We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Pittsburgh City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

the
The Marriott was really nice. Clean rooms that seem to have been redone recently. We had an oversized king corner room. It was almost too spacious for the two of us. Wanted to mention how nice the front desk was. Aron at check in was especially nice. My original room wasn't exactly what I had asked for and when I called down to the desk Aron could not have been more courteous and switched my room immediately. I didn't even have to go downstairs again, he sent new keys up for a different room. Overall it was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay here at the Marriott City Center. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time while staying as our guest. I am also happy to hear that when an issue arouse, Aaron was able to help you so that you were accommodated with very little interruption. I look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    212
    67
    20
    12
See reviews for
112
109
31
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It is not often that I walk into a hotel room and the first thing I think is "Boy...does it smell good in here!" That was my first thought when I walked in to my room at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center! Very nice room, very clean, very comfortable...beautiful view of the city from the 20th floor of the hotel! Best of all is that everyone I came across was wonderfully friendly and so very helpful! My stay was only overnight but if I'm back in the area, I definitely know where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: I was on the concierge level and had a beautiful view of the downtown skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your overnight stay with us here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am so glad to hear that the room smelled clean and fresh and that you enjoyed your time as our guest. We appreciate the feedback and cannot wait to have you stay with us in the near future.

Have a great day!
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms Operations
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was great staying at a Marriott. The room was beautiful and the bed seemed like I was sleeping in a cloud! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The doormen were a great source of information. Make sure you take advantage of their free downtown shuttle. Although they do not provide shuttle service to and from the airport they will drop you off AND pick you up at most of the tourist/shopping/restaurant areas of town. Paul was a great guy and made the trips to and from the incline an enjoyable part of our trip.
I was in Pittsburgh for a national conference at the hotel and the meeting rooms, banquet rooms and vendor area were very nice. Breakfast was included on both days of the meeting and it was good - not anything spectacular but what you would expect for a large banquet. The food provided for the "snack breaks" was tasty - candy bars, bags of salty snacks and hot pretzels including mustard to dip them in!
Parking was adequate for people arriving for the day and you can pay with a credit card as you exit the parking area.

Room Tip: Make sure you take advantage of the shuttle service if you want to visit downtown areas. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am very happy to hear that your stay as our guest here at the City Center was a great one. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and share information about your stay. I am also glad that you were able to utilize our hotel shuttle! I hope that if you are in Pittsburgh again we will have you as our guest! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked through my office travel centre so no hassles with booking. Got upgraded to Junior Suite, good way to start. Suite is big and spacious with separate sitting area. There was a separate sofa placed near the corner and a separate computer table and chair was is in the room. Room is provided with Coffee Maker, mini Fridge. Room style is little old but kept neat and clean. Bath Room is small compared with the room but it is fine.

Hotel is located near Consol Energy center. If you are planning for NHL weekend this is a perfect place. They have shuttle service to any place within certain perimeter. There is a restaurant within the hotel. Menu selection is good. There are many restaurants in the downtown area which you can go by walk. Food selection in the club lounge is really good.

There is a large gap between the floor and the room door. When I closed the door external hallway light brightened the room. Blocked that gap with towel. Shower head is old and not spraying water efficiently, when reported none bothered to look into that...apart from that this is nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy to hear that we were able to get you into a bigger room while you were our guest.
I apologize for the issues that you had while staying with us and we are looking into why the showerhead was not taken care of once we were aware of the issue. Please know that this was an exception and not the rule of service we provide here at the City Center.
We have taken the information that you have provided about the gap under the door and the shower head and we are looking onto ways to improve these items. We appreciate the feedback as it helps for the future.
Again, thank you for the information. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Pittsburgh. Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venetia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott 3 times and all were good experiences. The rooms have new furnishings and the beds are a sleep experience. My wife bought the pillows on the their web site and they are fantastic. My room was by the elevator and it was a busy night but the room was sound proof enough that we never heard any noise from the hallway or the roadway directly below our room. The weekend special rates are around 100.00 per night which is a real bargin in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stays here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy to hear that you loved the bedding and bought the pillows! We hope to have you as our guest again in the very near future! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As many of you know from my reviews I travel about 150,000 miles a year and stay at a lot of hotels. I am silver or gold on most hotels which is not much these days. Two weeks ago Marriott Pittsburgh sent an email - we see you are coming and want to make sure you still want a QUIET HIGH FLOOR ROOM WITH FEATHER PILLOWs - I click yes. Three days later Marriott Pittsburgh sends an email what can we do to make things even better. I say I am coming in from a 9 hour flight. There are 25 people staying at your hotel for 2-3 nights coming to see me (50-75 room nights) Besides the feather pillows and the high floor could you upgrade me to a nicer room. I get there and the room is on their first floor across from an elevator. I go up come down and ask why did they do this. They apologize and send me back to their first floor away from the elevator with 4 plastic pillows. I call down again and ask for feather. I go to check out and the bill is $269 a night versus the GE rate of $129. I complain. The client complains. They say they will fix it. I get my bill it is for about $600 for two nights no change. On top of this, this is a mediocre hotel. There is lots of road noise on the lower levels floors 10-14 on the back side which faces 7 lanes of traffic. The rooms are older and just a B- quality. What is the worst part is the lack of service, the lack of training for the staff and the most frustrating part is that they make a great effort to pretend they care. To add insult to injury they sent a follow up email asking "We want to be a 5 Star did we make it." I sent this leter to them. They wrote back saying sorry (duh), will look into it (nothing happened) what can we do to make it better (simple send emails saying don't expect much from us and we shall exceed your low expecations) But then that would not be good for marketing. As far as facts go the 04 line of rooms are badly laid out, the heaters do not work when the AC is on, the bathrooms have cheap products in them and the TVs are the smallest I have seen in a large chain. Enjoy

Room Tip: Dont stay on the side by the 04 line or rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very sorry that while staying as our guest we did not live up to our potential. We have taken your feedback and investigated these issues. We are now in the process of changing so that there will never be issues such as these again. We here at the City Center are very dedicated to our guests, we will do anything we can to ensure their stay with us is an experience of a home away from home, I apologize that this is not what you experienced. We will continue to use your information to improve for the future guests that stay with us. I hope that when in Pittsburgh again you will let us show you our true customer service skills. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights first weekend in Sep '12 with my girlfriend. Room on 18th floor was large, quiet, and had a great view. Staff was friendly checking in. Pool on the 11th floor is pretty neat as well and the fitness center is good! Room service for breakfast was a little slow, but we thought the food was great. Parking is expensive but that is typical of inner city hotel stays.

Room Tip: Get something higher up, avoid the city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time and commenting on your stay with us here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy that while staying as our guest you were able to utilize the pool and fitness center. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed room service, though it was a bit slow. I will be passing this information on to our Director of Outlets so that he may use it to improve for the future. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,

Amy-Jo Johnson
Director of Rooms
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Pittsburgh City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Pittsburgh City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from our luxury hotel With the perfect combination of style and substance, the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center has established itself as a premier hotel destination for business and leisure travelers. Our hotel in downtown Pittsburgh features refurbished luxury accommodations and the friendly service you'd expect from a TripAdvisor award-winner. Make yourself at home in your comfortable room or suite, filled with perks including high-speed Internet and Marriott's Plug-In technology. Meetings and gatherings sparkle at the hotel, thanks to our versatile venue space and comprehensive planning services. And let's not forget our truly remarkable location in the heart of Pittsburgh; whether you're in town to visit CONSOL Energy Center, attend an event at the Pittsburgh Convention Center, or stroll the campus of Duquesne University, we make it simple and stress-free for you to experience the city. Uptown and the Strip District are moments away as well. We look forward to your visit at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Pittsburgh City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.