We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly added Packages
Ranked #2 of 3 Palmyra B&B and Inns
Kew Gardens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Moon Shadow B&B on Friday, August 31st. We stayed in the Garden Room which was really beautiful. The bed is big and comfy. The bathroom is gorgeous with the large jacuzzi for two. The view from the Garden Room is beautiful. The rolling hills and all the trees.

Their backyard setting is tranquel. We took beautiful pictures on the deck with the pond and waterfall behind us. We really were blown away with how beautiful the property was.

Breakfast was served in our room right on time at 8:30. A big fresh pot of coffee, fruits, pastry, eggs, toast, juice. Gave us plenty of energy to start our day. We were heading to Lancaster to sightsee.

We will certainly be back to visit at the Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast. Do NOT hesitate to book this B&B. The rooms and house are very clean and the landscaping is amazing.

Christine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We loved meeting you two; thank you for all your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Four of us stayed here for one night while visiting Troegs Brewery and Hersheypark. We rented the two-bedroom Cocoa Suite, which was huge. The bedrooms were fairly small, but the living room and dining area were very large, each with a large-screen TV and two couches! We also had a full kitchen. However, there is only one bathroom. The unit is on the ground floor, and has a private entrance and patio at the back of the house. We spent some pleasant time sitting in the comfortable chairs out on the deck by the water garden. In the morning, we were served a substantial breakfast right in the suite - fresh fruit, juice and a muffin, followed by an omelet with homefries and toast. Our hosts, Mary and Ralph were very friendly and gracious. Our only request was for some decaf tea for the morning, and they promptly provided a whole sampler box! The only thing that bothered me was the abundance of air fresheners used throughout the unit - they were a little overpowering. We will definitely stay here again on one of our (almost) annual visits to Hershey!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you, we cut back on the fragrance; I'd prefer Yankee Candles myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Moon Shadow the night of our wedding (May 8th 2012) and were thrilled! I'd read review here on TripAdvisor and everything seemed great, so we chose the Nautical (or Shore) room, and I am so glad we did. It was perfect. The B&B is out in the countryside, and on a very large piece of land, so it is very quiet and tranquil there. We were greeted by the owners, who were both very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed and pillows very luxurious, and the bathroom was fit for a queen. We loved the jacuzzi, and breakfast was more than we had hoped for. Pancakes, sausage, fresh fruits, and banana nut bread all were delicious. I would suggest that anyone staying here take advantage of the area out back with the fish pond, waterfall and deck. Its shaded by a huge old tree and is very relaxing. Also, if you see the cat around, give him a nice belly rub. He is a very friendly fellow!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Mary & I are pleased to be part of the start of your lives together. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at the Moon Shadow while attending a concert at Hershey, also celebrated our 26th anniversary. We stayed in the Garden room which was tastefully decorated, spacious and immaculately clean. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and comfortable bed. Breakfast is served in your room and the innkeepers very accommodating to any wants or needs you might have. If you’re looking for a quiet getaway, place to relax or traveling through and just looking for a great night sleep, this B&B has it all. It truly is the best kept secret around Hershey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here in Nov and we loved it!
First, the B and B is somewhat secluded and a very quite spot. We were very thrilled when we pulled into the driveway, greeted by the open space that depicts a picture nature scene. We parked and there was Stan to greet us. Check in was a breeze and we were given a tour and showed our room.
The Tuscany is fantastic. It’s a large room with a separate sitting area. They had a flat screen, mini refrigerator, coffee machine, dining table for two, a double couch for two, and a soft comfy chair…the perfect sitting area.
The bathroom was beautiful. The Jacuzzi tub was clean, big enough for two (My fiancé is 6ft 4 inches and I am 5ft 11 in) and we were able to enjoy the Jacuzzi. There were ample towels, yes a lot of towels…and they were beautifully cleaned…very white and soft. The shower was beautiful too, with a towel stand conveniently close by… the lighting in the bathroom was done well too….you can dim the lights etc...
The bedroom…the bed is huge and the remote control fire place was just perfect. The flat screen TV was a nice addition (yes there are two!) We used it to listen to our favorite music station and watched a few movies. A lot of light from the large windows. You could also sit in the sitting area in the bedroom; enjoy some wine and the scenery out the big window.
Suggestion: If you plan to sleep in that may not happen as the morning sun shines through. Sun block drapes will be a nice addition to give us the option to sleep in.
Food:

Mary and Stan bought us breakfast in our room 8:30am. Breakfast both mornings was awesome! Loved the French toast! They also have snacks available upstairs. Very convenient. We ate dinner at the Harper Tavern…about 5min away and at Ficinni in Hershey about 15 min away. Both were awesome. Fecinni owner Arthur was simply awesome. He helped us secure parking (we didn’t know he was the owner) and was very personable to all the guest in his restaurant. He even took a picture with us. Check them out.
Entertainment
We also saw the buddy Guy show at the Hershey Theatre. The seats there are very uncomfortable if you are tall. However the show was good. The Hershey outlet is conveniently close by too. We went there and spent hours. My fiancé’ even bought me a coach bag, nine west boots, bath and body works…. The outlet has a lot of popular stores. So enjoy your Starbucks then go shopping…

The Moon Shadow has a lot of outdoor areas you can enjoy. The deck by the water fall is awesome. We enjoyed a glass of wine and my fiancé’ smoked his cigar. We enjoyed the nature around us. Even though we visited in November we could still enjoy the deck.
Sorry for the lengthy review. But I read re3views before deciding to visit a hotel or b and b. so wanted to offer my thoughts about this b and b. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: The Tuscany is the largest. But I also saw the others. They are also nice rooms. You can choose an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you, you said it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days over Labor Day weekend. The Tuscany room was excellent! Very well decorated, comfortable and cozy. We really enjoyed the breakfasts; something different each day. We had dinner in Hershey both evenings. The 15 minute drive to town was very convenient. Ralph and Mary are extremely kind and accomodating. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had an excellent time at the Moon Shadow and cannot wait to return. The room was very calming, the jacuzzi was extremely relaxing and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely outstanding! We had the french toast and fruit. The fire place kept the room nice and cozy. Various resturants in the area to choose from, only about 5 minutes away from Hershey Park. The Innkeepers were very nice and their home and property was beautiful. We would strongly reccommend anyone to stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. We will for sure be returning!

Dez & Ben

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
You're the best, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Palmyra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Palmyra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast nestled between Hershey and Grantville, PA offers Elegant, Romantic accommodations in a most beautiful setting. Each room is beautifully furnished and accented with comfort and style; featuring King Size Bed, Gas fireplace, Large Screen HDTV, Luxurious Private Bath includes two-person Jacuzzi, endless Hot Water and Soft Fresh Terry Robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.