We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast
23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Palmyra B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than we expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Moon Shadow the night of our wedding (May 8th 2012) and were thrilled! I'd read review here on TripAdvisor and everything seemed great, so we chose the Nautical (or Shore) room, and I am so glad we did. It was perfect. The B&B is out in the countryside, and on a very large piece of land, so it is very quiet and tranquil there. We were greeted by the owners, who were both very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed and pillows very luxurious, and the bathroom was fit for a queen. We loved the jacuzzi, and breakfast was more than we had hoped for. Pancakes, sausage, fresh fruits, and banana nut bread all were delicious. I would suggest that anyone staying here take advantage of the area out back with the fish pond, waterfall and deck. Its shaded by a huge old tree and is very relaxing. Also, if you see the cat around, give him a nice belly rub. He is a very friendly fellow!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Mary & I are pleased to be part of the start of your lives together. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at the Moon Shadow while attending a concert at Hershey, also celebrated our 26th anniversary. We stayed in the Garden room which was tastefully decorated, spacious and immaculately clean. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and comfortable bed. Breakfast is served in your room and the innkeepers very accommodating to any wants or needs you might have. If you’re looking for a quiet getaway, place to relax or traveling through and just looking for a great night sleep, this B&B has it all. It truly is the best kept secret around Hershey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here in Nov and we loved it!
First, the B and B is somewhat secluded and a very quite spot. We were very thrilled when we pulled into the driveway, greeted by the open space that depicts a picture nature scene. We parked and there was Stan to greet us. Check in was a breeze and we were given a tour and showed our room.
The Tuscany is fantastic. It’s a large room with a separate sitting area. They had a flat screen, mini refrigerator, coffee machine, dining table for two, a double couch for two, and a soft comfy chair…the perfect sitting area.
The bathroom was beautiful. The Jacuzzi tub was clean, big enough for two (My fiancé is 6ft 4 inches and I am 5ft 11 in) and we were able to enjoy the Jacuzzi. There were ample towels, yes a lot of towels…and they were beautifully cleaned…very white and soft. The shower was beautiful too, with a towel stand conveniently close by… the lighting in the bathroom was done well too….you can dim the lights etc...
The bedroom…the bed is huge and the remote control fire place was just perfect. The flat screen TV was a nice addition (yes there are two!) We used it to listen to our favorite music station and watched a few movies. A lot of light from the large windows. You could also sit in the sitting area in the bedroom; enjoy some wine and the scenery out the big window.
Suggestion: If you plan to sleep in that may not happen as the morning sun shines through. Sun block drapes will be a nice addition to give us the option to sleep in.
Food:

Mary and Stan bought us breakfast in our room 8:30am. Breakfast both mornings was awesome! Loved the French toast! They also have snacks available upstairs. Very convenient. We ate dinner at the Harper Tavern…about 5min away and at Ficinni in Hershey about 15 min away. Both were awesome. Fecinni owner Arthur was simply awesome. He helped us secure parking (we didn’t know he was the owner) and was very personable to all the guest in his restaurant. He even took a picture with us. Check them out.
Entertainment
We also saw the buddy Guy show at the Hershey Theatre. The seats there are very uncomfortable if you are tall. However the show was good. The Hershey outlet is conveniently close by too. We went there and spent hours. My fiancé’ even bought me a coach bag, nine west boots, bath and body works…. The outlet has a lot of popular stores. So enjoy your Starbucks then go shopping…

The Moon Shadow has a lot of outdoor areas you can enjoy. The deck by the water fall is awesome. We enjoyed a glass of wine and my fiancé’ smoked his cigar. We enjoyed the nature around us. Even though we visited in November we could still enjoy the deck.
Sorry for the lengthy review. But I read re3views before deciding to visit a hotel or b and b. so wanted to offer my thoughts about this b and b. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: The Tuscany is the largest. But I also saw the others. They are also nice rooms. You can choose an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you, you said it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days over Labor Day weekend. The Tuscany room was excellent! Very well decorated, comfortable and cozy. We really enjoyed the breakfasts; something different each day. We had dinner in Hershey both evenings. The 15 minute drive to town was very convenient. Ralph and Mary are extremely kind and accomodating. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had an excellent time at the Moon Shadow and cannot wait to return. The room was very calming, the jacuzzi was extremely relaxing and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely outstanding! We had the french toast and fruit. The fire place kept the room nice and cozy. Various resturants in the area to choose from, only about 5 minutes away from Hershey Park. The Innkeepers were very nice and their home and property was beautiful. We would strongly reccommend anyone to stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. We will for sure be returning!

Dez & Ben

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
You're the best, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Just arrived home from an overnight stay here and wanted to write a review. My husband and I have stayed at quite a few B&B's and really enjoyed our stay at Moon Shadow. It's off the beaten track and very quiet, but still not a bad drive to the Hershey area which is why we were in town. The innkeepers are marvelous - very friendly and went over and above to make sure we were comfortable... from setting a little heater up in our bathroom before we arrived to make sure the bathroom wasn't too cold, to providing a plate of fruit and complimentary bottled water in our mini-fridge, as well as snacks. There were wonderful plush robes, a big screen tv, fireplace, 2 person tub and the bed was extremely comfortable to boot. Breakfast was equally as wonderful. Would definitely stay here again if passing through and encourage anyone looking for a nice place at a good price to try this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph s, Owner at Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Sherks Church Road, Palmyra, PA 17078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Palmyra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Palmyra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast nestled between Hershey and Grantville, PA offers Elegant, Romantic accommodations in a most beautiful setting. Each room is beautifully furnished and accented with comfort and style; featuring King Size Bed, Gas fireplace, Large Screen HDTV, Luxurious Private Bath includes two-person Jacuzzi, endless Hot Water and Soft Fresh Terry Robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.