We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints - Great for Pitt & Other University Parents” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Pittsburgh City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“No Complaints - Great for Pitt & Other University Parents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Located an easy 10 minutes from the Pitt campus, this Marriott was great. Of course, room rates will vary, but the down side is the always present $22/day parking ($26/day - valet) and of course the $25/day added taxes. So, even a $180.00 double room ends up at $230.

The pro's are:

Nice, comfortable rooms (small baths).
In room amenities - coffee/tea maker, frig, blow dryer, shampoo
Pool and fitness center
Nice Restaurant and Lounge - with good food, good service and good drinks
Helpful and Friendly Staff
Good Location

The con's were:

Our air conditioner did not work - but they were quick to give us a fan
The hotel is surrounded by roads, so be careful of your room placement if you're a light sleeper;
although we heard no street noise on the 15th floor over the weekend days
It is across from the Consol Center so it can be quite busy at concert/sports time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I appreciate the detailed information you provided to our future guests. I wanted to take this time to apologize for the issues that you had with the air conditioning but I am glad to hear we were able to resolve this issue while you were here. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest and hope we have you stay with us again soon. Have a great spring and a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    199
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
99
99
29
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three nights here recently. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds. We loved the fitness center and pool. The costs to use the parking deck proved to be the only down-side to our stay: it was expensive at $20 a day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am glad to hear that the hotel was clean, safe, and worked well for your reasons for traveling. I hope that we will see you again soon!!

Have a great day!
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a Thursday night and thought the hotel was pretty nice. I am silver status and was disappointed that I was in a room right next to the elevator. The room was pretty good sized for being downtown. The worst part was the elevator rides themselves. They were slow, packed and stopped on every floor. Other than that, I would probably stay at this hotel again if a comparable Hilton was not available in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy to hear that you thought of your stay as nice and that the rooms were a good size for a downtown property. I am sorry though that you had difficulty with the elevators. We did have a large amount of guests in house due to a group arrival, I am sorry about this inconvenience. I hope that the next time you are in the city we will see you again. Have a great day!

Thank You,

Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The outdated rooms are finally gone. Silver status has come to mean nothing here however. Room booked well in advance with request away from elevator. I end up directly by the elevator for a weeks stay. Concierge access is now for gold members only. Front desk barely acknowledged I was checking in. They could learn a thing or two from the Holiday Inn Express in DuBois on how they treat their Priority Club members. Or simply look across the river at the other Marriott property, Residence Inn for a really great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. I wanted to take this time to apologize that your stay with us was not up to the level of service we normally provide. I will be speaking with the associates that you encountered to ensure they are aware of their lack of customer service. I can assure you this is very much an exception and not at all the rule of service we provide to our guests. I am also very sorry that you did not receive the kind of acknowledgment that you deserve as a Marriott Rewards Silver member. We are grateful for your business.
I hope that when in Pittsburgh again you will give us another chance to prove our true customer service skills. I hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nicely located and very comfortable hotel. The check-in went really quick and we had the room early afternoon. Thanks to my platinum status we were upgraded to a junior suite so the room was quite big which was really nice since our son was sleeeping in a roller bed.
The downside of the hotel is during hockey events when the lobby is full of people drinking beer (which was the case on April 13) because the hockey stadium is accross the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review for us here on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that your time as our guest here at the City Center was enjoyable! It is true that our hotel can get busy due to events across the street and we do everything we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible in these situations.
We hope to see you again in the near future, thanks again for your comments! Happy spring and have a great day!!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great all around, including extremely helpful and responsive staff. Room was very comfortable, even though the bathroom was smaller than in some other comparable hotels. Meeting rooms were great. Pleasant lobby, bar, and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your kind comments about your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest! We hope to see you again very soon! Have a wonderful day and happy spring!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was there overnight 4/5-4/6 for Clapton concert right across the street. Arrived early afternoon and check-in was a breeze with personal showing to elevators, bar and dining. Stayed on 19th floor - room and bath were very clean but only 1 reg and one decaff coffee packets. Had early happy hour and dinner. Hotel & bar were very crowded by 5pm. Staff were great at front desk, bar and dining. Only real ding, besides skimpy number of coffee packets in room, was upon leaving we were given a wrong direction instruction, i.e. to turn left on a one-way street only going to the right. No damage as that was quickly rectified.

Room Tip: There are three elevators to serve 20+ floors, usually quickly, but after a popular event across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time from your day to comment on your recent stay here at the City Center. I am happy to hear that the staff and facilities made your time as our guest excellent!
I will speak to the person that gave you directions so they are aware they need to make sure the information provided is correct. Thank you again and have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Pittsburgh City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Pittsburgh City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center has to offer. The Official Hotel of the Pittsburgh Penguins, our downtown Pittsburgh hotel is located directly across from CONSOL Energy Center and just steps from the heart of the business district. The Pittsburgh Airport is just 18 miles from our hotel. From the minute you walk through our lobby doors, our staff is dedicated to attention to detail to make your stay a truly personal encounter. The journey begins as you step in the elevator and are transported to one of our 402 spacious rooms with high-speed internet access and dramatic views of Pittsburgh. Our hotel’s downtown location is perfect for your meeting or special event with 16 function rooms and three foyers offering 27,000 square feet of space. Surrounding universities include Duquesne, Robert Morris and University of Pittsburgh. Enjoy Steelers football at Heinz Field or Pirates Baseball at PNC Park, just a short ride away from our Downtown Pittsburgh hotel. What are you waiting for? Visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Pittsburgh City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.