We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Palmyra B&B and Inns
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We usually go to Lancaster for our anniversary but decided to go to Hershey instead. We hadn't been there in quite a few years and I was skeptical whether I would find a place to stay that was both nice and reasonably priced. I found the Moon Shadow B&B and was surprised by the price compared to the other hotels in the area. We were a short distance from all of the Hershey attractions but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Mary and Ralph were very wonderful hosts. The room had all the luxuries you could possibly want including a small fridge with water and a Keurig coffee maker with coffee and tea selections. There was even fresh milk for the coffee in the fridge. There is a nice seating area off the deck where you can sit and listen to the water in the pond. The breakfast was delivered to our room promptly at 8:30am as promised and it was a wonderful egg dish with hash browns, toast, coffee, juice, fruit and coffee cake. The hosts also recommended a tavern down the road for dinner which was also a great tip. The whole experience was just wonderful and we will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The Nautical Room, which is at the top of the stairs on the second floor, was spacious and also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I don't know how I missed your comments last month, sorry; thanks for your review it means so much to us. We hope to see you again next June. Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mt. Airy, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a weekend trip to Hershey. Since everything else was booked we stayed in the Cocoa suite even though it was just the two of us. It was well worth the money. It was very spacious and a great value for the money paid. Only downfall was we could hear the hosts making breakfast right above our heads in the morning. We could also hear their dog running around on the hardwood floors. This didn't start until around 7:30 or 8 am so if you don't plan to sleep past that you should be fine. Bed was very comfy though. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review we'll work with the dog, just kidding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for a weekend while visiting friends in the Hershey area. It was so quiet and peaceful we would have sworn we were the only ones there, but the others cars in the parking area let us know we weren't. The inn keepers were friendly and accommodating, and made us feel right at home. The rooms were spacious and clean. All the baths had jetted soaking tubs and separate shower. The breakfast served in your room was awesome. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My fiancé and I live in Palmyra and were looking for a place to celebrate his birthday. Luckily we stumbled upon this local B&B. It was our first time staying at a B&B and will definitely not be our last. Our room (The Tuscany Suite) was clean and welcoming from the small bowl of chocolates to the gleaming Jacuzzi, no detail was left out. Our breakfast was scrumptious and arrived on time. The owners accommodated my fiancés diabetic needs which was really wonderful. Overall we had such a lovely time. Upon checkout the owner notified that he had cleaned off our car as it had snowed a few inches overnight - how sweet!!! We cannot say enough good things about it... you'll just have to come and see for yourself :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
You forgot to mention I cleaned the car off with a leaf blower :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila Pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the nautical room & we enjoyed ourselves. The room was very nice for the price. The breakfasts were plentiful and very good. We had pancakes the first morning and ham omelets the next with many other items. Loved their cat that roams the grounds outside. The whirlpool tub for 2 was very nice also. You won't find a better hotel so try this B&B if you are staying around Hershey:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ISLANDGIRLKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Moon Shadow B&B on Friday, August 31st. We stayed in the Garden Room which was really beautiful. The bed is big and comfy. The bathroom is gorgeous with the large jacuzzi for two. The view from the Garden Room is beautiful. The rolling hills and all the trees.

Their backyard setting is tranquel. We took beautiful pictures on the deck with the pond and waterfall behind us. We really were blown away with how beautiful the property was.

Breakfast was served in our room right on time at 8:30. A big fresh pot of coffee, fruits, pastry, eggs, toast, juice. Gave us plenty of energy to start our day. We were heading to Lancaster to sightsee.

We will certainly be back to visit at the Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast. Do NOT hesitate to book this B&B. The rooms and house are very clean and the landscaping is amazing.

Christine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We loved meeting you two; thank you for all your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Four of us stayed here for one night while visiting Troegs Brewery and Hersheypark. We rented the two-bedroom Cocoa Suite, which was huge. The bedrooms were fairly small, but the living room and dining area were very large, each with a large-screen TV and two couches! We also had a full kitchen. However, there is only one bathroom. The unit is on the ground floor, and has a private entrance and patio at the back of the house. We spent some pleasant time sitting in the comfortable chairs out on the deck by the water garden. In the morning, we were served a substantial breakfast right in the suite - fresh fruit, juice and a muffin, followed by an omelet with homefries and toast. Our hosts, Mary and Ralph were very friendly and gracious. Our only request was for some decaf tea for the morning, and they promptly provided a whole sampler box! The only thing that bothered me was the abundance of air fresheners used throughout the unit - they were a little overpowering. We will definitely stay here again on one of our (almost) annual visits to Hershey!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you, we cut back on the fragrance; I'd prefer Yankee Candles myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmyra
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
9.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#17 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Palmyra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Palmyra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast nestled between Hershey and Grantville, PA offers Elegant, Romantic accommodations in a most beautiful setting. Each room is beautifully furnished and accented with comfort and style; featuring King Size Bed, Gas fireplace, Large Screen HDTV, Luxurious Private Bath includes two-person Jacuzzi, endless Hot Water and Soft Fresh Terry Robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing