We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2951 Horseshoe Pike, Palmyra, PA 17078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palmyra
Central PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cold Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If it wasn't for the cold room upon arriving, I would have rated the motel 4 stars. We stayed there in mid December when the outside temperature was about 30 degrees. The room has only an 8 ft. section of electric baseboard heat in the front and a 4 ft. piece at the back. There is a shorter piece (approx. 3 ft.) of base board heating element in the bathroom, but that stopped working after about an hour. We arrived about 9 p.m. and sat with our coats on for the first hour. When we checked in the desk clerk said that "if we turned the heat up, it would be warm in 10 or 15 minutes". Anyone familiar with electric baseboard heaters knows there are no fans to force air circulation. You have to wait for the air to heat close to the heater and then slowly circulate throughout the room.

We left the thermostat turned all the way up and went to bed about 11 p.m. using the sheet, blanket, and bed spread for covers. I woke up about 3 a.m. and the room was nice and warm. I turned the thermostat back until I heard it click off and left it there. The room remained quite comfortable for the remainder of our stay. For anyone staying there in the winter, I would recommend you call ahead and reserve your room and ask them to turn up the heat, or arrive early, turn up the heat, and go out to a restaurant or shopping for a couple hours.

The heating situation was our only real complaint. The only other more minor things (which my wife complained about) were the bed mattress was extremely firm and the front door of the motel room was only about 120 ft. from the main highway so you would hear traffic noise.

This motel is only a few miles from the Hershey Park Tourist attraction. We were not there to see the park and only wanted an inexpensive place to spend the night and not pay outrageous tourist prices. This motel was fine for this at about $65 for the night. It was clean with no stale or cleaning odors. It had a TV with a huge channel selection, microwave and a small refrigerator all in working condition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    27
    4
    9
See reviews for
58
21
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While Visiting Hershey with my friends we stayed at Americas best Value Inn,Palmyra.other group stayed at Travelodge Hershey.This is a wonderful, hotel. I totally enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are very clean, and I love the bathroom. The pool is closed during the winter which understandable. And anyone staying in Hershey PA should stay here. Everything is nearby and there is so much to do here. All I can stay is this is a great hotel with wonderful rooms and a great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Between Boston & the Cape
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My son and I visited from July 6-8, 2012. We were looking for a place that was within 10-15 minutes of HersheyPark, yet was affordable. After checking reviews here we decided to stay here and were not disappointed.We were greeted by a friendly young couple at the front desk who made check in easy and answered all our questions (24 hour supermarket right around the corner).
The room itself was clean and nice. Microwave, small fridge and free wi-fi were the 3 amenities we needed, all were there and working perfectly. Pool out back came in handy when we decided to escape from the 100 degree heat of the park.
Continental breakfast in the motel office was pretty basic, but there was plenty there to fuel up and start the day.
After hearing about our trip my other son wants to go next year. My wife and I will stay here, if we go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience with the service we recieved.The manager was avalible and very nice and was willing to share tips on best times to travel and when is cheaper,etc.the room was nice very cleaned and restocked daily.all rooms are non smoking and there was no trace of cigarette smell anywhere.we will come back again sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent the night there before our day at Hershey Park. The room was a good size, everything was clean and worked well. I didn't do the continental breakfast, that was in the office and it didn't seem like something I would want. I would definitely without a doubt stay here again. Why spend more when you can pay less and get a good place to spend the night. The walls are thin though so if you have someone in the next room with the tv turned up you will hear it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wonderful Owners and desk people. I reached late at midnight and desk lady was very helpful to get me the room immediately. Room was clean and nice. Best Value for 2-3 star rating. Bathroom was clean. Bed was perfect. Though TV was old box type. Owners said they are in process of replacing all TVs to flat screen in near future. Braekfast area was small no room to sit sitdown. You need to bring to your room. But braekfast items were likable for old and young. And coffee was really good. A perfect stay for family on budget for Hershey Vacation. And Harrisburg and Gettysberg are not far, 1/2 to 3/4 hr drive. Full of our Civil War History there. Staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie,PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at this old style motel and was very pleasantly surprised. Although not a 4 star hotel it was more than adequate for the family to put its head down after long days at an amusement park
Pool area was great and kids had a good time. I guess the only negative was the breakfast area was small and because of that not much offered but still OK. Easy to get around from this location for attractions and restaurants in the area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey

Address: 2951 Horseshoe Pike, Palmyra, PA 17078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Palmyra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palmyra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey, located in the Lebanon Valley between Annville and Hershey. We are only 3.5 miles from Hershey Park, where you can visit the famous chocolate factory and amusement park, go for a walk in the Hershey Gardens, or hike in the nearby woods. Other fun local attractions include Antique Automobile Club of America, Giant Center, Zoo America, and Mt Hope Estates and Winery. Palmyra Bowling Alley, Spring Creek Golf Course, and the Outlets At Hershey are minutes from our hotel. Local restaurants include Brass Rail Deli, Sopranos Pizza, and Cafe Campbelltown. Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey is the perfect place for that special romantic getaway or to just get away from it all. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Take a refreshing dip in our sparkling outdoor pool open from Memorial Day - Labor Day. We also offer a tennis court. Our front desk and lobby are open 24 hours/day. Guest rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, hairdryer, and free local calls.At Americas Best Inn Palmyra/Hershey, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.