We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife's Favorite in Old Forge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcaro & Genell's Restaurant

Arcaro & Genell's Restaurant
443 S Main St, Old Forge, PA 18518-1608
570-457-5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Old Forge
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Mt. Cobb, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“My Wife's Favorite in Old Forge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Seems to always be crowded. We've been here dozens of times and no matter what you order it's good. Service is friendly. Portions are huge. Go hungry.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good specialty items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We traveled through the area and made a point of stopping in Old Forge for dinner, specifically Arcaro & Genell's. There was a funny odor (like cat pee) when we first walked into the entrance, but it seemed to stay in that area, because I didn't notice it once we got to our table. I love authentic Italian food & have Italian friends who make sauce from scratch, so my mouth was watering with anticipation as I looked over the menu. They have a choice of imported pasta or homemade as well as a variety of sauces. I had the vodka sauce with homemade cheese ravioli, which was excellent! My oldest son had chicken alfredo, which was also excellent--good, full flavor without being too greasy. The house dressing, balsamic vinagarette was also excellent. It was perfectly balanced with nice flavor, but not too oily & not too bitey from the vinegar. My youngest son had the marinara sauce which was extremely disappointing. It was very acidic & tasted like canned tomatoes. My husband had the red pizza, & was very impressed with the actual sliced meatballs instead of crumbled beef like other places, but was also disappointed with the red sauce. It did take quite a long time for our food to arrive, but it was jam-packed (on a Tuesday night!) and our waitress was very attentive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cipino for Two!! Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If it is atmosphere your looking for - but the food. Pizza our FAV!! You have to go and get the Cipino for two, white or red it doesn't matter. A beautiful display of seafood and fabulous fresh seafood shared for two. We really enjoy the small town feel, the warm, friendly servers. The long lines at the door any night of the week speaks for itself. The prices are very reasonable. Thanks Arcaro and Genell's for the only delicious Cipino you can find in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I love Old Forge. Some of the best pizza in the world is here at the many pizza shops. Try this one.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First time Experience for Old Forge Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The pizza here can be purchased by the slice which is nice...you can try more than one kind. The Old Forge crust is very light and buttery. It's pretty darn good. Although, the stuffed pizza is a LOT of cheese, so beware for cheese overload. They give you a nice bean appetizer with bread sticks, etc. We had dinner for $7 and were overly stuffed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcaro & Genell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arcaro & Genell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcaro & Genell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.