We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Second time I've stayed there - the staff is great, and the rooms are very nice. The location is unbeatable if you are visiting the University if Pittsburgh. The must use valet parking is a little annoying but the staff there do a great job as well even if they do seem to be very busy....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Helene R:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. Our team takes great pride in making sure we offer a wonderful experience to all of our guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    138
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
151
48
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel gave us a remarkably good rate with a US government ID and is just a quick walk to both University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University campuses. The accommodations are lovely and a calm respite from the street below. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area universities, businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for over 4 years from when it was a Wyndham. The old hotel was going downhill fast. The new Hilton is much improved, updated, clean and comfortable. Although the adjustable bed does not adjust. Bring back a good mattress please. Location is great and although some complain bout valet parking, we find it very convenient, just leave your car on the ramp. Valet staff is very nice, as is all front desk staff. Of all hotels in the Oakland area this is the choice!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share information regarding your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Although I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service received from our staff, I must apologize for the issues you encountered with the current Garden Sleep System Bedding package. I am very glad to hear that you have been a loyal guest to our property and are very pleased with the renovations we completed.

Once again, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered and also to thank you for bringing these items to my attention in order to ensure we can make the necessary changes. If there is anything at all that I can assist with for any future visits please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com

Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When looking for a hotel in Pittsburgh, we wanted to find a hotel that was centrally located and close to Univ of Pitt. We found the right place. This hotel was EXTREMELY convenient to both the university and the surrounding area. Only problem is that it appears most of Pittsburgh is under construction and if you do not know where you are going, you could be sent astray.

As for the Garden Inn itself the staff was great really friendly, warm and helpful. Was initially concerned with valet as I own a large car and would not fit in garage, however valet was very helpful and parking quickly became a non issue,

Food and bar were very acceptable again staff was very friendly and willing to please.

Rooms were clean but a little outdated and slightly smaller. The beds however were terrible. the dial on side of bed did nothing. It was suppose to make the bed softer or firmer but I saw no difference, in addition the bed seemed loud every time one of us rolled it sounded as if bed was cracking in half. In addition to noise it seemed as if there was a large seam pushing up right in the middle of the mattress.

If it wasn't for the bed, I probably would have given the hotel a 4 rating versus a 3. If traveling back to U of Pitt I may try somewhere else before returning here but is required to stay here it would not be that bad of a situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the Garden Sleep System Bedding package we offer; however, am very pleased to see that we met your overall expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had some medical procedures scheduled at UPMC, and the hospital arranged our stay here. From a distance standpoint, it's appropriate. There is a 24-hour CVS Pharmacy attached, and an Arby's directly across the street.

The check-in was smooth with valet parking only available ($18/night). The lobby is a bit hard to find as one needs to pull into the valet parking to check-in. But Reception was quite friendly and accommodated our room requests.

The entire staff has been friendly and courteous. From the valet to reception to the restaurant to staff in the corridors, everyone has greeted us with kindness and hospitality. That part has been fantastic!

What is to be desired is the bed. Hard and uncomfortable. They have something called a "comfort bed" that one can regulate the firmness/softness of the bed (no one mentioned this to us, though, we had to figure it out after our second day), but even "soft" the bed is quite hard. It's a platform bed, and there's not a lot that can be done.

The space is a former Wyndam, and it's a bit tired. But by and large, it serves its purpose.

But there were three of us staying here, and each one of us woke up with a stiff neck and a sense of discomfort after a sleepless night because of our respective beds. That part was unpleasant. The staff, however, is quite pleasant---so it's an interesting balance of both.

I wouldn't stay here again because of the beds, but if someone likes a firm bed then this would be a fine place to stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great place to stay. The rooms were large and very clean. Parking is handle by valet however locating the "entrance" can be tricky if the shuttles are in front of the building. Overall great place to stay.

The restaurant is delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PrimeTimeAdam:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that we delivered a great experience throughout your stay. I also wanted to thank you for your feedback on our wonderful Garden Grill & Bar which is open daily, and will certainly share your comments regarding our cuisine with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for an event at Console Energy Arena. Airport bus ($3.25) #28x drops you on the corner outside the hotel. Tons of bus options into downtown ($2.50) as this is undergraduate central. Tons of restaurants, bars, cafes and grocery options within easy walk from hotel. We had no need for a car. CJ the hotel shuttle driver was AWESOME!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assitstant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear RJFfromCO:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to the Consol Energy Center, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. We take our scores very seriously and I will be sure to share your positive remarks with all of our team members.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.