travel. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a hot shower, extra soaps and good space. We had a large television and black out curtains. The room was perfectly made up when we returned at the end of the day. Front desk was very helpful, gave directions, arranged their shuttle to take us to a tourist site for dinner for free. Hotel was filled with parents of graduation and the ambiance was happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is the cleanliness of a property, and our team takes great pride in keeping both our guestrooms and public areas spotless for our valued guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Pittsburgh due to a medical appointment at UPMC for my wife. This was something we were not looking forward to, but the staff at The Hilton Garden Inn made use feel at ease. The staff made sure the hotel was our home away from home. From making sure we knew exactly where to go for our medical appointment to recommending a great place for dinner, the staff took care of our needs. We are definitely staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true “Home away from Home” hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pa.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a clean room, smelled great but the beds were terrible. So hard I could not sleep. There was a control to adjust firmness but did not seem to work. I would never stay here again because of that. There was a microwave and frig but no paper plates or silverware. Does not address the needs of travelers. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a hospitable experience. I would like to apologize for the issues you encounteres and hope to have the chance to make this up to you in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The shuttle valet and front desk staff were great. The parking is very expensive for the area. There really aren't any ammenities. I received a skin rash on arms and legs. I am pretty sure this was from the sheets. or BED BUGS!!! Grosse. EVen though the hotel appeared to be pretty clean. I now remember why I used to sleep fully clothed head to toe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I was able to set the temperature of the room, a very important detail for me, to the exact level I prefer for sleeping. I like it cold :) The staff was very pleasant and helpful starting with the friendly valet who parked our car to the pleasant girl who checked me in. I noticed the alarm clock radio in my room didn't work and maintenance brought me a new one within ten minutes of my calling the front desk. And at breakfast at the hotel's restaurant when I ordered pancakes out waitress asked what size I wanted them. Never been asked that before :) A good location as this place is within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and bars, and they also provide a shuttle to take you pretty much anywhere in the city. I would definitely reccommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I was able to set the temperature of the room, a very important detail for me, to the exact level I prefer for sleeping. I like it cold :) The staff was very pleasant and helpful starting with the friendly valet who parked our car to the pleasant girl who checked me in. I noticed the alarm clock radio in my room didn't work and maintenance brought me a new one within ten minutes of my calling the front desk. Within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and bars as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that although you encountered a problem with you alram clock our maintanence team was able to resolve this quickly.

Once again, thank you again for your feedback, and for your business.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.