We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like time warp... food was so slow” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Grove Diner

Pine Grove Diner
490 Suedberg Rd, Exit 100 I-81 Pilot Travel Center, Pine Grove, PA 17963
+1 570-345-8800
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Pine Grove
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: 24 HR Classic American Diner. Breakfast served all day. Daily specials, burgers, BLTs, platters, soups, salads, sandwiches, Beer & Wine.
sidney, ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“felt like time warp... food was so slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Atmosphere was decent, and food was typical once it finally came. The place was mostly empty but we waited at the door, waited in the booth, and then waited and waited for food to arrive. We did not wait for our check to be picked up, we paid at the register and got on with our lives.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Past time memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place reminds some of us of the weekend high school hang out restaurant. Good food, excellent servers and great atmosphere. We sat at tables right in front of the beer coolers so we could watch all the people come in and buy the many types of beer they had. Right next to the Pilot truck stop so many of the drivers eat here also. Great desserts too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Reuben nt Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped in for dinner during a road trip and the diner was packed with people. We found out why. The food was excellent for diner fare. Service was friendly and helpful. The diner is right off the Pine Grove exit on Interstate 81. We will go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice retro diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor and 50's music. Nacho grande is really good. Onion rings too. Lots of choices and friendly service. In front of the Hampton Inn right off the I 81. Recommended a+++++++

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food at Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recommended by my hotel, no wonder this place is next to a truck stop and it's open 24hrs. Eat where the truckers eat I was always told, with bright interior and oldies music playing. This is not gourmet but good home cooking type food. Large portions and low prices that couldn't be beat. I had a steak, mashed potato and vegetable with salad and rolls. Also had three draft beers at $1.89 a piece, total with tip just $20. Got up late so I didn't get a chance to eat breakfast, so next time through I will make a point of stopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Grove Diner also viewed

 

Been to Pine Grove Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Grove Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.