We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible for hosting events (weddings, private parties)” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Pittsburgh City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Terrible for hosting events (weddings, private parties)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Run away from this hotel and hire another venue.
In my experience, I have NEVER encountered a hotel staff that was so hostile, unfriendly and unhelpful with a vendor for an event they host.
This hotel is unprepared to host your event (wedding, private party, cocktail).

  • Liked — valet parking by the hotel, that doesn't belong to the hotel
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    212
    67
    20
    12
See reviews for
112
109
31
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was Pittsburgh for a week on business and stayed here due to its convenience to my downtown work location. The hotel is directly across the street from the Penguins' Mellon Arena, and while the Stanley Cup finals were going on while I was there, it did not detrimentally impact my stay.

I gave an overall rating of 4 out of 5 due to the friendliness of the hotel staff and its convenience to downtown locations. The rooms are standard Marriott rooms and the bar had a decent menu and also met my expectations. There is a computer terminal at the check-in desk that allows you to check in early and print out your boarding pass should you wish.

My only real ding on this property was the fitness room situation. They are in the process of renovating the normal workout room and have moved all of the equipment to one of the meeting rooms while this is going on. That in itself is not ideal, but there are also no TV's, music, or anything else along those lines in the room, so if you need that type of thing, take your iPod or you will have nothing. The equipment itself is substandard (old/outdated) compared to what I am used to at a Marriott or Hilton caliber hotel in a major city, as well as the fact they simply do not have enough of it to begin with. Hopefully, they are planning to provide new and/or additional equipment as part of the renovation. I remedied this situation by contacting a rep at the Downtown Athletic Club across the street, paying a discounted rate for a pass for the week.

If the fitness facilities at your hotel are not important to you, then I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. But as is the case for a lot of business travelers, that type of thing can be important, so be aware.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Fitness Center
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Germain, Wi.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Stayed here when in town for some baseball at PNC park.....overall the hotel is very nice....staff is very friendly and helpful.....room was comfortable and for the most part clean...top of the toilet had some sticky stuff on it with hair ...should not have been missed by cleaning staff....not impressed..............the location is great.....if you stay in downtown Pittsburgh , you can walk to see hockey, football and baseball....a definate plus for the city............paid $122.00 w/tax ...pricline......3 star hotel....

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Not spotless
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Got this hotel on a Sat night in early April for 60 a night plus tax. They get 17 bucks a day to park. For the discount, this was a great rate. The hotel with within walking distance of PNC Park, bout a mile or so. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves, it is heated but still somewhat chilly. They have saunas but they are in each locker room. No hot tub. The views can be good. It is right next door to Mellon Arena so the location would be great for that too. Compared to other downtown Marriott's i have stayed in, this is below average, but considering the location and the deal that i got, it was well worth the money.

G Man

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

This place is a dump with a big price tag. Nice location, but this hotel was a complete waste of our money. Staff were crude, the room (2nd Floor) had outdated fixtures and smelled. Don't gamble, stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Room, Amenities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We arrived at the hotel an hour earlier than check-in, and having just come from a terrible hotel stay in another city I expected this to continue. However the cutest, smiliest, friendliest man at the front desk let us check in early. I had to tell him how cute he was, because it was a pleasant turn of events. It's nice to feel wanted.
It was your average 3 star hotel room being clean and comfy. The 2 Marriotts we stayed in provided the Bath and Body Works line which was a nice surprise! We liked it so much I bought some in Ohio on our way back to MN.
We ordered room service and had it delivered promptly and with a smile. I've never had a salad that delicious! It's nice to be able to appreciate the simple things.
The whole city was friendly. The people going to the Penguins game, the guys in the parking ramp, the workers at the hotel and around the city....everyone!
We will definitely visit Pittsburgh again. And we will definitely stay at a Marriott.

  • Liked — The friendly, friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Won this hotel on priceline ($50 a night) after unsucessfully bidding on a 4 star hotel.

As many other reviews have noted, the hotel's walls are pretty thin. Could hear the people in the next room over and doors slamming at all hours of the night.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Pittsburgh City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Pittsburgh City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from our luxury hotel With the perfect combination of style and substance, the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center has established itself as a premier hotel destination for business and leisure travelers. Our hotel in downtown Pittsburgh features refurbished luxury accommodations and the friendly service you'd expect from a TripAdvisor award-winner. Make yourself at home in your comfortable room or suite, filled with perks including high-speed Internet and Marriott's Plug-In technology. Meetings and gatherings sparkle at the hotel, thanks to our versatile venue space and comprehensive planning services. And let's not forget our truly remarkable location in the heart of Pittsburgh; whether you're in town to visit CONSOL Energy Center, attend an event at the Pittsburgh Convention Center, or stroll the campus of Duquesne University, we make it simple and stress-free for you to experience the city. Uptown and the Strip District are moments away as well. We look forward to your visit at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Pittsburgh City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.