We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Not the Best Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Pittsburgh City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Not the Best Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I recently stayed at the Marriott while attending a wedding in the Pittsburgh area. I booked the hotel using Priceline. It was a busy weekend, with other events happening in the city, so I could not get a room for less than $100/night.

The hotel itself was worth the price. The room was large, clean, and had a nice view. The hotel was in good condition.

I have two complaints about this hotel.

First, is the location. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I was not coming to town for an event at the Mellon Arena (which is right across the street). The hotel is somewhat isolated and there is almost nothing of interest within walking distance. I had to drive if I wanted to go to any of the sights. If I were coming to Pittsburgh as a visitor, I would stay closer to the cultural district or heart of downtown, like the Courtyard Marriott or the Westin.

Second, related to the above, is the parking. It costs like $16 a day and $23 if you use the valet. In retrospect if I had to pay so much for parking and drive everywhere I would have stayed somewhere with free parking.

The staff/service at the hotel was fine. Nothing exceptional.

Again, the hotel itself is good. But given the purpose of my trip and what I was looking to do, the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    199
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
99
99
29
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Thank goodness I had a friends and family rate, or I would've been upset staying here. The hotel itself was clean and lobby staff friendly. However, the location stunk, and the shuttle service was a joke. I was thankful they had it, saved us a few bucks, but it was very unorganized and they did everything in their power to deter you from using it (becasue they had one tiny shuttle and a hotel full of people who needed to go places). The parking is expensive, however, parking is very tough over there, so chalk it up as part of the expense. We were awakened every morning by the major construction across the street, which wasn't the hotels fault, but it just added to the negative. The lounge downstairs came in handy and stayed open fairly late, and best part, the food was pretty good.

I would say if you're paying top dollar, find something else nearby. If you can a get a good rate here, take it. It was worth what we paid, but a penny more, would've made it not so worth it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Run away from this hotel and hire another venue.
In my experience, I have NEVER encountered a hotel staff that was so hostile, unfriendly and unhelpful with a vendor for an event they host.
This hotel is unprepared to host your event (wedding, private party, cocktail).

  • Liked — valet parking by the hotel, that doesn't belong to the hotel
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was Pittsburgh for a week on business and stayed here due to its convenience to my downtown work location. The hotel is directly across the street from the Penguins' Mellon Arena, and while the Stanley Cup finals were going on while I was there, it did not detrimentally impact my stay.

I gave an overall rating of 4 out of 5 due to the friendliness of the hotel staff and its convenience to downtown locations. The rooms are standard Marriott rooms and the bar had a decent menu and also met my expectations. There is a computer terminal at the check-in desk that allows you to check in early and print out your boarding pass should you wish.

My only real ding on this property was the fitness room situation. They are in the process of renovating the normal workout room and have moved all of the equipment to one of the meeting rooms while this is going on. That in itself is not ideal, but there are also no TV's, music, or anything else along those lines in the room, so if you need that type of thing, take your iPod or you will have nothing. The equipment itself is substandard (old/outdated) compared to what I am used to at a Marriott or Hilton caliber hotel in a major city, as well as the fact they simply do not have enough of it to begin with. Hopefully, they are planning to provide new and/or additional equipment as part of the renovation. I remedied this situation by contacting a rep at the Downtown Athletic Club across the street, paying a discounted rate for a pass for the week.

If the fitness facilities at your hotel are not important to you, then I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. But as is the case for a lot of business travelers, that type of thing can be important, so be aware.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Fitness Center
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Germain, Wi.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Stayed here when in town for some baseball at PNC park.....overall the hotel is very nice....staff is very friendly and helpful.....room was comfortable and for the most part clean...top of the toilet had some sticky stuff on it with hair ...should not have been missed by cleaning staff....not impressed..............the location is great.....if you stay in downtown Pittsburgh , you can walk to see hockey, football and baseball....a definate plus for the city............paid $122.00 w/tax ...pricline......3 star hotel....

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Not spotless
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Got this hotel on a Sat night in early April for 60 a night plus tax. They get 17 bucks a day to park. For the discount, this was a great rate. The hotel with within walking distance of PNC Park, bout a mile or so. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves, it is heated but still somewhat chilly. They have saunas but they are in each locker room. No hot tub. The views can be good. It is right next door to Mellon Arena so the location would be great for that too. Compared to other downtown Marriott's i have stayed in, this is below average, but considering the location and the deal that i got, it was well worth the money.

G Man

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

This place is a dump with a big price tag. Nice location, but this hotel was a complete waste of our money. Staff were crude, the room (2nd Floor) had outdated fixtures and smelled. Don't gamble, stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Room, Amenities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Pittsburgh City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Pittsburgh City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center has to offer. The Official Hotel of the Pittsburgh Penguins, our downtown Pittsburgh hotel is located directly across from CONSOL Energy Center and just steps from the heart of the business district. The Pittsburgh Airport is just 18 miles from our hotel. From the minute you walk through our lobby doors, our staff is dedicated to attention to detail to make your stay a truly personal encounter. The journey begins as you step in the elevator and are transported to one of our 402 spacious rooms with high-speed internet access and dramatic views of Pittsburgh. Our hotel’s downtown location is perfect for your meeting or special event with 16 function rooms and three foyers offering 27,000 square feet of space. Surrounding universities include Duquesne, Robert Morris and University of Pittsburgh. Enjoy Steelers football at Heinz Field or Pirates Baseball at PNC Park, just a short ride away from our Downtown Pittsburgh hotel. What are you waiting for? Visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Pittsburgh City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.