We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orrtanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
96 Hickory Bridge Road, Orrtanna, PA 17353   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Orrtanna B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All the details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My visit to Hickory Ridge was relaxing and a perfect getaway. The countryside setting is beautiful. The innkeepers and their staff took care of all of the details and made sure the experince was a great one. The decorating is classic and includes many antiques but is not overdone. The rooms were exceptionally clean and pleasant. I toured the larger barn dining area and it also seemed like a great place to come with others or even a large party.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turbotville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This year was our 3rd year down to Hickory Bridge. We even sent the parents down for a Christmas gift one year. I love to stay in the cottage by the rippling creek, breeze blowing the the roosters crowing nearby. It's the perfect getaway. Everyone is always so nice and accomodating. The ice tea and cookies upon arrival are always something to look forward to. Best of all, you're out of town in the country out of all the noise and traffic in town. It's nice to come back to after a day of traveling or touring the battlefields. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

HIckory Bridge Farm is by far one of the best Bed & Breakfasts that we have experienced.
We stayed in the cottage and it was charming. We loved sitting on the front porch and enjoying the creek which was just feet away. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and the hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We also visited a winery about a mile down a country road. After a day of sightseeing in Gettsyburg, it was wonderful to escape to this beautiful, quiet setting. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

My (now) husband and I stayed here last November. We loved our room (the sewing room), and the food was wonderful. The weekend we were there, we had the place practically to ourselves. The hosts were very friendly and let us eat dinner in the restaraunt (even though it was not supposed to be open that day), and lit a fire in the fireplace for us in the den of the house that evening. We were on our way to New York, where my husband had planned to ask me to marry him, but he liked the atmosphere so much, that he asked me in front of the fireplace!
We are planning to return this November and I cannot wait!

  • Liked — The overall charm of the place, plus the owners are so nice
  • Disliked — There were no vacancies that allowed us to stay another night
  • Tips/Secrets — We toured the whole house, and in our opinion, the sewing room was the best room
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Booked one night in the cottages for my wife and I and my parents had a cottage. Unfortunately it was during that big flooding in late June and we ended up spending the night at the house. However we still had a good time despite the weather and the owner was good enough to get us dinner nearby because of the flooding and the restaurant wasn’t open. It’s a nice clean quite place along a stream. Very nice people run it. I will go back someday. The breakfast was also excellent.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Restaurant not open except weekends, website wasn't clear on that.
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2005

I stayed in a cottage in the woods at Hickory Bridge Farm and had a marvelous time. Strategically located near Gettysburg, H.B.F. features lovely accommodations, terrific food, outstanding service and an overall charming environment. It is a real gem located in a perfectly quaint, serene setting. And the price is a real bargain. If you plan to visit Gettysburg, I can recommend H.B.F. without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 96 Hickory Bridge Road, Orrtanna, PA 17353
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Orrtanna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orrtanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country retreat at the foothills of the Applachian mountains 9 miles west of Gettysburg, PA. Offering quiet cottages and rooms with whirlpool baths. Full breakfast except on Sunday, when a basket breakfast is taken to your room. Dinner is featured in a beautiful restored barn. Serving visitors since 1977. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Bridge Farm Orrtanna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list