We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated rooms are very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Pittsburgh City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Renovated rooms are very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at this Marriott on business and the new rooms are very well done. The beds are standard Marriott Memory Foam which are extremely comfortable. The new rooms are modern and well kept. The bathrooms did not receive the same face lift and would be the only downfall of my experience at the Marriott. Elevators are a little slow but not the end of the world. Rooms are bright and clean, the staff was friendly and courteous. Room service was good as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    212
    67
    20
    12
See reviews for
112
109
31
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night to celebrate Valentines Day (we celebrated two days later). We used our Marriott points so the stay was free. My first impressions of the hotel were not so good. We arrived around 10pm and the person at the check in desk seemed tired, he didn't even say hello, he just asked for our name and handed us our keys. I had to look to see the room number because he didn't even mention that too us. The room was nice, clean with a view of the downtown area (wish is was on a higher floor b/c most of our view was of roof tops.) The best part of our stay was the cocktail lounge, the waitress and bartender were wonderful. We stayed for several hours talking to them and trying their new drinks. The service staff was by far the best thing about this place. The hotel's hospitality staff should learn a thing or two or twenty from them because they truly made our stay enjoyable! P.S. Get the Chocolate Martini's they are the best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The room was very quiet and peaceful. The workout facility was cleaned it seemed every 15minutes.and refreshed with bottled water and fruit. Only bad part was it was a sunday, snowing and the hotel resturant had a limited menu, however many places deliver.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I understand a lot of the reviews of this place. If you think you are going to get a plush Marriott in the bustle center of downtown Pittsburgh, you are going to be sorely disappointed. For the price, its probably not worth it. Last time i stayed a got a great deal on Priceline, this time i was part of a big group going to the Xavier - Duquesne game. It right across the street from the arena, so that was good. Rooms were fine and dandy. Breakfast was pretty gross and they want $15 for the buffet. All in all, its probably not worth paying the full price but its a decent place and the location was great for us.

G Man

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott City Center to attend the Bon Jovi concert in Feb. We were making a weekend out of it and wanted to be in close promity to the Consol Energy Center for the concert.
I had read the previous reviews and thought to myself, how bad can it be.
I decided to use my Marriott points for the stay so the only thing it cost us was the $26 valet parking fee. (Parking for the concert was $20 so what was 6 more dollars for valet.)
I know from living in this area that this is an old hotel, but it does not meet Marriott standards. When we first entered the room, I didn't think it was that bad. But after you are there for awhile you notice all the work the room needs. We stayed on the 19th floor which made it nice to see the city, but the room needs revamped.
On the webpage for the hotel it says that they are remodeling so maybe our room was not done yet.
As one review said, they still have the old fashioned box televisions.
Marriott bedding is very comfortable and that still holds true at this hotel, but everything else needs updated.
The bar before the concert was very crowded due to the concert. We did not attempt to go. We walked one block down the road and went to the Souper Bowl. Much cheaper and good bar food if that is your scene.
We stayed here for the convenience but would not stay here if I had to pay the $230 a night fee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This was not the best Marriott. Like other reviewers said, it was worn at the edges and could use some updating. However, in its defense I will say I ordered an omelette about a half hour after they stopped serving breakfast, and after initially saying no they called me back and delivered it to the room.

And that made me happy.

That said there are better locations in Pittsburgh. And there wasn't wireless but you could use an ethernet cord for free.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Why are so many Marriott's falling apart before my eyes. I am not sure which Marriott is worse - this one or the Conshohocken one in West Philly. The location is terrible unless you are going to a Penguins game or visiting Duquense University. There are no decent food options anywhere nearby. The hotel itself is grimy all around the edges and the beds are stiff. Every piece of furniture - in the rooms, lobby, concierge lounge, hallways - is gashed, smashed, chipped and dented. The in room TVs are 1983 fuzz boxes. It is enough to make me want to quit even trying to stay at Marriotts any more. When in Pittsburgh, if you are a Marriott Rewards Platinum, stay at the Renaissance on the river. It blows this place away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Pittsburgh City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Pittsburgh City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from our luxury hotel With the perfect combination of style and substance, the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center has established itself as a premier hotel destination for business and leisure travelers. Our hotel in downtown Pittsburgh features refurbished luxury accommodations and the friendly service you'd expect from a TripAdvisor award-winner. Make yourself at home in your comfortable room or suite, filled with perks including high-speed Internet and Marriott's Plug-In technology. Meetings and gatherings sparkle at the hotel, thanks to our versatile venue space and comprehensive planning services. And let's not forget our truly remarkable location in the heart of Pittsburgh; whether you're in town to visit CONSOL Energy Center, attend an event at the Pittsburgh Convention Center, or stroll the campus of Duquesne University, we make it simple and stress-free for you to experience the city. Uptown and the Strip District are moments away as well. We look forward to your visit at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Pittsburgh City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Pittsburgh City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.