We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time For Those Inclined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Rest Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny Rest Lodge
Save Saved
You added Sunny Rest Lodge to your Saves list
425 Sunny Rest Drive, Palmerton, PA 18071   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerton
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Time For Those Inclined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been to SRL many times over the last few years. We can also compare it to many other clothing optional resorts.

The resort is situated in the foothills of the Poconos, a very nice setting but you better be prepared to trek up some pretty steep hills unless you stay in the meadow or pool/club area rooms. We once stayed in one of the rooms (mountainview I think) in the upper part of the resort, we only did so because a dangerous thunderstorm drove us out of our tent. It was a reasonable cost but it was also a Thursday, the weekend costs are unreasonable, being $250+ on holiday weekends for rooms that are not near worth that price (location, location, location).

The clientele is much that of any other resort, the middle of the bell curve is age 50+, although the proximity to New York often brings out younger people especially on holiday weekends. There is definitely a swinger element to the resort, to be fair most resorts (even the "family" ones) have one as well, although most are much, much quieter about it than SRL. We have been propositioned more than a few times, but a simple no thank you is as far as it went and we have never had an issue. Management is very good about taking care of anyone that's disturbing other guests.

The resort has recently undergone some "Caliente Tampa/Caribe" inspired renovations. A few years ago a new bar was put in which serves slightly overpriced but delicious drinks. About the time the bar was completed a conversation pool was added next to it. The convo pool is nice but if it looks cloudy or doesn't smell quite right, pass it up for the hot tub. The restaurant and club are the most recent renovations. Luckily, the renovation also included the chef. The high prices for food now match the quality served. The club now has an even more, well for lack of a better term, club feel, with white everything and neon lights. Few are ever nude at the club (and those that are make it kind of awkward) so if you're looking for a purely nudist experience then just go to bed early.

The pool is a little bit small but nice. Pool volleyball is played most days from 1000-1200. Feel free to join in, the usual players are very welcoming. The hot tub is located in the clubhouse and can easily fit 10-12 people.

If you decide to camp and aren't interested in hearing loud noises in the middle of the night then make sure you pitch your tent by the tennis courts. The normal camping area tends to be very rowdy. Once the club closes the party moves up there including sometimes loud music and campfires. The party usually continues once couples retire to their tents as well.

SRL is certainly a little overpriced but brings a fun and welcoming atmosphere that anyone from a devoted nudist to a pure hedonist can have fun in. That's why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I made our first visit to Sunny Rest last weekend. We really did not know what to expect as there are not a lot of pictures on the website. We arrived around 3pm on Friday and quickly checked in to our room in the Meadows. The rooms was built from a mobile home style building and was very plain. There was a bed, refrigerator, 19" TV, small table and chairs and a bathroom. It was nothing extravagant but the most important thing was that it was clean. For the time that we spent in the room, it was perfect. We spent the remainder of the afternoon enjoying the sun and pool. Because we forgot a few things, we had to run into town that evening and due to time, ended up eating dinner in town.

We went to the restaurant for breakfast around 9am on Saturday morning. While the food was included in the cost of the room and was pretty good (its hard to mess up a egg), the service (Charity ??) did leave a lot to be desired. We ended up getting more refills from the other servers going through the room than from her. After breakfast, we grabbed a couple chair at the deep end (5') of the pool. The only problem here was that this area is covered by shade until at least noon. The water volleyball games started at 10am and were awesome. Everyone quickly made room for people as the arrived and made me feel welcome. The games end at noon so we did our thing and had a good time for most of the afternoon. Later in the afternoon, things started to clear out so we got into the pool and had a great time speaking with a couple from Canada. After a shower, we returned to the restaurant for dinner. While the food was great (Shrimp and Grits), it was a little confusing why so many people at a nudist resort were wearing clothes. At least 75% of the people in the restaurant were fully clothed. Later that evening, we visited the conversation pool. This is a nice "warm tub" (only about 90 degrees) where we quickly struck up conversations with several couples.

On Sunday morning, I once again played volleyball from 10am-12pm. There were more people playing so we divided into three teams and rotated through each game. Irv was the referee and kept everything running smoothly (not that they didn't run smoothly on Saturday). After the game, the wife and I spent a couple of hours in the pool talking to a pair of couples from PA and MD. The only thing that really sucked was realizing that we had to get dressed again to leave.

When we got home, my wife realized that she had forgotten the charger for her iPhone. We have several so we basically wrote it off. About mid-morning on Monday, I was shocked to receive an e-mail from Sunny Rest saying that they had found the charger and were holding it in the office. The good thing here is that we now have an excuse to make a another trip to Sunny Rest.

This club is not an upscale, high-dollar, fancy resort with a lot of attractions. It is very basic and clean. The other guest did not bother us while we were sitting on the chairs alone. However, they were very open and easy to talk to once we got into the pool and conversation pool. Basically, if you are open and make a little effort, the people are very friendly and fun to be around.

In closing, I will say that even though this is a nudist resort, at no point did we see or hear any open sexual activities or advances. I guess that I need to stop here, I need to go make my reservations for my birthday weekend at Sunny Rest.

Room Tip: The Meadow rooms are only about 150 yards from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went there a few times in 2013 and had the same experience each time. Place is nice but not a high end Resort. Has the homemade feeling and look to the place. Had seen a few CLICKS and they seem to be loud NY & NJ people that seem to think they run the place ( TOWELS PLACED ON CHAIRS HOURS BEFORE COMING TO THE POOL AND MANAGEMENT SAYS NOTHING). Another example was some guy at the bar with a huge gut making the first time nude experience for the female with me VERY UNCOMFORTABLE! As I waited in the conversation pool as while she went to the rest room she had a little trouble with the gate lock so he rushed over and said she had to take off her wrap in order to get out. Then sat at the bar and waited for her to come back out of the rest room and proceeded to say more things to her. Had a few swingers swarm us while in the pool. Mainly the husbands. The one husband asked my female since his and my name were the same if she ever did two Jeffs at the same time or if not did she want to. I have nothing against swingers but have some class. That was the only problems we had was some loud forward people. Frozen drink was not bad but one bar maid was a snob and no personality at all, food was ok, staff was ok . Going again in june or july 2014 so maybe I will give an update.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I visited Sunny Rest with some friends and had a great time. Besides the pool, bar, and nightclub the best part was the restaurant. Breakfast was wonderful. The woman chef also took the time to speak with me about gluten free options for lunch (which was out of this world!) We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I visited for Memorial Day weekend and we had a great time. There were bands at the pool Saturday, Sunday, and Monday, the food in the restaurant was delicious, the service was great, the staff couldn't have been nicer, and the nightclub was so much fun. We met lots of friendly people, they were all so welcoming to us as first time visitors. We will definitely visit again soon!

Room Tip: I heard the cabin, #40 is beautiful, next time we are going to try and rent that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed one night at Sunny Rest Lodge, in a room right over the office. The room was a very basic room - just a bed, bathroom and TV, basically. But we weren't there for the room. We were there to enjoy the pool, hot tub, and environment.

The crowd was not huge, as it was a weekday, and the holiday weekend crowd hadn't arrived yet. When the crowd did arrive (around 5 PM), they were very organized, setting up a karaoke session, and having a volleyball tournament, with multiple teams. This volleyball tournament proceeded in a very organized manner, with the teams getting into position with very little fuss.

The pool area had shade all day, in places, which is what I look for.

But the unexpected highlights of our visit were the food and the conversation pool [hot tub]. The food was very good, and the selection was amazing, with all the specials (and good prices) they had. And when you went in the conversation pool, if you were near the back wall, you could hear everybody else along that back wall, without anybody speaking loudly. It was amazing, like being in buildings where you can hear someone whispering in the corner.

We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I dont know what resort paul j went to but its not the same sunnyrest we saw.granted we went monday thru thursday which has less crowds but as far as the staff and the people there we felt so welcome and relaxed.our room was very clean besides the purple thong i found behind a cabinet ,lol.we had good wifi except in the restaurant ,they could use a stronger signal.we found the drinks at the bar good priced and i watched her pour the booze and she was generous.the food was very good and the staff very excepting to all the nudity around them.they are very profecianal and never made you feel like you where naked .we met so many people couples ,single women and single men,we cant wait to go back to sunnyrest its the place to go if you want to relax and be naked with beautiful ,kind people

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunny Rest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Rest Lodge

Address: 425 Sunny Rest Drive, Palmerton, PA 18071
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Palmerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerton
Also Known As:
Sunny Rest Hotel Palmerton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Rest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.