We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Hickory Bridge Farm. Great dinner also!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orrtanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
96 Hickory Bridge Road, Orrtanna, PA 17353   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Orrtanna B&B and Inns
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Hickory Bridge Farm. Great dinner also!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to Gettysburg last weekend and stayed at HBF. We stayed in the farmhouse which is beautiful and overlooks a small creek and covered bridge. The grounds and flowers are beautiful. Food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On May 21, 2013 we had the opportunity to spend the night in cottage 3. We were traveling with friends who stayed "next door" in cottage 4. What a beautiful place. Cottages were lovely. Decorated very nicely. Even included a fireplace stove (which we didn't need, since the temps were in the 80's that evening!). Staff was wonderful, providing us with directions to our destinations for dinner that night and sight-seeing the next day, as well as information about the farm and it's buildings. No TV reception, but each cottage equipped with DVD TV combo unit and store had movies for us to borrow. We had comfortable chairs, in the room (as well as the bed) and the cottage porches had chairs as well. So sorry that we could not experience the wonderful dinner that we heard about, as the restaurant was not open the evening we were there.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful.This was my husband and my first bed and breakfast experience and it was very positive. No complaints!

Room Tip: Loved the cottages, but may try a room in the main house if we stay again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We returned again to Hickory Bridge this time for a relaxing, cozy and romantic way to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We love Cottage 2 with its proximity to the sounds of the rushing stream and private location in amongst the woodland. When we were there, no one else was staying in the cottages, so we had the place to ourselves. We brought some homemade sangria and snacks and sat out on the patio for hours talking an enjoying each other and our surroundings. It was a slightly cool night so we left the one window open so we could listen to the rushing stream as we slept...how relaxing.

As we were checking in, the housekeeper met us at the door and was so welcoming, and as we were leaving, Mary Lynn the innkeeper/owner stopped planting flowers to talk to us about our stay and the improvements that are ongoing on the property. This place is very welcoming and like a home away from home.

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The cottages are the best for location and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want an ultimate bed and breakfast get away in the country, I highly recommend this. I have stayed there several times over the last ten years and have never been dissapointed. It is in an absolutely isolated location but only 9 miles from downtown Gettysburg. The choice of rooms is great...from fully furnished cabins by a stream, to immaculately appointed farmhouse rooms. Rooms have private baths, TV and even wireless.

As far as meals go, there is a full breakfast served family style each morning (continental of Sundays). During nice weather, breakfast is served out on the back deck by the running stream/

There is also a wonderful renovated barn that has been converted to a restaurant / gift shop. Generally it is only open on the weekends during slow months. It is a BYOB restaurant but feel free to bring your own wine (bring one from one of the several very good wineries within 5 miles of the farm). The food is very good and portions are plentiful. Service is excellent. My only complaint is that the price is rather high ($25) for the dinner. It includes light appetizers and dessert however, the items are generally chicken, ham and / or crab imperial. My recommendation is to do one night there so you can sample the cusine.

Overall, this is one of the best values and venues for the money as far as accomodations.

Room Tip: The master suite, while the most expensive, has a very large jacuzzi in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile


Great atmosphere in an old barn with modern features. Food is served family style with plenty to eat. Crab ham chicken and lots of sides. A bit pricey at 26$ unless you come with a big appetite.
Nice country store in the back for penny candy for the kids and those who remember being kids Amish atmosphere is genuine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hickory Bridge Farm last year and quite enjoyed the experience overall. On one hand, the property was beautiful and the cottage cozy. The lack of phone reception, no wifi, and no cable were a huge bonus in our book, we enjoyed the portable dvd player and civil war themed movies that were offered instead. We also enjoyed the quiet, rural setting, and felt the drive into town was worthwhile; the countryside around Gettysburg is gorgeous. We could hear the creek from our charming cottage, and we encountered some friendly animals in our wanderings around the property (horses, cats). We spotted some wildlife, too - deer and wild turkeys.
We dealt with the innkeeper's son when we checked in, and he was very pleasant and offered some good recommendations for eating and sight-seeing around town. The owner herself was surprisingly cold in all of our interactions with her. On the day of our checkout, we had lingered at breakfast chatting for quite a while. When we headed back to the cottage to finish packing not long before check-out time, we let the innkeeper know we'd be back over shortly to settle our bill. When we got back, there was nobody to be found. We wandered around the public areas of the property for quite some time looking for people. Eventually, we wandered into the gift shop and then poked our heads into the restaurant area calling out "hello," and finally an employee appeared and we checked out. But we had spent about 45 minutes searching for somebody to help us check out, which kind of put a damper on things.
Overall, the beautiful, peaceful setting and the quaint coziness of the cottages overwhelm the check-out issue, and we'd stay at Hickory Bridge Farms again in a second.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We live in the DC area and need a break for the weekend. This was a very good choice. Only an hour and a half from the Rockville area. I was looking for a day trip to a nice family style resturant and found Hickory Bridge also offered overnight stays. We decide to make plans and stay the stay the night after dinner. We checked in around 3pm and was met by the innkeeper Mary Lynn. She makes you feel like a friend that you have know for years. We stayed in one of the cottages along the creek. It was a rainy and chilly day so we decided to just relax in the cabin for the afternoon until dinner. The cabin was built in the 70's but was nice. It was very clean and cozy. We started a fire in the Franklin fireplace and enjoyed a wet and cold afternoon. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and came back to the cabin and watched a movie. There is no cable or satelite service so if tv is your thing take some dvds or a good book. We plan on making this a regular weeekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 96 Hickory Bridge Road, Orrtanna, PA 17353
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Orrtanna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orrtanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country retreat at the foothills of the Appalachian mountains 9 miles west of Gettysburg, PA. Offering quiet cottages and rooms with whirlpool baths. Full breakfast except on Sunday, when a basket breakfast is taken to your room. Dinner is featured in a beautiful restored barn. Serving visitors since 1977. Two night minimum required on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Bridge Farm Orrtanna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.