We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms with terrible beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place) (Central Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small rooms with terrible beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting The University of Pittsburg and Carnegie Mellon University with my two sons. It is centrally located and very close to the Pitt campus. It is also close to restaurants and a gas station and a CVS is next door. The parking garage is adjacent to the hotel, but if you have an SUV that is taller than 6'2", your vehicle will not fit through the clearance beams. There is valet parking, but you still need to somehow get your vehicle through. We arrived late and our room was ready for us. Upon entering, we all noticed a strong smell of cleaning solvent. While unpacking my son took his shoes off and was walking around and stepped on a wet, stained spot on the carpet. It was from this stain that the smell was coming from. Obviously, someone had spilled something on the carpet and was trying to clean it up.The room was very small and crammed. The beds were small and definitely not queen size. They were extremely uncomfortable and was probably the worst night sleep I ever got. The room was stuffy and the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan which was very uncomfortable. We will not be staying here again in the future. I will spend a few extra dollars to be comfortable and not be grossed out with a dirty carpet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very serriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.
I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is anyway we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    138
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
151
49
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were visiting colleges in Pittsburgh and this hotel is very convenient to both University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie-Mellon University, and somewhat convenient to Duquesne University. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean and the service was very good. The restaurant was good for dinner, but we felt the breakfast buffet was overpriced and just mediocre. Most restaurants these days offer a free breakfast. Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. I do apologize for the parking charges; however, space is very limited in the Pittsburgh/Oakland area and we do our best to accommodate our guest needs. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all of your comments will be shared with all of my team member’s. I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I went for a long weekend to visit our son at Carnegie Mellon.This was our first time in Pittsburgh. The hotel was well located and easy to find in our airport rental car. Figuring out the hotel's entrance was another story. Even though HGIs are "value priced" hotels, you would expect to be able to pull up front to a covered entrance foyer, get out of the car and hand over the keys to the valet. This is especially nice when your are disabled and it is raining. We arrived ~ 11 PM, tried that, only to find no one, and a sign taped to the front door that said after _? o'clock, use ramp. The ramp is an ungodly steep affair, leading up a floor where the valets and front desk are waiting. Problem there is, the flat "landing" at the top of the ramp only fit one car. Nearly every time we returned to the hotel, the landing was taken, and the attendants would motion for us to leave the car there, and "they would take care of everything". Problem there is, I can't safely navigate steep inclines using my cane, and trying to get in my wheelchair is even more perilous.

Sooo..., we always had to wait on the ramp "next up", until the car in front was driven up into the lot, we could pull up onto the landing, where I could exit safely.

Big, unsafe, embarrassing hassle, and probably not ADA compliant.

Once inside, the hotel was what we had come to expect from Hilton...very good. One of the two main elevators broke down for a day, and our room had a noisy refrigerator. Both items were fixed within a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all comments and/or concerns will be shared with all of my team member’s ensuring we implement the correct changes to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied.
I appreciate your time and look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel.The staff was courteous, the room was clean, and it was located close to all that we were interested in doing while in Pittsburgh. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all of your comments will be shared with all of my team member’s. I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwestern US
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for a visit to Univ of Pittsburgh. Ten minute walk to most of campus. Hotel had nice beds, very clean bathrooms, decent workout room, pleasant staff. Breakfast was pricey, $12.95 per person before tax and trip. Skipped that but we found several excellent alternatives a short walk east on Forbes. (About 2 blocks east, we ate at Bruegger's Bagels- $20 for breakfast sandwich & drinks for 4) Parking was high- $18, so we parked at garage immediately adjacent (look east past the gas station and you can see the 4-5 story structure within 1/2 a block) for $9. Good free coffee in the lobby in morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all comments and/or concerns will be shared with all of my team member’s ensuring we implement the correct changes to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied.
I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here along with several professional colleagues seeking a different place to stay on the PItt campus. Perhaps due to its Wyndham heritage this hotel looks and feels more "full service" than other HGI. I did not have occasion to use the restaurant which seems to need improvement based on some reviews. However, all other aspects of my stay (and that of others) exceeded expectations and the HGI was actually priced less online than lesser competitors like the Holiday Inn Express. The room was comfortably and quietly heated, beds and pillows reasonably fresh, and the front desk/bell staff couldn't have been more courteous and helpful. It was nice to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room as well. The only issue is with whoever designed the bathroom. The door is large and heavy and there is no way to prop it open for ventilation without using a luggage item or some other heavy object. There is no fan in the bathroom so you need to do this to avoid fogging the mirrors. And I have never seen a toilet paper holder 3 feet away from the toilet (e.g. grab a handful before you sit down). Weird. But comparing these nits to a negative service experience elsewhere, I'll definitely be back to the HGI next visit to Oakland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we always strive to be the best and take your feedback very serious. I am delighted to hear that the overall service met your expectations and that you were very pleased with your overall stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I assure all comments and/or concerns will be shared with all of my team member’s ensuring we implement the correct changes to make sure all of our guests leave satisfied.
I appreciate your time and look forward to serviceing you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a wedding. Rooms were nice, clean, and modern with all the standard amenities.

However, the wedding we were with had its own, separate shuttle for wedding guests. The hotel staff knew nothing about this and led us to believe that we needed to make a reservation on the hotel shuttle, which caused considerable confusion amongst our party. The staff should be better informed of these matters.

Additionally, I think this hotel was far too expensive for what we received. $17 for valet in Pittsburgh is outrageous, especially when there is a $5/day garage one block away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very serriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.
I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is anyway we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Central Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.