We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cresson Boulevard, Phoenixville, PA 19460   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Phoenixville
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I travel 45 weeks out of the year and I only stay in Hilton products, so you might say I am a Hampton expert. The Hampton Inn and Suites at Valley Forge is my number one Hampton in the country.

As with most all Hampton's, the prIces are good, the breakfasts are more than acceptable, the AC units work great, the TV's clear and sharp and my favorite, the bedding is very comfy and clean. This inn does not have the in room movies that many hotels do, but that is ok with me as I don't want all the adult XXX junk at my fingertips. So what sets this particular Hampton apart? The staff. They go out of their way to meet my needs and they are warm and friendly. When you travel by yourself every week, warm and friendly is a big deal.

I have stayed in most of the rooms at this Inn and they are in good repair, clean and more than acceptable. A ten minute walk takes you to Max and Ermas, Kamita Asian (ask for May) and there is a great pizza place in two minutes and a Bob Evans across the parking lot.

A short drive away is the adorable village of Phoenixville, and Iron Hill Brewery (a favorite) and Sly Fox Brewing. One more hint. As you might guess, I am a beer geek. Pennsylvania is a miserable state to buy beer because of it's archaic liquor laws. Just travel one exit west on 422 and visit the outdoor mall right across the street from the exit. Wegman's grocery has a killer beer selection in their restaurant area.

One more hint. This inn is right on Pa 422 and it is a parking lot going east toward Philly in the morning and equally slow heading toward Pottstown in the evening rush. Just plan around that and you will find this location very convenient to Valley Forge, the casino, King of Prussia Mall and lots of other cool stuff.

Room Tip: The fifth floor is my favorite. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    63
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
86
51
20
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our experience with Hampton Inn hotels has almost always been good. They are very clean and comfortable and they offer a pretty good breakfast free, including make-them-yourself fresh waffles, oatmeal, eggs, cereal, coffee, etc. My only caution is that the egg "omlettes" have Cheez Whiz in them.

The Hampton Inn Valley Forge in Phoenixville is as nice as their other properties. Staff is friendly and helpful. I left something in my hotel room and they mailed it to me.

Watch out for prices -- they vary widely. I've paid low $90s with AAA for a room at this hotel, but I've also paid $179 (ouch!) during the high season when I couldn't find an alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had planned a 2 day trip to PA. First day at Valley Forge, second day in Philadelphia. This Hampton Inn was less expensive than other hotels recommended in the Valley Forge area, I guess because it was a little farther away? We decided to book it.
The drive from Valley Forge to the hotel was *maybe* 10 minutes. The front desk staff was very nice, checked in with no problems.
We had a room right next to the little sitting area outside the guest laundry on the 2nd floor. Some guy was talking on his phone out there and we heard him clearly, which wasn't a bother, since it was 4pm, just odd how clearly it sounded through the walls. Made us be really aware of keeping the noise down in our room. We had our 2 kids with is and we were constantly shushing them.

There was a little rust around the drains of both the bathtub and the sink, which is a nonissue for me, just mentioning it because that was the only thing we noticed was "wrong" with the room. Clean, looked good, comfortable chair with ottoman and a comfortable desk chair.
Beds were comfy, loved that they mentioned that they wash the duvets between every guest as well.

Breakfast the next morning was plentiful, the whole kitchen-like area was clean, staff were there making sure everything was stocked. Plenty of tables.
We left and headed to Philly(20-25 minute easy drive). Perfectly situated hotel if you want to do Valley Forge and Philly.

There was a Bob Evans across the parking lot. If you drive down the road 5-10 minutes you will run into more restaurants, grocery stores, CVS, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Returned to the Hampton Inn for this year's Beadfest. This year, the hotel offered shuttle service to the event. Great option for those who didn't drive in. As before, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, everything worked.
The breakfast was good this year. Had both eggs and waffle and they tasted great.
Two wishes: 1. If the regular guest room had a small refrigerator that would be awesome. (I booked a regular room instead of the kitchenette suite and had to discard the food I brought. Next time will be more careful.)
2. The local restaurants need to give the hotel updated menus. (I understand that this is not the hotel's responsibility.) I ordered from Oaks Pizza and they almost cancelled because they raised their minimum to $20--the menu said $10. The restaurant delivered but it could be a problem for the another guest.
Then again, I could have just walked over to Bob Evans--oops.

Room Tip: If you want to save on eating out, book a kitchenette suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There is no reason not to like this hotel. The rooms/bathrooms are very clean, the inclusive breakfast is awesome and the staff is extremely accomodating. Some of the things that stood out for me were: 1) I asked that there be an extra roll-away bed in one of the rooms that I reserved and there it was... when I entered the room upon check-in. (Most places don't seem to have their act together to have actually followed through with the request.) 2) The ladies who attended to breakfast were as nice as could be, cheerfuly greeting all guests, giving the weather forecast, etc. Not to mention that they ensured that the breakfast area was fully replenished with really great food. 3) The convenience area where you can buy snack foods and necessities was stocked super well with everything from toothbrushes to microwave meals. 4) While I sat in the lobby waiting for my travel companions, I observed the two desk clerks who were extremely solicitous of those checking out, asking each one if they enjoyed their stay. 5) And finally, although I didn't use the pool, I was impressed that there was one (albeit located next to the parking lot). It was clean and inviting. The only downside about this hotel was that the rooms were really basic... not their fault.. I'm just used to something a little more upscale. 6) But they made up for it with an extremely comfortable mattress and duvet cover that is washed each time so that there are no dirty, germy blankets to worry about. Like I said... what's not to like about this hotel? :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and I can't find anything major wrong with our stay. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of town. There is a restaurant next door and a Target and movie theater right down the street. One morning the handle of our toilet broke. I told the front desk when we came down for breakfast. By the time we finished breakfast and came back to our room, the handle was repaired. What a nice surprise to have this problem fixed so fast. The breakfast had a nice assortment of food. When we ate at 8 a.m., the area wasn't as busy as when we ate at 9 a.m. The hot food ran out but didn't take too long for them to fill it up. The rooms were relatively quiet and clean. I will stay here again when I am in the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

With family in town for the weekend, we had a few nights booked at this Hamption Inn. For the most part, there was not much to complain about as the hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The hotel had all the normal amenities of a Hampton with a business center, fitness room and even a small outdoor pool. Our room was clean and comfortable, although the air conditioning unit did make quite a bit of noise.

The seating area for the free breakfast was cramped though and there weren't enough seats during the peak breakfast time for people to sit. Also, there seemed to be a lack of food (or maybe just very hungry visitors) the two mornings we were there. There were 5-10 minute stretches with pretty much no hot food available. For the price being paid for this Hampton you think they'd be on top of things when it comes to providing the space and food needed to feed its guest.

All in all, you can't go wrong with the Hampton Inn as along as you are willing to overpay by $20-$30 a night. I'm still trying to figure out how they can get away with charging the prices they do, but my thinking is that it's a supply and demand thing. There a very few hotels within 5 miles of this location. Ironically enough Hilton is building a new Hilton Gardens and another Hampton Inn within a few miles of this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks

Address: 100 Cresson Boulevard, Phoenixville, PA 19460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Phoenixville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Phoenixville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Valley Forge/Oaks Hotel Phoenixville
Hampton Inn Phoenixville
Phoenixville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Valley Forge/Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.